Les Discrets
Prédateurs


2.5
average

Review

by Xenorazr CONTRIBUTOR (117 Reviews)
April 24th, 2017 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Le disconcerting.

Give Fursy Teyssier credit: he’s gotten listeners to universally scratch their heads with just a handful of releases. Septembre et Ses Dernières Pensées drew much interest and acclaim thanks to a compelling mix of post rock and shoegaze while its successor, Ariettes Oubliées..., brought a sense of disconnect that, though not without some resonance, left a number of listeners feeling more than a little empty. Now, with the newly released Prédateurs, Fursy has dialed back on the lingering warmth and overarching serenity to the point that his music is left to wallow in a cold, desolate soundscape with only the most fleeting moments of captivation sprinkled throughout.

To be fair, both of the previous Les Discrets albums were composed in a somber manner, with Ariettes Oubliées... being the more solemn of the two. Furthermore, the decision to strip the music down is clearly deliberate, so a “cold shoulder” sensation is right in line with what Fursy was likely trying to accomplish. Yet there are two fundamental problems with this approach: First, just because a choice in direction is intentional doesn’t automatically make it a sound choice. Second, the execution of said direction needs to feel owned and justified, neither of which can be used to describe Prédateurs. The core issue at hand isn’t that it’s a cold album, but rather how it goes about achieving such a sensation. Fursy has taken the idea of minimalism and run with it in a way that leaves his music feeling utterly impartial. Any band (particularly post rock) can tumble into this maze of a wasteland and be left wandering about aimlessly. This is what Les Discrets sound like on Prédateurs: a band stuck in a black-and-white landscape with the only hints of strength being the hues they’ve effectively toned out.

When the instrumental gaze elements echo about the empty soundscape, it only instills the sense of a vacuous atmosphere. Of no aide to this is the album’s bizarre inclination towards electronic elements, often to the point that they smear what few moments of intrigue there are. Yet even the less hindered moments fail to ultimately achieve anything of worth, such as the frustratingly stagnant “Rue Octavio Mey” and “Les Amis de Minuit.” Whether Prédateurs decides to be a little oddball or wallow in a murky rut, it ends up on the vexing end of the spectrum all the same. And that is what’s most disconcerting about this latest release from a once-promising project.



Recent reviews by this author
Seventh Wonder TiaraShylmagoghnar Transience
Amorphis Queen of TimeDimmu Borgir Eonian
Kamelot The Shadow TheorySonata Arctica The Ninth Hour
user ratings (57)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
April 23rd 2017


1387 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Hardly my best, but I've been out of it the past few weeks and wanted to put something together. Album is a mess, leaves me feeling pretty bewildered.

Asdfp277
April 23rd 2017


19331 Comments


was wondering why i couldn't pos, realized you were a contrib. good review dude, thanks for explaining so succinctly what has been bogging down this band's releases so far; it's not the idea, it's the execution

CaptainDooRight
April 24th 2017


2594 Comments


best summ ever

Divaman
April 24th 2017


3168 Comments


Yes, the Review Summary nails it.

Digging: Dresses - Sun Shy

zaruyache
April 24th 2017


19994 Comments


didn't mention trip hop once NEG'DDD

Digging: Black Funeral - Empire of Blood

JasonCarne
April 24th 2017


1004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know, I liked this quite a bit.

Gmork89
April 24th 2017


7748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn, love this band but I have a feeling this wont do it for me.

DungeonBoy
April 24th 2017


5085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I don't love it or hate. There are some really nice songs and moments on it, but as a whole it's pretty underwhelming.

Gmork89
April 24th 2017


7748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds better than a 2.5 to me on my first listen. Definitely not super engaging, but it's very smooth and chill.

DungeonBoy
April 24th 2017


5085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Absolutely. It's competent musicianship and songwriting, but compared to Septembre Et Ses Dernièr it feels like there's something missing. Everyone rates differently, but 2.5 and below are generally reserved for what I would consider bad to terrible albums.

Gmork89
April 24th 2017


7748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah 2.5 is usually a fairly bad album for me, and this is pretty middle of the road. Definitely works better when it's more rock oriented with it's drums like on Le Reproche, the electronic parts can be very plodding on a lot of these songs.

Hopelust
April 24th 2017


3273 Comments


"Review Summary: Le disconcerting."


"Déconcertant" is the word you're looking for, I believe. Where is this guy/these guys from?

Gmork89
April 24th 2017


7748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not sure who all is involved with this band right now, but they have ties in various projects with Alcest, Lantlos, and Ameseours.

Hopelust
April 24th 2017


3273 Comments


Soooo... france?

zaruyache
April 24th 2017


19994 Comments


Fursy's the main dude and he's French, and so are Alcest and Amesoeurs c'moooon gmork. Lantlos isn't associated with Les Discrets at all afaik, outside of Fursy's doing artwork for two of their albums.

Gmork89
April 24th 2017


7748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh I read your question wrong sorry about that. I thought Winterhalter played drums for Lantlos too at some point but I must have been mistaken.

Twilightfern
April 24th 2017


19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually really really enjoyed this record, but great review.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2017


1387 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Although I'm pretty firm in my overall dissatisfaction with this album, I wouldn't call it poor. Typically when I rate something as 2.5 it means there are some good aspects to the album, which is what earns it those points to begin with, but they aren't enough to earn the album a 3, which is the bare minimum "good" score in my books, and by "good" I mean "decent" or "generally enjoyable with some caveats that don't get too in the way for the album's own good."



That being said, it's pretty easy for me to see people liking albums that I rate over a 2, and this one is no exception. It doesn't come together in a way that engages and keeps me entertained, but I can have some unpopular opinions, so it's absolutely possible that many people can and will end up liking this for what it is while I can't.

quetzal
May 2nd 2017


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't stop listening to this, easily the best Fursy album yet and potentially album of the year. Les Amis de Minuet is easily one of the best songs of the year. What an incredibly good song.



I only give a 2.5 to albums that I dislike.

teamster
May 2nd 2017


3481 Comments


Not sure what to think of this - some tracks I like , some tracks I'm like "wtf is this?". Dude is really out there...

Digging: Pijn - Loss



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy