The Birthday Massacre
Superstition


4.0
excellent

Review

by Advent USER (3 Reviews)
May 31st, 2017 | 37 replies


Release Date: 11/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A little less darkness, a little more synth pop.

The Birthday Massacre have always been a unique band. A mix of industrial rock with dark synths with a female vocalist is a rare thing, especially when it's done as well as this.

While they sounded a little burnt out on Hide and Seek, here on this record they sound rejuvenated. It might have to do with the fact that this album was crowdfunded on PledgeMusic, and I'm sure meeting 312% of your goal can be motivating for anybody. Chibi also sounds more energetic in her singing, especially on tracks like "Oceania", which wouldn't sound out of place on an 80s synth-pop album at the height of that genre's popularity. Similar to their previous effort "Pins and Needles", they dial back the darkness a little bit to bring a more synth-pop sound. But with gloomy tracks like "Destroyer" and "Surrender", it shows that they haven't forgotten their roots and are able to please both industrial and synth-pop fans without sacrificing the quality of their style.

One thing The Birthday Massacre excels at is atmosphere. While the vocals and musical style may not be that accessible to some people, the mastery they have at crafting a dark atmosphere with soundscapes cannot be denied. They have also mastered the subtle art of track order, which in some cases can make or break an album. Listening to this record cover-to-cover, you can tell that each track was placed in its respective spot with a purpose. As an example, take a listen to "The Other Side", when the album is at its darkest, and then listen to the seamless transition into the ambient closer "Trinity", which makes you feel like you've just completed a journey through a dark, creepy synth-pop dream. Transitions like these are done really well several times throughout the record, but this is the most prevalent one.

My only complaint about the album is that some tracks got a little monotonous after repeated listens. I tend to skip past tracks like "Diaries", "Surrender" and even the title track as they tend to drag on a bit. "Rain" gets a little too repetitive in both the lyrics and melody, despite the great instrumentation.

The Birthday Massacre are a massively underrated band, and it's an absolute joy watching them further developing their sound with each passing album. For newcomers to the band, this album is a great place to start. Don't let their niche look deter you from great music.


user ratings (80)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
EvoHavok
May 31st 2017


7680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet. A review for this was long overdue.

Digging: Children of Bodom - Hexed

Gmork89
May 31st 2017


7807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good review too, well done.

Advent
May 31st 2017


177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely. So overdue that my first Sputnikmusic review was out of necessity. Hope you all like it!



Edit: Thanks Gmork!

SandwichBubble
May 31st 2017


9413 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not bad for a first review :D

Not my favorite album ever, but still, good review



@Gmork89 sorry man, not really my scene you know?

Digging: R. Stevie Moore - Children's Museum

Gmork89
May 31st 2017


7807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah man 1.5 really??

bloc
May 31st 2017


54725 Comments


I have played the shiiiiiiiit out of Violet and Walking With Strangers but then with every subsequent album the play count goes down. This one def has the lowest number of plays but I spun it recently and it was certainly decent.

Digging: Way Out West - Intensify

Advent
May 31st 2017


177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That moment after the breakdown in Oceania, when the song kicks back in after Chibi's "I was always aloooooone" gives me the chills every time.



Amirite?

BallsToTheWall
May 31st 2017


49494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pumped to see them in two weeks.

Digging: Twin Temple - Twin Temple (Bring You Their Signature Sound....

Hellscythe
May 31st 2017


3435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

new one in just a little over a week. hype.

I pre-ordered the signed photo of Chibi that comes with a download of the album lmao.

Advent
May 31st 2017


177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They slayed when I saw them three years ago. Killer setlist too. Small venue and not overly crowded so it was a very intimate setting.

BallsToTheWall
May 31st 2017


49494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice Advent.

Ebola
May 31st 2017


3505 Comments


Band rules. Probably gonna see them in a couple weeks.

Gmork89
May 31st 2017


7807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I missed them when they came through and I kind of regret it.

FadedSun
May 31st 2017


1901 Comments


Who does this band's album art? I wish all their album covers didn't look more or less the same.

EvoHavok
May 31st 2017


7680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Members of the band.

Gmork89
May 31st 2017


7807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New one is pretty unique compared to their others i'd say.

bloc
May 31st 2017


54725 Comments


You can always count on purple and bunny ears

RikRoach7
June 1st 2017


3595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's pretty cool when a band goes through with a certain color scheme throughout (a part of) their discography, so don't have a problem with that at all, but this one definitely looks too much like WWS. All the other ones have more or less a unique feel/art style to them



Great review btw, thanks for filling in that blank!

Advent
June 1st 2017


177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No problem, and thanks! The blank spot was bothering me too. If you guys like this style of review I may write more of them to fill in more blank spots I've seen around here for my favorite artists.



Personally I don't mind that the album covers all have shades of purple and black; looks kind of cool actually. They need better merch though. I was disappointed to find out that they didn't make any tour t-shirts when I went to get one at the merch table three years ago. Maybe they'll make some now this time around...?

EvoHavok
June 1st 2017


7680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Please do more reviews ;).

I like the thematic consistency in the covers as well. There are talks about a WWS 10th anniversary edition; I wonder how that'll turn out.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy