Do Make Say Think
Stubborn Persistent Illusions


5.0
classic

Review

by owl beanie STAFF
May 29th, 2017 | 115 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: horripilation, indeed

Revisiting Stubborn Persistent Illusions, I am out of breath; because War on Torpor may well be the most aptly titled opening track to ever exist. Every speck of dust floating in the background of this song fights back against my early morning lethargy as if kinetic energy is its mission statement. I listen to the frenetic jazz drumming and the tremolo picking that surges like a strong wind, I put down my coffee, pull up the blinds, and say good morning.

After fifteen minutes exploring this record, I decided it's easily the most free-spirited and dynamic release of twenty-seventeen thus far. Horripilation has instruments coming and going at will, sweeping in and out of your field of perception for an exhilarating ten minutes as layer upon layer of ambient textures unfold underneath. As a general rule, the record eschews the conventions of post-rock and forgoes the ever-unfolding crescendo. Songs explode like stars arbitrarily then fizzle out like sparklers (Bound), or – conversely – propel themselves forward with wide-eyed abandon (And Boundless). Really, this is post-rock made by people who wish to stop post-rock from sleepwalking to its bitter end.

Striking an important balance, Stubborn Persistent Illusions creates a through-line that belies its far-reaching structural and instrumental dynamics. With eyes closed and reality ignored, the record creates a world, and then reacts accordingly as an unidentified protagonist passes through it. In Her Eyes on the Horizon, the horns squelch and the drums plod along tentatively as our proxy struggles with an obstacle. Then, about half way through, delirious cymbals and fleet-footed chord progressions climb up the walls, heralding a breakthrough in his/her quest. There is beauty here, and it lies in the notion that the story this record tells is completely dependent on the listener’s imagination. Good post-rock is a collaborative effort, and Do Make Say Think write and perform their sprawling rock symphonies for you to flesh out the minutiae, the characters, the peaks and troughs.

The final cut, Return, Return Again informs this record as an optimistic ride in a decidedly And So I Watch You From Afar fashion. The guitars cascade and swing upwards as the composition breaks through the clouds. Consolidating this brightness, the track’s production works similarly to the rest of the album. Across …Illusions, production mimics the way light reflects off clear water. It is colourful and glistening – the high-end perpetually shines with a coruscating edge and the bass rings out across the bottom. These sounds complement each other beautifully, dramatizing and romanticising your morning in equal measure.

I don’t believe many records are indelible. Albums fade in response to other, more relevant albums. People grow out of the music they used to love like they do old clothes. I think, though, that Stubborn Persistent Illusions will follow me around. It feels like a piece of music that is intrinsically linked with the world around me, injecting life into life and inspiring progression where regression seems inevitable. For that, I welcome the illusion, no matter how stubborn or persistent it may be.

Good morning.



Recent reviews by this author
katie dey solipsistersSleep Talk Everything in Colour
Stella Donnelly Beware Of The DogsSharon Van Etten Remind Me Tomorrow
Drug Church CHEERcolourblind Move Like You
user ratings (167)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2017


2416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so, yeah, this is good

AsleepInTheBack
May 29th 2017


5997 Comments


Hype! Great review too

Sniff
May 29th 2017


5635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Obviously this is good. DMST can do no wrong

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2017


2416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

aoty contender

thanks AITB (:

coma2rium
May 29th 2017


85 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is stupid good yeah. I only kind of wish that horripilation did climax with a standard post rock crescendo though

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2017


2416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad you agree

i reckon horripilation is good how it is. i like how it moves so fluidly between its high points and low points

SandwichBubble
May 29th 2017


9835 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can't wait to listen to this. Sounds like a knockout



Also @LandDiving, 20 reviews! And with 99% approval! Doing an awesome job :D

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2017


2416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it is 100% a celebratory event of an album,



and thanks! can't see it staying that way though hahah

johnnyblaze
May 29th 2017


3226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yay another 5er! this album is just stunning. love that they really embraced their guitars - Ohad, Charles and Justin are a special trio. an incredible return.

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2017


1112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This is post-rock made by people who wish to stop post-rock from sleepwalking to the bitter end."



nail on the head. great review

Digging: OLAM - I Will Guide Thy Hand

onionbubs
May 29th 2017


11615 Comments


great review. the song i heard from it was great. ill def be checking the whole thing soon

Digging: Anberlin - Devotion

Gnodab
May 29th 2017


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there is so much to love about this album

zaruyache
May 29th 2017


21122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The boys are back in town

calmrose
May 29th 2017


5045 Comments


album rules

Digging: Jeromes Dream - LP

hogan900
May 29th 2017


3037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Agreed

minty901
May 29th 2017


3703 Comments


havent read this yet, but is this another postrock review that talks about how stale postrock is but this band is different?

TheBarber
May 29th 2017


3802 Comments


The rating is right, some very good points in the review (such as this band/record much more being about evocation than emotion) although it's a tad too descriptive for my taste, as if you are constantly in awe at what showers upon you for the duration of the alb.
I believe a bit of retenu would have benifited your thoughts in a dynamic sense for the review. As a massive DMST nerd I'm coming to terms with this probably being their second masterpiece (=/= favorite) and I'd love to hear from someone as in love with this band as me talk about it as well as its place in the rest of their discog. Just a thought. Ah and a pos

Digging: Neurosis - Honor Found in Decay

zaruyache
May 29th 2017


21122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"how stale postrock is but this band is different"



it does not.

hogan900
May 29th 2017


3037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Stale post-rock"

Review is great and worth a read bro

TheBarber
May 29th 2017


3802 Comments


"As a general rule, the record eschews the conventions of post-rock and forgoes the ever-unfolding crescendo."

"This is post-rock made by people who wish to stop post-rock from sleepwalking to the bitter end."

It does

Although in a polite amount. Maybe it's time to put this meme down and just admit we're able to like post-rock as a genre



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy