Uneven Structure
La Partition


4.0
excellent

Review

by cloakanddagger USER (13 Reviews)
April 28th, 2017 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After a 6 year wait, Uneven Structure follow up an astounding debut with a very impressive second effort

Februus to this day still remains one of my favourite prog releases of the past 10 years. The way it flows so seamlessly throughout its 56 minute run time from track to track, and how engaging it is as a performance still captivates me to this day. It is one of the most perfect metal albums to get lost in, whether that be on a long journey or just listening to it as an album. Around the time they re-released their debut EP, 8, they announced that a follow-up LP to Februus was on its way, which naturally got many fans (including myself) very excited. So we waited, and we waited for quite a while. Now, after 6 years of waiting, many delays and even a time when I speculated it may never be released, La Partition has been released. The only question remaining is, is it worth the long wait"

Well the first thing to note about this album is that it's certainly different to Februus. Whilst it's still certainly a very familiar blend of progressive metal and ambience, the djent-laden intensity of the heavy sections have been tuned down, and the album as a whole sounds a lot more refined. There are a lot more clean vocals throughout the album, for starters, and the ambient soundscapes have much more prominence in a lot of the songs. Of course, this album is still heavy, and there are still songs where they pull out all the stops, such as "Brazen Tongue" and "Funambule", but as a whole there is a lot more variety in the sound, and songs like "Incube" show a band showcasing its ability to create beautiful textures whilst retaining the intensity and flow needed for an Uneven Structure album. They've also dropped a lot of the djent stereotypes present on Februus, which weren't necessarily bad, but it shows a band that is willing to move past gimmicks whilst retaining a very unique sound.

The vocals are definitely worthy of praise. The harsh vocals remain solid and punishing, and the cleans often feature layered harmonies which add even more texture to the band's already massive sound. They can be out of tune at times throughout the record, but there's so much going on a lot of the time that you can almost tune them out and focus on what's happening with the instrumental work instead.

The production of this album is certainly something to talk about. Whilst Februus wasn't the most polished album in the world, one thing it did right was make sure every instrument could be heard, and at the right level. With La Partition, the production is again far more refined, but still mixed so that nothing is left out. You would be doing an injustice to yourself by listening to this album on anything other than high quality speakers or headphones, or else you'd be missing out on some of what's going on.

If there's anything to criticise this album for besides the out-of-tune cleans, at times it somewhat lacks the intensity that Februus had, and some of the softer songs can drag a little, but what it lacks for in intensity it makes up for in being dynamic and well composed. The 6 year wait was a long one, but Uneven Structure have managed to craft a very strong follow-up to a debut which was hard to live up to. They may have slightly missed the mark with this release, but it's still a fantastic modern prog album, and certainly worth your attention.



Recent reviews by this author
Leprous MalinaSikTh The Future in Whose Eyes?
Slaughter To Prevail Misery SermonCircle of Dust Machines Of Our Disgrace
Kardashev PeripetyReflections The Color Clear

user ratings (64)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Beardog (3.5)
Ruining a record 101; featuring Uneven Structure....


Comments:Add a Comment 
cloakanddagger
April 28th 2017


205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As always, if you have any constructive criticisms of my review, they are very much welcome.

Was a little skeptical about this but as an album it's still pretty damn good.

bloc
April 28th 2017


44261 Comments


I'll be checking this out, but given the past couple of songs they've released my hopes are not high

Digging: Beastmilk - Climax

mdross95
April 29th 2017


18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Februus is one of my favorite albums of all time. Slightly disappointed with this one (vocals went from being one of the best parts of the band to meh IMO, and the atmosphere of Februus hits harder). Still a great album, just not as memorable front to back for me.

cloakanddagger
April 29th 2017


205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bloc: Definitely check this out, I feel like the previous few songs make more sense as part of the whole album. The whole album is a grower to be honest, I hated Incube when it came out but I really dig it now.

mdross: Yeah the vocals are a little disappointing, the album did grow on me after a few listens. Feel like it will for others too.

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2017


1808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Had a review for this one written but might hold onto it for a little longer now. There are some surprisingly good riffs on here but the songwriting and overall flow of the album doesn't hold a candle to the debut. No idea what the vocalist is even doing half the time. He sings too many words.



Wish the whole album took the balls-to-the-wall approach (ala "Your Scent", killer track). Feels like the band isn't sure what they want to do and the end result is haphazard to say the least. It's like I'm listening to three EPs stitched together.

sharkmsc
April 29th 2017


137 Comments


Just listened, this was an unexpected treat. I listened to Februus frequently for about two years and still do on occasion. I felt the first four tracks were pretty weak, excepting perhaps Brazen Tongue. I thought the album was very strong from Incube on, in both the atmosphere and da metal.

Nomos
April 29th 2017


1529 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah.....this one still isn't clicking, and that really kills me. Februus has constantly been in my rotation since it released and I had so much hopes for their follow-up.



I find that his clean vocals start to grate on the listener here. I think it's because of the long, drawn-out way in which he harmonizes with himself. It does sound a little noisy and out-of-tune, and I'm not sure why.



The ambient instrumentation does nothing for me. I found it so much more prominent and atmospheric on Februus.



And in dropping any "djent" tones, they've really homogenized the music. I can't recall very many great moments for the guitar on this record at all. In fact I wish the production was cleaner and punchier as well. Everything has the same weight to it in the mix, it sounds like.



This whole album really seems to me like like a 57-minute-long verse with no chorus. I want to give it a few more shots to sink in, but I don't have a good feeling about it

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2017


1808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that last little para is one hell of a review, nomos

Nomos
April 29th 2017


1529 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3 EPs is a good description man! I don't know what to make of this album. It's not bad by any means, and I appreciate the effort they made to create a concept album, but it's all so mediocre and a blur.

Beardog
May 1st 2017


1600 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How can you even praise the production of this record lol

tacos n stuff
May 1st 2017


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

there's hints of greatness in this but im def pretty bummed

jammed februus again recently and its still the best djent album ive jammed by a long shot tho

chug73
May 2nd 2017


3094 Comments


One
In Dreams
Februus

All great albums

pxl
May 2nd 2017


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, definitely a grower. Sadly the mix makes it a bit less enjoyable on headphones.

chug73
May 3rd 2017


3094 Comments


The vocals are not good. The cleans sound pitchy and strained.
The mix is basically the same as their last one but more spacey bits (which are down well) and why the hell do I have to wait until The Bait to hear a guitar solo.
Funabmbluelueleienblefuckyouall, Your Scent and The Bait are awesome. The band always manages to pull a few bangers out of nowhere.
This is actually quite nice, but the review is full of it.

Toondude10
May 3rd 2017


11599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

did they get a new vocalist or something?

Digging: Face The King - Once More Is All I Am

Nomos
May 30th 2017


1529 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They did not... Do you think he sounds different/worse? I think he sounds the same, but not in a great way. Still grating and not quite in key or melodic.



I should try this out again. Didn't listen for a month after it left a sour taste in my mouth. But I loved the drums and song progression. Might grow on me.



Band is great though! I ordered Februus on vinyl 5 weeks ago and sent an email wondering if there was tracking info, and their drummer (Arnaud) just sent me a super apologetic email saying it was sold out and there was no response because they were touring, asking what I'd like to do instead. Cool guy. I always have more respect when a moderately-successful band is still explicitly handling the merch side themselves.

artiswar
May 30th 2017


1672 Comments


I don't know what the fudge is with the vocals... they sound... mostly the same, for the most part, yet they grate so much this time around. Maybe it's just that the music is less interesting and fresh this time, so the lame vocals have more of a spotlight.

Nomos
May 30th 2017


1529 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Vocalist is probably a stellar guy and a complete professional, but sometimes I wonder what they'd sound like with a different vocalist : (

Nomos
May 30th 2017


1529 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

also Art -- great episode. That shot made me piss myself laughing when I was younger. Good ole classic SP

artiswar
May 30th 2017


1672 Comments


lol it is indeed a classic. sad that almost no one even remembers that episode. cousin Elvin was the best, should have been a main character agreed.

you dropped your fudgicle



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy