Netsky
Netsky


4.0
excellent

Review

by Confessed2005 USER (87 Reviews)
June 13th, 2017 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Superb production and some wonderfully catchy tunes from Belgium's best in dnb.

I'm not the biggest fan of electronic music to be honest. I've always loved playing guitar, so my preferences towards music with guitars (in particular metal and hardcore) will always remain at the foremost of my music listening. However, there are a few (be it a rarity) electronic music artists that have impressed me over the years. Aside from the older dnb artists, such as Goldie and Roni Size, I'm not overly keen on dnb. However, Netsky certainly left an impression on me with his debut release. Rather than go into extravagant detail about particular tracks, I'll keep things clear and concise with a more generalised overview of the album.

One of the main things which makes this album so good is the amazing production quality. Pristine and polished, Netsky has managed to make every beat, every bassline, every melody hook sound soulful and organic. This is quite upbeat dnb for the most part but there are some more melancholy moments that stick out as more than solid tracks, such as the beautiful Mellow. Excellent use of piano features on a variety of tracks too, such as the wonderfully gentle Porcelain.

As far as the beats are concerned, they are creative, if not a little overused on some occasions. Album opener Escape is probably the best example of how slick and sublime Netsky manifests his rhythms - again, the production simply heightens everything to a totally new level. I particularly enjoy the simple melodies on Escape. More complex melodies are present on Secret Agent but despite them being more intricate the track is nonetheless catchy. That is the real beauty of the songs present on this album - they are diverse and interesting musically but they remain as catchy as hell.

Whilst I was disappointed with his follow up to this, Netsky proved himself to be a formidable force in the modern dnb world with this debut. There are tons of great tracks, lots of replay value and overall this is some of the most well produced dnb I have heard. I just wish he would have continued with this sound in his later efforts rather than commercialising to some extent. If he had done, I'm sure he would be one of the best in dnb today.



Recent reviews by this author
The Black Dahlia Murder NightbringersPoison the Well You Come Before You
Rosetta UtopioidGoldie Timeless
The Dillinger Escape Plan Miss MachineJohnny Truant In the Library of Horrific Events
user ratings (87)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

2
recommended by reviewer
Calibre Condition

Comments:Add a Comment 
MotokoKusanagi
June 13th 2017


978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

glad this finally got a review, fun album. i remember listening to storm clouds on repeat back in the day. unfortunately i'm not too crazy about the remainder of Netsky's discog

EphemeralEternity
June 13th 2017


3003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ye this deserved a review. I still enjoy it on the rare occasion that i give it a spin . He's shit the bed recently though

hal1ax
June 13th 2017


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

cloying, formulaic 'anthemic' dnb.

logistics does it way better

truekebabpower
June 13th 2017


787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

One of my favourite dnb albums and easily his best. Might not be the most original album, but there's some variety here also. After this album he did come out with some "formulaic 'anthemic' dnb", but this is as good as it gets for more "accessible" dnb as far as I'm concerned.

hal1ax
June 13th 2017


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yea it's not bad, I just never found this guy's work very interesting. I do like a few songs on this record though. I don't think anyone in the liquid scene will ever top Logistics for me. Check out 'Now More Than Ever,' if you haven't already.

hal1ax
June 13th 2017


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oanFFXvyF8

EphemeralEternity
June 13th 2017


3003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like this guys early singles/demos the best but this is def my favorite LP of his.

that was cool if pretty fkn similar to this, i'll check out his other material.

hal1ax
June 13th 2017


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha yea I guess liquid dnb is sort of generic and formulaic in and of itself. Logistics discog is waaay more diverse and less amorphous than Netsky's is though, and I always just found a lot of Logistics' melodies / vocal samples / rhythm schemes more enticing and compelling.

hal1ax
June 13th 2017


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is a classic liquid tune --

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEg05k1BNaw



and have u heard any Brookes Brothers??

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGPGVH2sHAQ

EphemeralEternity
June 13th 2017


3003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nah bro ill check tomorrow bouta hit the hay on account of it being quarter to 6 in the morning



rec for you

; cybernetika - solar nexus

hal1ax
June 13th 2017


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

werd. thx geelo

M1CH03L
June 15th 2017


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@hal1ax Brookes Brothers are one of my favorite DnB producers! Glad someone else mentioned them :D



Also 'Tear You Down' is a top 5 DnB song for me, love that bassline!

truekebabpower
June 15th 2017


787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

All good stuff, it does all kind of sound samey when you listen to a lot of tracks, so I don't mind this record being somewhat more in your face. If I'm going for something a bit more subdued though it's hard to top Calibre:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=001VdtIMSWY

MotokoKusanagi
June 15th 2017


978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cloying, formulaic 'anthemic' dnb.
you're not wrong but i still have fun with this one. there's definitely some nostalgia here for me as well. liquid dnb has never really been my thing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy