Falling in Reverse
Coming Home


3.0
good

Review

by SweeneyTodd USER (13 Reviews)
April 9th, 2017 | 164 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Falling in Reverse stop moving in reverse and take a step forward in their songwriting abilities

Ronnie Radke is a name that for most conjures images of mic-stand injuries and spousal abuse, rather than a musician. The infamous frontman has taken the douchebag rockstar image to heart, and credit where credit is due, it's thrust him into stardom. No matter how bad his musical endeavors are, people will forever know his name for his often illegal, always disgraceful actions, both onstage and off. “Coming Home” has been advertised for the longest time, as being the bands “mature” record, Falling In Reverse's “Deja Entendu” if you will, right down to an astronaut on the cover. And does it live up to the hype"

Eh.

From start to finish, “Coming Home” stylistically is the band's tightest effort thus far, sticking to the, ahem, “space rock” style, at least musically. The instrumentation on this album is incredibly clean, with very heavy layers production. There isn't a single second on this album that isn't shiny and processed, with pretty synths hovering over the top of the crunchy, loud guitars. The production quality is very reminiscent of Thirty Seconds to Mars' debut album, which also featured incredibly polished guitars and synths. Another album this LP could be compared to, is Crown the Empires latest offering, “Retrograde”, both of them featuring pop/metalcore song structures with synths draped over the top. They are so similar in fact that it's shocking Falling in Reverse aren't signed to Rise Records yet.

However, this space-rock vibe does not carry over into the lyrics, which is the album's biggest issue. Despite the fact this album was sold as a pseudo-concept album, the albums lyrical rarely show anything of the sort. There is evidence here and there that this album may at one point have been intended to be a story-driven album, specifically the opening track, but whatever that could have been clearly was gradually given up on.

The album's lyrical highlight is definitely “I Don't Mind”. Whilst it's chorus lets it down massively, the verses are some of Ronnies most vulnerable, talking about how his fears of becoming someone like his mother have come true, with his addictions likened to hers, at one point blatantly pointing out his understanding that he is not a morally just person, accepting that people are going to remember him for his discretions rather than the positive actions he makes. The bland, contrived, downright vapid chorus however, completely ruin the emotional vulnerability of the track.

Of course, some of the lyrical content is intended as tongue-in-cheek, which is taken further by the bonus track “Right Now”, which is much more akin to their older material, even including the line “is Ronnie gonna have to smack a bitch" Too soon"”, and the track “Paparazzi”, the content of which is pretty self-explanatory. Had these tracks been on the main tracklisting, they would be much less forgivable, but as b-sides, they're pretty entertaining.

So, whilst “Coming Home” might be the bands' most mature effort thus far, it still has a lot of flaws which really prevent it from being the album that could have changed people's stances on the band. Here and there are glimmers of integrity and maturity, but a lot of it is weighed down by the album's lesser moments, which for the most part lie in the lyrical content. If Ronnie were to ditch the anthemic sing-a-long choruses and non-poetic approach to “I hate all my fake friends, I hate the world, woe is me” (if he literally sang those exact lines on this album, it would hardly be surprising) then they might get somewhere. This album shows the first hint of potential in the bands' discography and the first of their albums that deserves a chance to be heard.



Recent reviews by this author
Death Spells Nothing Above, Nothing BelowDefeat The Low A Nervous Smile
Breaking Benjamin Dark Before DawnDance Gavin Dance Instant Gratification
Three Days Grace HumanFall Out Boy American Beauty/American Psycho
user ratings (149)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
BandanaGeorge (1.5)
Falling in Reverse provide little to praise here. An immature, boring, and uninspired album, topped ...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Tunaboy45
April 9th 2017


16039 Comments


ground control to major tom, your circuit's dead, there's something wrong

Divaman
April 9th 2017


1712 Comments


I like it when reviewers go beyond the conventional thinking the website has about various artists. Nice write-up.

Digging: The High Kings - Decade: The Best of the High Kings

SweeneyTodd
April 9th 2017


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

gimme some o' dat feedback, call me a slut if you want to

Digging: Deftones - Gore

SnakeDelilah
April 9th 2017


20117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

*danny devito voice* whœre

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - POST-

SweeneyTodd
April 9th 2017


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"I like it when reviewers go beyond the conventional thinking the website has about various artists. Nice write-up."



thankyou very much, I tried to approach this with an open mind, god knows I don't consider myself a fan of this band at all, but I couldn't deny this is a step up for them, even if it's a small step. *"Thats one small step for Ronnie..." joke*

SweeneyTodd
April 9th 2017


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"*danny devito voice* whœre"



why is this giving me flashbacks to my childhood

Spec
April 9th 2017


34879 Comments


this wears off fast

SweeneyTodd
April 9th 2017


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

agreed, couple of the songs I can see me listening to for the next couple of months, but I don't think this'll still be in my rotation by August. Still, it was fun for a while

SnakeDelilah
April 9th 2017


20117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

damn people took matilda pretty seriously back in the day

SweeneyTodd
April 9th 2017


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

anything with DeVito should be taken very seriously

Snide
April 9th 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cool review have a pos.

Personally my favorite song on here lyrically is a tie between I Hate Everyone and I'm Bad At Life

Feather
April 9th 2017


4023 Comments


I just don't understand how Ronnie manages to write such cringey lyrics all the time.

What is with the blatant silversun pickups ripoff on The Departure?

Also did anyone else think of Brand New/Taking Back Sunday lyric lifts from 'Fuck You and All Your Friends' when he says "I guess best friends don't last forever" and "I taught you all about breaking hearts" in the same song because those two lines are straight out of the whole 'seventy times seven' and 'Theres no i in team' feud songs

SnakeDelilah
April 9th 2017


20117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

because ronnie is a giant weiner

Snide
April 9th 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

After doing some research on the whole Silversun Pickups debacle, they apparently fully admit to sampling the bassline, saying that that band was one of their biggest influences and wanted to do their own take on it.

Feather
April 10th 2017


4023 Comments


@blackmalachite thats what it looked like to me too from what I was reading in comments, still really weird/lame especially since thats silversun's biggest hit

SweeneyTodd
April 10th 2017


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"because ronnie is a giant weiner"



he looks more like a giant tomato actually

ajcollins15
April 10th 2017


32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

See the first review for this I didn't quite agree with, but this one I agreed with! The album wasn't amazing, but it was fun and some what well done. It was good enough to listen again, but probably not buy it!

AsleepInTheBack
April 11th 2017


5328 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Good review, though I object to calling this space rock rather than simple pop punk with some slightly spacey instrumentation, but eh, me being picky

Digging: Psychedelic Porn Crumpets - High Visceral Pt. 2

SweeneyTodd
April 11th 2017


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Good review, though I object to calling this space rock rather than simple pop punk with some slightly spacey instrumentation, but eh, me being picky"



I didn't say it actually was space-rock, just said it has a lot of those "vibes" or influences, agreed this album is pop-*insert subgenre here* all the way

AsleepInTheBack
April 11th 2017


5328 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

fair play, you are right, I just objected to even the slightest association of this album with something I actually like, but thats just be being a bit of a prick in all honestly, no disrespect meant to people that like this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy