Motionless in White
Graveyard Shift


3.5
great

Review

by TheCalebRobinson USER (20 Reviews)
May 5th, 2017 | 67 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A few missed opportunities and moments of immaturity weigh down an otherwise excellent album.

'Graveyard Shift' is an album that will certainly divide fans of Motionless In White. There were plenty of people hoping for a return to their roots; hoping that Motionless In White would return to their original style of gothic, breakdown-filled metalcore. In fact, lead singer Chris Motionless said in an interview recently that 'Graveyard Shift' would be the album that reminded listeners that Motionless In White was a "heavy band." With that being said, this album moves forward in the direction that 'Reincarnate' had them going, while offering only a few songs reminiscent to their 2010 debut. Your enjoyment of the record will likely depend on how that statement makes you feel.

The album starts off solidly enough with 'Rats.' It features a good combination of industrial synths and a catchy chorus. The lyrical content however can be pretty polarizing. 'Rats' isn't the only track off 'Graveyard Shift' to feature sexually-themed lyrics. In fact, 'The Ladder' and 'Not My Type: Dead As F**k 2' both feature references to Chris Motionless' apparent sex life, with the ladder being the biggest example of this. Take the chorus of 'Not My Type,' for example:

"She loves me 'cause I like to give head like a zombie
(Eat eat eat!)
Till her insides are on me."

To a certain degree, the lyrics of this style can be fun to listen to, but there's a point during which it becomes a bit much. For the most part however, the songwriting is stellar. 'Queen For Queen,' 'Soft,' and 'Eternally Yours' are all examples of well written tracks, and all three songs are album highlights because of it.

There are songs off the album that feel like Motionless In White is attempting to get songs played on the radio, and they surprisingly work well. 'Queen For Queen' might be one of Motionless In White's most radio-friendly songs to date, and actually features some of the best energy and instrumental work on the whole album. Other songs though, like 'Loud (F**k It)' feel like attempts to get on the radio that didn't quite work as well. Not that every radio-friendly song is bad, but songs like 'Untouchable' and 'Necessary Evil' feel forgettable and sometimes boring.

'Necessary Evil' is by far the biggest missed opportunity on 'Graveyard Shift.' The song features Jonathon Davis for guest vocals, and is a somewhat decent song until the chorus. "It's my party and I'll die when I want to" is by far one of the most cringe-worthy lines on this whole album. 'Necessary Evil' is probably the only song off the album that's ruined by the lackluster chorus.

While the record takes some steps in the radio-friendly direction, there are some songs that feel like Motionless In White doing what they did seven years ago. 'Soft' is one of the heaviest songs off the album, with biting lyrics and a very energetic drum beat and guitar riff. '570' and 'The Ladder' are two of the other heavier songs off 'Graveyard Shift' and join songs like 'Soft' and 'Queen For Queen' as the best songs off the record.

'Graveyard Shift' is weighed down most by its inconsistencies. At least seven or eight of the songs off the album are songs I could see myself listening to for a long time, but it's because of the few cringe-worthy moments in between that the album doesn't reach its full potential. On the bright side however, there is a lot of fun to be had listening to this record. The vocals, songwriting and instrumentals have all taken steps forward (for the most part) and Motionless In White has an exciting future ahead of them if they continue to improve.

Hits: Rats, Queen For Queen, Soft, The Ladder, 570, Eternally Yours
Misses: Necessary Evil, Untouchable, Loud (F**k It)



Recent reviews by this author
Motionless in White ReincarnateOf Mice and Men Cold World
Bring Me The Horizon That's the SpiritPierce the Veil Misadventures
Lindsey Stirling Shatter MePanic! at the Disco Death of a Bachelor
user ratings (164)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
Shamus248 (3)
One of metalcore's most talented groups misses yet another opportunity to put that talent to use....

John7 (3.5)
It's like Korn, Marilyn Manson and Within The Ruins had an orgy and the kid was emo....



Comments:Add a Comment 
TheCalebRobinson
May 5th 2017


88 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely enjoyed the album, but I could see why others wouldn't.

Hellscythe
May 5th 2017


3499 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I kinda enjoyed bits of their past two albums but god this was hard to sit through

Digging: Billie Eilish - When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?

cor22222
May 5th 2017


307 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

This album is awful, mixed is bad, voice is bad, instrumentals are bad. Only one thing i've really enjoyed was 520 (single), rest are crap.

Digging: Blindead - Niewiosna

TheCalebRobinson
May 5th 2017


88 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Looks like I'm part of the minority so far who really enjoyed it lol



McCookie
May 5th 2017


20 Comments


Nice job on your review. I agree with your points for the most part, although my rating will probably be a bit lower.

I had high hopes for this album after hearing 570 and Eternally Yours, which are two of my favorite Motionless songs. But then I heard LOUD and was a bit unsure of what was going on there. Wasn't much of a fan of Rats either, but was at least an improvement over LOUD. Now that I'm listening through the whole thing, I'm not digging too many of the other songs either. A lot of the songs on this album have this weird "party" feel to the music and lyrics that's not really jiving with me. The lyrics are pretty hit or miss as you mentioned in your review. Necessary Evil is about the worst song I've heard in a long time, and I was most looking forward to hearing how the colab with Jonathan Davis turned out. I appreciate that these guys are continuing to explore styles, but feel like things are beginning to run off the tracks a bit with this release.

Overall I'm a bit disappointed, but will see if these other songs grow on me before rating it, although I'm determined to never make myself sit through Necessary Evil again.

DreamAgain
May 5th 2017


889 Comments


The lyrics are so bad. So bad so bad so bad. So god damn bad. I never really listened to this band much, are their lyrics always this bad?

Other than that, the songwriting isn't actually terrible .. at least for some of the tracks. Kind of catchy.

trackbytrackreviews
May 5th 2017


3382 Comments


Will this band ever grow up

maximomckinnon
May 5th 2017


29 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Some of the instrumentation is pretty good (if a little repetitive,) and Chris is a good vocalist, but honestly all of the lyrics sound like they were written by a 14 year old scene kid trying to be as edgy as they possibly can.



I've hardly listened to any of their other stuff, but if there's any 'if she's got a pulse she's not my type' tier lyrics then I can't see myself enjoying any of it much.

Digging: BLACKPINK - As If It's Your Last

maximomckinnon
May 5th 2017


29 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Also did the band listen to a lot of Breaking Benjamin and Korn while writing this record? I can't stop hearing really obvious similarities with those bands.

McCookie
May 5th 2017


20 Comments


Yeah for some reason Chris' vocals on Reincarnate and Graveyard Shift all of a sudden switched to sounding like Benjamin Burnley. It's the way he sings his vowels where he does this similar thing to his voice.

Also their lyrics weren't always this bad. They've never been that great, but on their first album or two they had some good stuff. It has certainly degraded since Reincarnate and is now just this mess of weird sexual gothic stuff. Does anyone actually enjoy listening to stuff like that?

sempiturtle
May 5th 2017


1530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is good shit, not sure if I like it as much as Reincarnate though.

Kurisu
May 5th 2017


537 Comments


Will people ever stop liking this bollocks

Dedes
May 5th 2017


6349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

No.

Also Motionless in White has some painfully immature lyrics at times, notably off their record "Infamous" which drops the f-bomb near 10 times a song. Musically they're pretty solid also 570 references my area code (band is from Scranton) so that's cool.

Hawks
May 5th 2017


69195 Comments


Infamous sucks, Reincarnate is sweet. They won't ever top Creatures, but def gonna jam this either way.

Digging: Hecate Enthroned - Embrace Of The Godless Aeon

Dedes
May 5th 2017


6349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Weirdly enough my two closest friends love Infamous and hate Creatures (apparently so does Chris Motionless). Infamous was ok but they sounded like a Metalcore Marilyn Manson tbh. Creatures and Reincarnate are both sick though.

Dedes
May 5th 2017


6349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Holy hell Hawks it just occured to me you have 48,000 comments I knew I saw you here often but goddamn.

TheHeadHunter
May 5th 2017


1 Comments


I was kinda disappointed with album, hoping that is was more like creatures

Hawks
May 5th 2017


69195 Comments


I've been here for over 9 years King lol.

MagicMonk777
May 5th 2017


116 Comments


I will check this out.

Dedes
May 5th 2017


6349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah that's true



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy