The Birthday Massacre
Under Your Spell


3.5
great

Review

by Advent USER (3 Reviews)
June 1st, 2017 | 101 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Turning the darkness up to 11.

For “Under Your Spell”, Chibi and the gang once again turned to PledgeMusic for funding. By reaching over 233% of their budget goal, they were once again able to ensure both themselves and their fans that they would be able to make the music that they wanted to make. Everybody wins!

Unlike their previous release “Superstition”, here they sound more subdued and darker, and the creepy electronics and synths are brought to the forefront. The track “All Of Nothing” gives you a feeling of being trapped in a huge, dark room with something scratching inside the walls. “No Tomorrow”, which is arguably the heaviest sounding track on the album, drags you into the darkness with the urgent, off-putting synths, chugging guitar and Chibi’s growling vocals. Throughout the course of the album, that darkness is laid on thick with constant dirty guitars and synths, which in some cases can be almost a little too much like on the track “Unkind”, where Chibi’s vocals get drowned out.

As far as atmosphere goes, a nightmarish vibe permeates throughout the record, where the listener is only able to come up for fresh air on more driving, lighter songs like “Counterpane” and “Hex”, which for me are the shining highlights of this album. The track order is also less cohesive this time around, favoring a more “track-by-track” feel than building a continuous soundscape. Some of the transitions can be jarring and I get the feeling that this was the feel that they were going for. However, I think this approach doesn’t work too well for The Birthday Massacre given just how excellent they’ve been at track order in past releases like “Pins and Needles”, “Walking with Strangers” and “Superstition”.

There’s a good amount of tracks to like here on this one, despite the darker ones sounding like they’ve been done several times before already on previous albums. In any case, this is a cool album to jam on dreary, rainy nights. While they’re not as catchy this time around, and while I wish there were more tracks like “Counterpane”, this is still a welcome addition to their macabre discography.


user ratings (85)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Simon K. STAFF (3)
Keep your love, I'm here for the music....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Advent
June 1st 2017


316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album came out over a week early for backers on PledgeMusic like me, so hopefully this review doesn’t get removed and instead encourages others to give them a listen!



Counterpane is such a jam. Sounds like a lost track off of Pins and Needles.

bloc
June 2nd 2017


66262 Comments


Obvious statement: I will be listening to this

Digging: The Future Sound of London - Accelerator

FullOfSounds
June 2nd 2017


15793 Comments


Bloc will be listening to this

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2017


31832 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

OMG OMG OMG

Advent
June 2nd 2017


316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bloc is going to spin this

FadedSun
June 2nd 2017


2663 Comments


I wonder if the album title is a reference to this song. Seems like a song Birthday Massacre would be influenced by.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9K7rmxjk5RQ

EvoHavok
June 2nd 2017


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was quick, maybe too quick, haha. The album is more subdued as Trey mentioned in his sound-off, so it could grow on you.

However, I'm already loving this due to its emphasis on atmosphere and darker sound, which is to be expected, considering my favourites from them.

Advent
June 2nd 2017


316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha I knew the risks going in on my 3.5



It does has a grower vibe to it as I also mentioned the subdued feeling the album has. B-Mass delivers on the darkness way more this time around and with that comes gritty mixing. I do get that's the whole point but it gets a little too distracting for me depending on the track.



Definitely gonna be spinning this way more in the coming weeks.





Gmork89
June 2nd 2017


8182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I love this album, games is so good. Good review, I disagree about the track ordering, I feel like it all flows very well.

Advent
June 2nd 2017


316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As an example, I didn't like the Counterpane -> Unkind transition. You get hit with a wall of BBRRRVVVV but again it feels like they did this on purpose.

EvoHavok
June 2nd 2017


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Right, my bad there, I should've referred to the less instant part.

Hmm, I think that sequence works. Also, "Unkind" is such a tune with the guitar sound and the bridge is to die for, heh.



Advent
June 2nd 2017


316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn man, All of Nothing and No Tomorrow are such crushers. Can we plz talk about that kthxbai

TheSleepys
June 2nd 2017


291 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They never disappoint. I love every album they release and this I like even more than their most recent ones

heck
June 2nd 2017


6092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this might be their best since Walking with Strangers for me, love the return to a darker vibe

Digging: Billie Eilish - Happier Than Ever

TheSleepys
June 3rd 2017


291 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I agree

EvoHavok
June 3rd 2017


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not sure if I like it more than Pins yet.

Advent
June 7th 2017


316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn, their show is sold out near me



Would love to hear the crushers I mentioned earlier live.

Gmork89
June 8th 2017


8182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"this might be their best since Walking with Strangers for me, love the return to a darker vibe".



I'd say it's tied with Pins and Needles at this point for me, though its quite a bit different from that album.

Sabrutin
June 9th 2017


7780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will jam in 3 2 1

Sabrutin
June 9th 2017


7780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The tracks that stood out the most on first listen are Hex, No Tomorrow and especially All of Nothing. Overall it sounds like a fusion of P&N with H&S. Will listen again tomorrow because today I'm in the post concert state of half deafness.



First listen left me pretty optimistic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy