Danzig
Black Laden Crown


2.5
average

Review

by manosg STAFF
May 28th, 2017 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In an era where everyone is looking backwards, it might be time for Danzig to revisit his roots.

It is quite spectacular when an artist decides to go down the one-man show approach. Delusions of grandeur can certainly lead to a larger than life release, especially when the said artist is at the absolute peak of his/her inspiration. However, at the case of the 62-year old Danzig whose previous effort is the downright embarrassing Skeletons, the outcome of the aforementioned approach is simply the dark and heavy but painfully average Black Laden Crown.

Probably the most disappointing thought regarding Danzig’s latest release is how much better it could have been. The songwriting is certainly not poor and Glenn’s voice is far from shot, but what makes this album so average is the combination of the lazy arrangements and the poor production which makes the album sound as if the veteran vocalist is singing over a backing CD. On top of that, his voice sometimes sounds as if he is too close to the microphone while on others it is as if he stands too far.

The opening homonymous track is a fairly representative sample of the whole; an atmospheric, doom-laden affair which brings to mind “Wotans Procession” from Circle of Snakes, which is not a poor track per se but nothing spectacular. Going back to the wasted potential statement above, “Eyes Ripping Fire” is a perfect example. Instrumentally it is close to early-Danzig, mixing the blues and metal but with a modern sound. However, the guitars lack any serious punch and its ending is a simple fade-out. In addition, “Last Ride” which stylistically may bring to your mind “13” from 6:66 Satan's Child, is a fine track but its instrumentation is very mundane and topped by a simplistic guitar solo.

Going back to the production issues, “But a Nightmare” is not one of the album’s highlights but because it is one of the better produced ones, it tends to stand out. Imagine the White Zombie/biker rock of “Devil on Hwy 9” with a Danzig 4 approach. Nevertheless, the production and the arrangements are not the LP’s only sins. “Skulls & Daisies” and “Blackness Falls” are both monotonous and uninspired, which make the surprisingly good closing track “Pull the Sun” even more enjoyable.

It is clear that Danzig has very little to prove but that doesn’t mean that he has nothing to offer. Having a backing band is clearly not the way to go and the same applies to underutilizing his band mates. What made his first albums special was that he was surrounded by a normal band and a professional producer. However, I am not sure if at this point of his career (and life) Glenn is willing to change his evil ways.



Recent reviews by this author
Legendry Dungeon CrawlerRainbow Rising
Sorcerer The Crowning of the Fire KingPagan Altar The Room of Shadows
Paradise Lost MedusaIced Earth Incorruptible
user ratings (44)
Chart.
2.2
poor
other reviews of this album
PsychicChris (3.5)
Whether you only know Danzig for his Portlandia cameo or you’re an old school fan still spurned by...


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2017


10648 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

For some reason, all I read are favorable reviews on the web and I wonder why.

Digging: Legendry - Dungeon Crawler

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
May 28th 2017


17089 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

'Sounds like he is too close to the microphone while on others it is as if he stands too far.'



The vocals sound shot and badly recorded, that's not good on a Danzig album :/

BallsToTheWall
May 28th 2017


48192 Comments


I'm scared to hear this. I didn't like the single at all.

Digging: CZARFACE - Every Hero Needs a Villain

zaruyache
May 28th 2017


18093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

remember when Danzig albums had sweet album art and weren't cartoon hot topic goth nonsense?

Loss1010
May 28th 2017


39 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

II has awful art so no, not really

LepreCon
May 28th 2017


5434 Comments


This is disappointing to hear about, especially given how good Deth Red Sabaoth was back in '10

ChaoticVortex
May 28th 2017


511 Comments


This is disappointing to hear about, especially given how good Deth Red Sabaoth was back in '10. (2)

deslad
May 28th 2017


600 Comments


Probably one of you best "negative" reviews manos. I have listened to the album a few times and I am still puzzled on how to rate this; I am definitely not happy about the production either and it seems rather uninspired on occasions.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2017


7631 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Accurate rating, well put arguments and good review Manos.

zaruyache
May 28th 2017


18093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"II has awful art"



in a really awful "Danzig" kind of way that works, yes. Danzig nipples cover is Danzig as Danzig does.

AngryLittleAlchemist
May 28th 2017


1929 Comments


Just realized this guy was part of the Misfits lol

zaruyache
May 28th 2017


18093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

how could you not know that.





also eww yeah this does sound like a bad karaoke. Why is the mixing so bad lol.

AngryLittleAlchemist
May 28th 2017


1929 Comments


lol, i only know Danzig exists cause RazorFist

DoubtGin
May 28th 2017


6880 Comments


the mixing is horrible

zaruyache
May 28th 2017


18093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"RazorFist"



eww just looked him up and he seems to be a walking example of everything bad about metalheads

Maco097
May 29th 2017


2492 Comments


The first two songs he shared for the new album are fucking terrible.

Davil667
May 29th 2017


2840 Comments


Damn, that average rating man... Was really looking forward to this, but now, not so sure anymore. More scared than excited atm.

A great review manosg, short and probably painfully to the point.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2017


10648 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Really appreciate the kind words guys.



To me, this sounds like a serious drop in quality compared to Deth Red Sabaoth but give it a shot, you never know.

Titan
May 29th 2017


18045 Comments


Great review manos, and your write up is as I expected. I will be staying clear of this.....

When it's time to jam some Danzig, thank god we have I through 4p.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2017


10648 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Absolutely. You know, I don't mind the lack of inspiration or even not being in the mood to write new music. But this is just lazy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy