Joey Badass
ALL-AMERIKKKAN BADA$$


4.5
superb

Review

by No000Comment USER (9 Reviews)
April 11th, 2017 | 90 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sorry hip-hop purists

There’s always this big uproar when an artist changes their original sound. Sometimes it is warranted, especially when an artist is placing creativity and substance on the backburner to make something that’ll simply have a wider appeal. But there are times an artist will take a different direction for the better. That’s what we see here with the newest Joey Bada$$ record. It takes a different approach than his usual old-school hip hop style sound he’s had since his early days, and fuses it with a more modern jazz-rap approach, adding some trap elements in there as well. Personally, I believe it is a fresh change that aids in creating a really diverse-sounding record that speaks beautifully on topics of race violence in America, and the status of black people in this country.

I want to commend the producers and instrumentalists who helped create this album, because they did an amazing job. The mixing is absolutely gorgeous. The bass is really thick and groovy, penetrating through beautiful atmospheric instrumental layering, ranging from guitar licks, synth lines, horn sections, and some really cool-sounding chopped up piano chords in songs like ROCKABYE BABY (which also contains a great aggressive and well-delivered feature from ScHoolboy Q.). It all blends extremely well, and the vocal-work from Joey fits right in as if it were a big center piece of a hip-hop jigsaw puzzle. The lyrics are very well-written and tell beautiful narratives about black communities and the observations Joey sees in America in regards to black people. It flows, it is very in-your-face, and just sounds exceptional overall. The last verse of AMERIKKKAN IDOL is one of the best verses I’ve heard in a long time.

Unfortunately it isn’t a perfect record. Some of the narratives feel a little redundant at times, hearing a little too similar verses sometimes. Stylistically the record doesn’t much venture outside of the jazz-rap/trap/old school hybridization, which will probably cause the casually listen to get a little bored towards the latter half of the record. Other than it is a little hard for me to find many objective “faults” with this album. I found it wholly enjoyable, and honestly everything just feels “right.” It’s timely, groovy, aggressive, soulful. It’s hard to ask for more than what Joey gave. For that I give it 4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Teenage Wrist DazedCrying Beyond The Fleeting Gales
The Struts Everybody WantsFive For Fighting Battle for Everything
Sugar Ray 14:59Trapt DNA
user ratings (251)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
No000Comment
April 11th 2017


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel bad for all the mediocre reviews this album is getting from his original fans. A shift in sound is welcome when it's done right. This album is phenomenal. Also sorry if the review is a little short. I had trouble with finding anything I really didn't like about this record.

FourthReich
April 11th 2017


2370 Comments


Cant wait not to listen to this

Digging: Glassjaw - Material Control

Prancer
April 11th 2017


505 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Joey goes in on that last track.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2017


20107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good album but i miss his 1999 sound so much. too poppy imo but some dec tracks

Dewinged
April 11th 2017


7006 Comments


Joey... Badass? For real?

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

FourthReich
April 11th 2017


2370 Comments


[2] i miss the 1999 sound




BlushfulHippocrene
April 11th 2017


2064 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm liking this a bit more than B4, I dig the poppier sound a lot.

RadicalEd
April 11th 2017


8622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rockabye absolutely slays, although I think it feels kind of out of place on this overall very poppy and upbeat album. Production is gorgeous throughout and the new direction suits him very well. (which I honestly wouldn't have thought beforehand, especially since I'm generally not at all into trappy stuff)

Digging: Swarms - Black Chapel Sun

RadicalEd
April 11th 2017


8622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow that p4k review... jesus. Reads like my professor grading my political thesis. I get that this is a pretty political album but can we talk about ANYTHING else than the fact that we're feeling kinda lukewarm on the lyrics.... no? oh okay, i guess you kinda mentioned that it's a bit more commerical, we're fine then.

BlushfulHippocrene
April 11th 2017


2064 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, that Pitchfork review criticises the album for not being didactic enough. I mean, given the album's themes are a large part of the record, touching on the fact that the album's not as informative as the writer would like is fair, but since when is that a valuable critique of the music itself? What requisite holds an album to being informative?

RadicalEd
April 11th 2017


8622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sure, it's more than fair to talk about the lyrics of any (especially hip-hop) album in the review and since Joey definitely intents people to take his lyrics seriously it's even reasonable to make it a central focus of the review, but still the review just felt like they were scolding him for not being political enough, not pushing a narrative more or something. I dunno, just baffled me that it didn't really talk about the features or the production etc.

BlushfulHippocrene
April 11th 2017


2064 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"the review just felt like they were scolding him for not being political enough"

For sure, 100% agree, man. Glad to see the album seems to be doing well, though, regardless. Also, yeah, Rockabye Baby is insane, love that song.

TheMrAlexK
April 11th 2017


8907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is reeaaaaallllyyyyy good

Sinternet
April 11th 2017


15059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this was just meh

Digging: TWICE - Twicetagram

StarlessCore
April 11th 2017


5616 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i cant blame joey for releasing this at all and i think its got a few great cuts but the whole thing is such a forced attempt to breakout to a new audience. and some of the hooks are atrocious, even though i enjoy a handful of them. ring the alarm and for my people are ace

Digging: Potence - L'Amour Au Temps De La Peste

TheMrAlexK
April 11th 2017


8907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It can get a bit too w0ke for me at points but I just love the overall vibe of the album, and how it sounds old school but not in a this-came-out-twenty-years-late type of way.

StarlessCore
April 11th 2017


5616 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

the woke stuff is annoying. where the lines about looking at fallopian tubes on ur laptop

TheMrAlexK
April 11th 2017


8907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also I feel like he says something along the lines of "They're telling lies to us" multiple times on every track.

StarlessCore
April 11th 2017


5616 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

100% agreed. still cannot blame him for releasing it though

RadicalEd
April 11th 2017


8622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really digging the pop vibes on the first half tbh. Devasted is a bit bland, but all the other songs are great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy