Heretoir
The Circle


4.0
excellent

Review

by PiedradeLuna USER (38 Reviews)
April 26th, 2017 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rebirth. Regrowth. Renewal.

Heretoir's sophomore release, The Circle, compiles song after song of distilled radiance with black metal tinges to create an album of magical beauty. Guitars come lush. Journeying through uplifting progressions. Backed by harsher yet still intelligible vocals that trade places with a clean capable of delivering driving melodies. The album only ever drifts from its leisurely pace a few times. Usually providing a climax to the current movement and serving to bridge the gap between its ethereal passages. These hints of black metal pedigree, however far removed from that ancestry this may be, are few and far between. The battery is almost never hurried. Instead playing the part of the engine. The core of heat that keeps this thing gliding through space. Indeed, there are times like in standout track, “Golden Dust”, where one is completely at peace riding briskly through these clouds in a reverie of sorts. Not without its faults, The Circle undulates under its own presence. The tracks are all serene in their approach yet tend to blend into one another. They're executed wonderfully but can overstay their welcome. Paradoxical is the nature of being memorable and yet self-effacing. Heretoir don't command the majority of the tracks. Which is to say, the songs cross into a realm of buoyancy. Content to ride the tide to the next song. Of course, when Heretoir do take command of tracks as in, “Laniakea Dances (Soleils Couchants)” which has a guest spot by Neige, and “Fading with the Grey”, the journey feels much more enjoyable while remaining pleasantly blissful. Needless to say this album, however unfortunate, will be lumped with other post-black metal bands before them. Many will cry foul as Heretoir ditches the black metal/DSBM lineage for a more progressive sound. Many will claim that Lantlôs, Deafheaven, Alcest, Les Discrets (to a certain extent) have done this too. It's a tired, unoriginal path. Musically, lyrically, visually. Of course, that argument has some validity to it. One can't deny it, but Heretoir have improved from their previous sound. This Heretoir is more ambitious, but cautious. They deliver, but not regularly. This is hopefully a rejuvenation of a band that can one day forge their own sound into the genre. A sound like their peers yet entirely their own.



Recent reviews by this author
Andragon Ciudad AbismoXavier Wulf Blood Shore Season Two
Ases Falsos ConduccionSamael Ceremony Of Opposites
Dark Funeral The Secrets of the Black ArtsAma la Ama ia
user ratings (73)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
PiedradeLuna
April 26th 2017


233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't been on this site for awhile. Felt like getting back into writing. Any advice is welcomed.





Maco097
April 26th 2017


2460 Comments


This album is great. Approved.

zaruyache
April 26th 2017


17928 Comments


There are lots of half sentences. That feel their need. To be combined. And fleshed out. With more paragraphs.

DungeonBoy
April 26th 2017


3250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree, interesting you chose to make it one big paragraph unless the intention was just to get this thing a review we can have a wholesome and friendly discussion.



Enjoying this more than the s/t with pac-man on the cover from what I can remember.

PiedradeLuna
April 26th 2017


233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@zaruyache and @dungeonbuy - I see where you're coming from and I agree with your sentiments. Thanks for the feedback It was however intentional to contrast the albums long run time and overall interchangability of the songs. I wanted the review to be shorter and more punchy (well that and I wrote it late last night).



Anyway, I'm enjoying this release more every listen.

Hopelust
April 26th 2017


2747 Comments


Dope album cover for sure.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2017


21998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Commenting so i remember to come back here after work

Evokaphile
April 26th 2017


5942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome album. Good, concise review too. Right on.

Digging: Slowdive - Slowdive

VaxXi
April 26th 2017


4135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a good one agreed

Gmork89
April 26th 2017


7353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good album.

Essence
April 26th 2017


5856 Comments


yo this drummer, damn

TVC15
April 26th 2017


8820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Minority opinion but this is the weakest album I've heard by these guys. Much prefer the second album



Oh damn Raz now has a second black metal album 5d

Digging: Black Magick SS - Kaleidoscope Dreams

VaxXi
April 26th 2017


4135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is their second album

Lucid
April 26th 2017


8686 Comments


nothing grabbed my interest on first listen

FullOfSounds
April 26th 2017


15578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

maybe i should give this another shot

Essence
April 27th 2017


5856 Comments


actually this is too long, got bored at like track 8

DungeonBoy
April 27th 2017


3250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Millennials.







J/k, yeah this album is a little drawn out.

Essence
April 27th 2017


5856 Comments


same problem with that 2015 archivist album, which was like 90 minutes long

Aberf
April 27th 2017


1546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck yeah, a review for this.

Digging: Secret Shine - There Is Only Now

Sunnyvale
April 29th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album, but yes, way too long in my opinion. Being ten or even fifteen minutes shorter could have done this one a lot of good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy