Armor For Sleep
What To Do When You Are Dead


4.5
superb

Review

by random USER (30 Reviews)
April 6th, 2017 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An emotional catharsis in 5 steps, brought to you by Armor for Sleep.

When does music become art" Music is a by-product of art and one of the drama's most popular mediums. To create pieces of sound in an emotional, poetic manner takes effort within its own concept.

Teaneck, New Jersey is where the Eastern Emo band Armor for Sleep formed, and while their 2003 debut "Dream to Make Believe" focused on lyrics about oneirology, it is in their sophomore effort "What to Do When You Are Dead" that elevates the potential of a concept album to unknown heights.

To form the thesis of this piece, singer Ben Jourgenson depicts a character who successfully commits suicide by driving his car into a river over his relationship partner leaving him. From this song "Car Underwater" onward, Jourgenson vividly details this aforementioned character's soul entering the spiritual realm of the afterlife. There, it goes through the Kubler Ross diagram of grief.

I used to to relate to this album a lot during moments when I suffered from severe depression and anxiety. It has changed my view on the emotional capacity of music and the way I cope with my mental illnesses. I consider this album to be a masterpiece.



Recent reviews by this author
Journey Trial By FireSunn O))) Monoliths and Dimensions
Four Year Strong Explains It AllProzzak Saturday People
The Rocket Summer Hello, Good FriendHellogoodbye Mush Slowly and Guac

user ratings (441)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sinternet
April 5th 2017


14830 Comments


Weird review

bloc
April 5th 2017


44247 Comments


Near classic album

Digging: Beastmilk - Climax

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2017


15783 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

contrib style review right here. album is fucking great though

tellah
April 6th 2017


549 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm stoked to see this review, even though it's terrible. Gonna spin these guys now

Hawks
April 6th 2017


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this album rules.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

tellah
April 6th 2017


549 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I consider this album to be a masterpiece.

Hopelust
April 6th 2017


2746 Comments


YES


Hopelust
April 6th 2017


2746 Comments


Album is better now than it was when released.

Storm In A Teacup
April 6th 2017


22229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah but I loved it when it came out. I was counting down the days for it to come out.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2017


55354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

One good song

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

MuhNamesTyler
April 6th 2017


6186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stupid fucking ads come in vertical now, can't read it





Good album tho

Digging: Hail the Sun - Secret Wars

SweeneyTodd
April 6th 2017


1456 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album is a classic, review is barely a review, in fact only the last 3 lines could be construed as a review, the rest is just a low down on the wikipedia article on the album.

Digging: Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch - Blade Runner 2049

toocool4pos
April 7th 2017


161 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"One good song"



Really?



Car Underwater, I Have Been Right All Along, The Truth About Heaven and Basement Ghost Singing are all standouts for me, but the whole album played end to end is greater than the sum of its parts.



Brings back memories of playing WoW until sunrise with this thing on repeat.

Hopelust
April 7th 2017


2746 Comments


A good WoW soundtrack, likely.

toocool4pos
April 7th 2017


161 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh and the guitar work for Walking At Night, Alone intro is amazing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy