Dreamcar
DREAMCAR


3.5
great

Review

by Advent USER (3 Reviews)
June 1st, 2017 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Davey Havok and the No Doubt crew deliver on a solid, retro record. Even if it's a bit top-heavy.

When I first heard the news of the Dreamcar supergroup last year, I actually wasn't too surprised. An 80s new-wave revival group in the spirit of Duran Duran or A-Ha seemed like a natural progression for Davey after hearing some subtle 80s influences in AFI's self-titled record (The Blood Album), as well as his other side project Blaqk Audio. After listening to the album, I can tell that this is music that these guys have wanted to play for years.

I was surprised to see that all four singles were stacked on top of one another in the first half of the album after the opener "After I Confessed". This isn't necessarily a bad thing, as listening to the first five tracks is an absolute blast. Tracks like "Kill for Candy" and "All of the Dead Girls" sound like candy-coated AFI, and "On the Charts" is so funky that you can't help but tap your foot along with it. The bright, uplifting mood of these tracks is absolutely infectious.

Unfortunately, the album loses steam after the promising build-up in the sixth track "Ever Lonely". The chorus doesn't pack the punch like the previous tracks did and it was quite a let-down. Most of the tracks afterwards are pretty forgettable. However, Dreamcar knows how to craft an awesome 80s soundscape, and so when you get to a track like "Slip on the Moon", the mood of the song matches the title perfectly. The record gets a bit more steam back in the closers "Do Nothing" and "Show Me Mercy", which are a bit more catchier and energetic.

Despite the disappointing middle of the album, the production as a whole is just fantastic. The mixing on here allows every band member to shine. Davey gets his crooning moments in "All of the Dead Girls", bassist Tony Kanal gets his sick bass groove in "On the Charts", guitarist Tom Dumont gets his jam on in "Born to Lie", and so on. No instrument on this record is left out, and the synths are also just right and not too overpowering.

If this record piques your curiousity because you're either an AFI or No Doubt fan, I'd say give the singles "Kill for Candy", "On the Charts" and "All of the Dead Girls" a try, as well as "Slip on the Moon" so you can get a feel of what the album is like when it slows down. Overall, this is a pretty solid first effort and I'll look forward to seeing where Dreamcar go from here.


user ratings (57)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Jau Peacecraft (2)
Dreamcar is a middling release with half of a personality made by a band already asleep behind the w...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Advent
June 1st 2017


180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My second review! I was surprised to not see one up for this sooner.

EvoHavok
June 1st 2017


7682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, I forgot about this. Pos'd.

Advent
June 1st 2017


180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks dude! The album's definitely half a jam at least. Give it a shot if you've ever wondered what candy-coated AFI would sound like.

LightChaotic
June 1st 2017


189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review. I actually prefer the second half though. Ever Lonely, Show Me Mercy, and Don't Let Me Love are my favorite tracks on the album. Slip Of The Moon grew on me hard too. I actually like the tracklisting as well. The Preferred and Do Nothing keep the more upbeat tone going into the second half though I can definitely see why you'd call it top heavy with all the singles in the first half.

Advent
June 1st 2017


180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Light! Glad you like the second half too! But yeah for me that's when I'll tune out but I won't necessarily skip the tracks every time. And agreed Slip on the Moon definitely grows hard. I do like that groovy little guitar riff in The Preferred too.



SHE SHE SHE

CAME FROM THE EAST

GreyShadow
June 2nd 2017


3004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Assailant is one of my favorite things Davey has ever done in quite some time. In fact, I think overall this album features the most comfortable and consistent performance from him since Crash Love/BBH.



After I Confessed through The Assailant is amazing and although I do think it dips a bit after that, it has definitely been growing on me.



Overall, I'm very happy with this. It's inoffensive 80's pop rock with Davey Havok all over it

LightChaotic
June 2nd 2017


189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can we talk about Davey's falsetto for a second?



I don't think he's ever used it before on a record but I like it a lot, especially on After I Confessed.

Advent
June 2nd 2017


180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For me, After I Confessed has a completely different vibe compared to the rest of the album. I'm not really sure why either which is why I didn't talk about it in my review, but it is definitely a jam.



Yeah Davey's falsetto was a welcome change of pace and fit perfectly with the song.



And I hope y'all picked up on his trademark AFI "Oh!" in All of the Dead Girls. AMIRITE

GreyShadow
October 17th 2017


3004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope Davey decides to sound this good on the new BA or next AFI. Slip On The Moon also grew on me a lot. I think the first half definitely goes for the fun pop-rock aesthetic while the back half takes some Bowie influence.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15489 Comments


So this is the AFI guy with the No Doubt crew... I am not sure how I feel about this. I am liking the 80s brushes but smth's... off.

Digging: Ioanna Gika - Thalassa

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2017


15489 Comments


Oh God, the opener was alright but after it's uuuuugghhhhhh


I'm out.

kevbogz
December 18th 2018


1043 Comments


how I have not heard this??? pplz pz plz be fucking good

kevbogz
December 18th 2018


1043 Comments


is good. The Preferred baps

Skoj
February 19th 2019


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wholeheartedly agree with your review. Great first six songs, absolutely bland and lifeless thereafter.

Digging: mewithoutYou - [Untitled]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy