Shadow of Intent
Reclaimer


4.5
superb

Review

by AngryChief95 USER (5 Reviews)
May 9th, 2017 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More than just another deathcore release.

Shadow of Intent first grasped the attention of the deathcore community with the release of their debut full length Primordial in 2016. Just one year later, the band returns with a better produced, more coherent record filled with emotion and exciting ideas.

The entire album is filled with superb songwriting that keeps the listener guessing. Songs like "The Prophet's Beckoning" start out slowly with a powerful guitar riff and complementing orchestra. The song quickly and picks up speed and evolves into one of the fastest on the album, complete with blast beats and breakneck vocals. The song then carries into the chorus, which incorporates clean vocals. In all of two minutes, we experience orchestral instruments, blast beats, guitar solos, clean vocals, and traditional growls. For some bands, this would be too much to handle and the song would risk sounding too cluttered. Shadow of Intent expertly surpasses this obstacle with their superb knowledge of songwriting and mastery of their instruments.

One of the more impressive parts of the album is the performance by lead vocalist Ben Duerr. Duerr's powerful vocals demand your attention at all times as he showcases his astonishing range. From the brutal gutteral lows of "The Catacombs," to his high-pitched rasp towards the end of "The Horror Within," Duerr is an absolute force behind the microphone. No other track showcases his talent quite like "The Heretic Prevails." Then entire track is centered around Duerr's vocals. As a result, it is one of the best and most exciting tracks on the album.

The rest of the band also give unbelievable performances. Drummer Matt Kohanowski's masterful blast beats often tie entire songs together. That combined with his proficiency on double bass makes for some of the most solid drumming deathcore has to offer. Guitarists Chris Wiseman and Federico Zuccarelli write some of the most varied riffs in the genre. The duo offer as much beauty as they do technicality and heaviness. "The Great Schism" is an instrumental track that shows off their beautiful solo work. Though breakdowns are used sparingly, when they are, the are absolutely crushing. The duo have the ability to take influence from all genres of metal and combine them into one coherent work that constantly keeps the listener engaged and excited to hear what comes next.

The band takes advantage of several guest spots. Most notably that of Dickie Allen, who delivers one of the most crushing vocal performances in recent memory. Alex Terrible's guest spot on "The Gathering of All" fits the song perfectly and elevates it to exciting new heights.

Shadow of Intent are a special band. There is much more to them than many modern day deathcore bands. Every person that contributed to this record is an expert in their craft, whether that be vocals, instrumentation, or sampling. The band fuses together multiple influences to create their own sound filled with unforgettable performances and emotional delivery. The use of orchestral instruments only add to all the songs and are never distracting. Shadow of Intent have perfected their sound with their second album. They have a very bright future ahead of themselves.


user ratings (146)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Primordial

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2017


20089 Comments


hey cool review but try to keep it to 1 review a day. that way other people's reviews dont get bumped off the front page too quickly! thx

AngryChief95
May 9th 2017


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry man. It's my first true day off in months and I got a little excited.

SteakByrnes
May 9th 2017


5165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't think that Dickie Allen's guest spot was all that good to be honest

Digging: Ghost Atlas - All Is In Sync, and There's Nothing Left to Sing

Durrzo
May 9th 2017


1476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Dickie's guest spot was shit and that song would have been far better if the only vocalist in play had been Ben. I liked Alex's performance on Gathering though.

Also, Angry, Chris wrote all of the guitar parts for this album. Ben, Matt, and Chris were the only members when this was made. Good review other than that sliver of incorrect info.

Fun fact if anyone cares, Primordial was made as a 2 piece. Chris wrote all of the instruments for that one. Dude is a very talented songwriter.

Evokaphile
May 9th 2017


6419 Comments


Ive never played halo and their last album wasnt very good imo. Hoping for different results with dis one

Digging: Woe - Hope Attrition

betray
May 9th 2017


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this slap big veiny dicks

Toondude10
May 9th 2017


11706 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"More than just another deathcore release."



eeeehhhhh not really. It's fun but nothing really spectacular. The vocals are hilarious at time though. They aren't bad, but man when the vocals on 'The Return' I couldn't help but laugh.

Digging: Machine Head - The Blackening

Nocturtle
May 9th 2017


579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is the shit, so many amazing riffs, leads and vocals

tied with aversions crown for best dxc album of 2017

AdolfChrist
May 9th 2017


13516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Fun shit.

Digging: Swarms - Black Chapel Sun

ianblxdsoe
May 9th 2017


1390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this album cleansed my bowels

Durrzo
May 9th 2017


1476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"eeeehhhhh not really. It's fun but nothing really spectacular."

In the grand scheme of all music sure maybe not. But compared to most deathcore? It's absolutely a standout album.

AdolfChrist
May 9th 2017


13516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

compared to most deathcore, this seems like a grand work of pure artistic genius.

Piglet
May 9th 2017


7462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah great shitting music

Evokaphile
May 9th 2017


6419 Comments


Pretty much. Perspectivism is somethin else aint it?

betray
May 10th 2017


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so sick of people pretending not to enjoy deathcore but saying oh its just a little fun



like shut up you fucking love it its ok

SteakByrnes
May 10th 2017


5165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed

AdolfChrist
May 10th 2017


13516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

damn you found me out, i really love deathcore.

betray
May 10th 2017


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shut up baby i know it

smash69420
May 10th 2017


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this shit slaps hard as fuck



actual variety isn't always a requirement for me to like a deathcore release because it's...well, it's deathcore. i'm looking for downtuned riffs, excessive breakdowns, and vocals that sound like phil bozeman's feature on The Alpha the Omega.



This album delivers across all fronts and throws in some well-executed ideas, particularly the string effects on songs like "The Return"



they've grabbed my attention and i'm looking forward to listening to this one for a while.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2017


24413 Comments


sounds like something i'd dig



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy