Many Rooms
Hollow Body


4.0
excellent

Review

by owl beanie STAFF
May 22nd, 2017 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: a wealth of (vulner)ability on display

Tip-toeing around an empty house is Brianna Hunt. It’s raining tonight, and the streetlights outside glow a cruel irony. God, the photos on the walls are so painful – smiling family members that now only exist like the inches of tape on an old film reel. She sits on the floor of the hallway just inside the front door, and begins thumbing the low E string of her acoustic guitar.

“Are you looking for a sorry? Well I’m looking for one too”, she sings to one of the photos, her breath so heavy that it comes through on her voice. The sedated, fingerpicked guitar washes down the hall in waves and drops dead at the door. She then begins a song called Promises, in which she fears that her life has not yet finished its unraveling. With arpeggios that seep in rather than latch on, she serenades whatever is left of the spirit in the house.

Pondering adulthood, she gets up and seeks out the master bedroom, nudging the door open with the appropriate poise of someone who has come face-to-face with a Pandora’s box of personal history. More specifically, she turns her thoughts to the Hollow Body, and she quivers as she purrs: “Does your heart beat?”. It’s an accusation framed as a question. The empty room evades interrogation.

By the time she finds her childhood room, she’s turned the questioning in on herself. “I’m unworthy” she sighs during Vessel, as if an inner self-loathing is reflected in the bedroom mirror. Of course, Brianna Hunt is not unworthy, nor is she unclean. As she plays her songs to this trove of acrid memories, she’s really just anxious and completely crestfallen. There are so many vacant rooms left to confront, but she pays no mind – hers has already paid enough. It’s why she makes these intimate and forlorn guitar songs, because their resonant chords and cavernous production choices are the perfect proxy for the vulnerable person at the helm of it all.

So,

Dear mental health survivor, you are enough. You are taller than any hole you find yourself in and bigger than any problem you face. You are worth more than any of the Gods you believe in and have more potential than Sisyphus’ boulder at the top of his hill. Listening to this EP feels like company, and after submerging yourself in its sonic landscape, it becomes increasingly evident that this company is mutually beneficial. Such are the possibilities of music.

Accordingly: thank you for this haunting, intimate and delicate piece of music, Brianna.



Recent reviews by this author
Tricot 10Tropical Fuck Storm Braindrops
katie dey solipsistersSleep Talk Everything in Colour
Stella Donnelly Beware of the DogsSharon Van Etten Remind Me Tomorrow
user ratings (20)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2017


3514 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I won't gush, but great review, man. Will listen, immediately.

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh please, feel free to gush



ahah seriously though, thanks a bunch blushful < 3

butcherboy
May 22nd 2017


9464 Comments


agreed, fantastic review, great cover art, I'm sold.. will be listening this evening..

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you're both brilliant people.



thanks butcher!!

Conmaniac
May 22nd 2017


25891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah awesome review, is this at all like Julien Baker? will check if so

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2017


3514 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It sounds more like an acoustic, skeletal cross between Daughter and something like Kississippi. But Julien is heavily inspired by Elena Tonra, so it for sure has something akin to her music as well.

Conmaniac
May 22nd 2017


25891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

huh well thats enough for me to give it a try!

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks con, much appreciated

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also first song is the best,



"do you think you'll get to heaven, just by simply sneaking in" is such a good line in the context of the song

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2017


3514 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can't not think of Daughter's Youth as soon as the album starts. But some of the lyrics are really very special.

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they're both pretty melancholic but i think this stuff is a bit darker for some reason

Conmaniac
May 23rd 2017


25891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is really good and really sad. like a mesh of Julien Baker and Kississippi yeah.

butcherboy
May 23rd 2017


9464 Comments


Father Complex and Vessel are my favourites so far.. will give another listen and rate..

Conmaniac
May 23rd 2017


25891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Relistening rn actually, it's so delicate and heartbreaking. 3.8-3.9 range just confirming it's this good

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm really glad you guys like it (:

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2017


3514 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree, it's for sure darker than Daughter's music. But the guitar on that song, as simple as it is, is a very, very Daughter-esque phrase. I might bump my score, though, this is so impressively sombre.

verdant
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah they all (brianna, julien, and elena) use open string picking all the time. and sombre is definitely an appropriate way of describing it

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2017


3514 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In its excellence, 'The Father Complex' overshadows, to an extent, the rest of the album, but each song deserves an attention I've not given them till now and this is all so fantastic.

"And I'll sing my soul / Your voice likes violence / Resonates with it"

verdant
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2017


2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a gem of an EP agreed

Deathconscious
April 13th 2018


25470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man, this is some dark shit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy