The Offspring
Days Go By


3.5
great

Review

by Simon STAFF
June 4th, 2017 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ignorance isn't always bliss.

I’ve always found it profusely strange when a band does what The Offspring did with Days Go By. This is a prime example of an album that slipped through my listening filter at the time of its release, because of their promotion to a really dodgy single they had for it. Sure, “Cruising California (Bumpin' In My Trunk)” is a piss-take track and a little bit of fun, but its satire is something that saw me callously throw what little interest I had left of the band in the trash. It must have taken me about 3 years to finally get around to giving this album a spin for “giggles”; having too much time on my hands at that moment and Days Go By seemed like a decent way to waste 10 minutes skimming through it just to see how bad it really was. The sad truth is; this was a wasted opportunity for the band, and a record which will have gone ignorantly unheard by many who shared the same standpoint I did because of its marketing choices. For the most part, Days Go By pushes the band out of the fatigued and stale rut many believed they climbed into after Conspiracy of One – personally, I’ve always enjoyed their last few records, while nothing earth-shattering, were fun additions to their discography – and the hard truth is, Days Go By has some of the best work they’ve written in years. The problem is it was falsely presented to its fans with “Cruising California (Bumpin' In My Trunk)”.

Yes, the opening track, “The Future Is Now”, is a great way to kick-off the LP, delivering a fresh energy that amalgamates everything we know and love about them: breakneck tempos, catchy melodies and a fantastic vocal performance from Dexter; but there’s an exhilarating rejuvenation at the base of a lot of the tracks here, which is why this feels like the best album they’ve done in ages. The first half of the LP is more of a fan-pleaser; delivering a selection of signature sounds from the band, as well as songs like the title-track, “Days Gone By”, which has a Foo Fighters-esque, stadium rock vibe to it and “Turning Into You” for its continued use of Rise Against as a heavy influence. These songs are solid and the influences they utilize do little in slowing the momentum they build with the album, but they hardly up the game artistically. It’s after the dodgy “Cruising California (Bumpin' In My Trunk)” where we see the band testing other waters: the slow ballad of “All I Have Left Is You”, while dragging in places, shows a pretty new dynamic to the band and something I wouldn’t mind hearing in the future, while “Dirty Magic” brings their usual shtick, but adds a few new tools to the sound to give it more of a gnarly bite, making it one of the strongest tracks here.

Days Go By is an interesting album, it’s a little cobbled together but offers an enjoyable ride from front to back. “Oc Guns” is an odd, yet charmingly fun little number, while the closing track rolls up everything any The Offspring fan could enjoy. It’s a record that still doesn’t push the boundaries as such, but offers up a solid listening experience, with glimmers of branching out from the safe-zone from time to time. The only real misfire comes from the track I started this review off with, every other track contained within offers up a reason to give this a spin at least once. Crappy marketing aside, the band have done a good job with what could be their last LP, and if that’s the case, it’s not a bad way to checkout.

Great.

EDITIONS: DIGITAL//C̶D̶//V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITION: N/A



Recent reviews by this author
Hans Zimmer Man of SteelSlipknot We Are Not Your Kind
Shellac Excellent Italian GreyhoundSlaves (UK) The Velvet Ditch EP
Torche Admission3TEETH Metawar
user ratings (434)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2017


15517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As always, constructive criticism welcome.

Digging: Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind

AsleepInTheBack
June 4th 2017


5998 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First sentence of the last para sums up my thoughts nicely. Good stuff, spiritual pos. The closer is still a personal favourite

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2017


4833 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thank you for writing this review, this album is better than people rated it on this site.

Half of it is really good with some rockers that have been missing from their previous album. I hope they release a new album this year.

Digging: Cloudkicker - Unending

Rastapunk
June 4th 2017


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Posd, well written.



I don't agree with everything you said, though Dirty Magic is the strongest track. It's also a track from their early days so that says a lot about the record...

Rastapunk
June 4th 2017


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well damn, can't pos :D



Mind pos then :D

butcherboy
June 4th 2017


9464 Comments


Review is fucking great.. but yea, when the strongest track is a rehash from their debut...... album is solid for an ageing band though

onionbubs
June 4th 2017


11710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great review. while some of the album is pretty bad (cruising california, all i have left, and secret family i could do without) this has some jams on it, notably the last two songs



while they haven't put out anything consistently great in a while every offspring album since americana has has at least 2 or 3 jams on it

Digging: Ghost Atlas - All Is In Sync, and There's Nothing Left to Sing

Snake.
June 4th 2017


21778 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

album is terrible and coming for you might be one of the worst songs they've ever written so yeah rip these guys I guess

VaxXi
June 4th 2017


4409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the best songs on this album rip off foo fighters so...

VaxXi
June 4th 2017


4409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

also what happened to that "new album" they announced like three years ago

Satellite
June 4th 2017


25867 Comments


they've been ripping off other bands for years. usually much smaller bands that have don't have the resources to do anything about it. fuck everything about these pseuds.

someguest
June 4th 2017


29931 Comments


Yeah, the Offspring have never been original. Or that good. The debut was decent and then they fell off fast.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2017


15517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Americana is a classic, sorry.

Rastapunk
June 4th 2017


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"they've been ripping off other bands for years. usually much smaller bands that have don't have the resources to do anything about it. fuck everything about these pseuds.

"



What? Any links, stories on that?

rodrigo90
June 4th 2017


5535 Comments


Oh God, speaking of the devil. Well I hate to say it but rise and fall is so much better than this shit...except dirty magic of course.

I hope that this 10 years made offspring re-think what to do in the next album.

VaxXi
June 4th 2017


4409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

rise and fall is easily their most blatant "ripping off other artists" record.

onionbubs
June 4th 2017


11710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

definitely. tho rise and fall is probably also their best post americana album



that probably says about the band in general doesn't it

LaughingSkull
June 5th 2017


605 Comments


“Dirty Magic” brings their usual shtick, but adds a few new tools to the sound to give it more of a gnarly bite, making it one of the strongest tracks here.


Do you not know that this is a remake of a tune they had on their second album, Ignition? At least you certainly sound like you didn't know.

edit: I agree with everyone's sentiments that RAFRAG is their shittiest album ever. How its average score on this site isn't less than 2.5 is beyond me.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2017


15517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't know that, no.

Ebola
June 5th 2017


3631 Comments


Terrible band. Good review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy