of Montreal
Innocence Reaches


4.5
superb

Review

by zoso33 USER (2 Reviews)
June 1st, 2017 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Great release from a great band, give it multiple spins, let your ears adjust to the obscurity, and above all keep the love and the good recommendations going!

Well I suppose its now been long enough to get going on this grossly misunderstood LP from what is now perhaps the most criticized band in the indie scene (for whatever reason we like to pretend we can know what Kevin Barnes is thinking, which, lets be honest is likely not something anyone should care to truly understand). The reality is that with the passing of Bowie us indie-die hard fans are feeling a little lost and the world seems more tumultuous then it did in the 1990s. Kevin Barnes (dare I say it) tends to remind me of an ever evolving new-wave Bowie; this is not a new idea by the way just look at any article on of Montreal from 2007-2009 and you'll hear that comparison quite a bit. Problematically, we'd all love to "be inside the mind of a singer-songwriter" but this is just not possible. Therefore, why not just sit back and listen to the music? Can we continue to berate a man who has released more albums now than many bands have in their entire career? Are the lukewarm receptions to this LP a cognitive lapse, a non-listening review, or merely a spur for Kevin to get back to doing the same *** he was doing ten years ago? I'll posit that this review is less about the album itself and more about the nature of how we see music, or, more importantly; what drives us to make snap-judgments?

That's enough banter though so lets dig in to the change in direction. Pop-oriented malady mixed with confused 90s guitar rock. Sound familiar? Not, really. That is the essence of an evolving band on the right track. Not one of us can even begin to comprehend what the next LP will sound like because, in all honesty, of Montreal has yet to make the same record twice; we've no reason to expect that to change. So let us, the sputnik brethren, juxtapose the concept itself of self-awareness mixed with mounting anxiety. Few cannot relate to this and to me that is precisely what makes this a great, if not more varied than anything else Kevin has released. I'd honestly five this but it, like all of Montreal albums, demands multiple listens. First time it will make no sense, second spin likely even less sense, but after that third try I dare you to get the stellar opener, the off-beat single, or some of the more guitar-driven rock fest, grungy tracks out of your head for the next few days. This is a complex album. Give it some time and you will thank yourself later.


user ratings (52)
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheBarber
June 1st 2017


3849 Comments


Shit review. edit: no amount of self awareness and banter from your part will change that

Digging: Esoteric - A Pyrrhic Existence

verdant
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2017


2424 Comments


at least offer him/her something constructive man

Advent
June 1st 2017


276 Comments


You already insult the reader in the Review Summary by calling them a "critical dick head"

TheBarber
June 1st 2017


3849 Comments


Yeah and thats just from the summary. If this is the reviewers idea of a joke he should have dried in between his mothers leg years ago

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2017


25036 Comments


review is ok but for the love of god that summary is an absolute mess. save the self-awareness for the comments man

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahahahahahaha thanks for the comments!

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been on this site 10 years and i would expect nothing less than entitled idiots who've likely never listened to this in the first place LMAO

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that being said Conmaniac i've mad respect for your lists; just don't take things so personally as a reader guys its a fucking review of a wild record

Advent
June 1st 2017


276 Comments


You asked for criticism in your review, and we gave it you. Where's the entitled idiocy there?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2017


25036 Comments


im not insulted haha it's just that the summary is giving me eye cancer. rest is well written and does the informal thing p well. but like, why even put "in summary" in the review SUMMARY lmao. you do you tho man

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahaha thanks dude yeah this is arguably my worst piece of writing ever, but just thought i'd give it some love since it hasn't gotten a review yet. your lists rock for real though man been really digging the psych-trippy recs



Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2017


25036 Comments


haha thanks dude ive been digging the genre harddd recently. my most recent list is all user recs tho so I cant even take the credit (;

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and @ Avent seriously i took very little time with this, call it a coffee fueled shpeal of nonsense

just to ask though have you actually heard this album? I mean if not that, to me, is just a little off-base. Idiotic was a bit strong and i really do appreciate the criticism man my bad

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Conmaniac yea dude i've been still spinning Currents by Tame Impala quite a bit that album still rules. Also been really delving into some 60s psychedelia which is all pretty sweet. Check out 'Small Faces' "Ogdens Nut Gone Flake" if you get a chance its very out there late 60s stuff

Advent
June 1st 2017


276 Comments


It's cool man. I haven't jammed this but was only offering constructive criticism of just the review itself. Not sure how that seems off-base.

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah you're right man, in the future i won't come off the bat being so sarcastic and "chip on the shouldery" i have problems with that all the time and i really didn't wanna offend anyone by this thread. just nice to talk to music lovers i hope the rest of your day is a good one brotha

Advent
June 1st 2017


276 Comments


Yeah I'll do that too and sometimes get a bit too comfortable with people and get overly sarcastic. You didn't offend me by any means though.

You have a good one too dude!

zoso33
June 1st 2017


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks brotha!

WatchItExplode
June 1st 2017


7307 Comments


Where's Anthrax?

Digging: Great Grandpa - Four of Arrows

TheBarber
June 1st 2017


3849 Comments


Not offended in the slightest, the one delight of this review is that it more or less opens the door for the friends who wield the desire to thrash the place.
Also big fan of the artwork but I've overplayed oM in recent times, waiting for the bug to snap my mind or the sun I guess!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy