Pharmakon
Contact


2.0
poor

Review

by Aaron W. STAFF
April 2nd, 2017 | 136 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'll have what she's having.

I’ve spent several weeks’ time indulging myself in Margaret Chardiet’s new album Contact.

Concise, ever abrasive, strikingly deadly. Contact is without a doubt Chardiet’s greatest attempt at screaming her goddamn heart out and making it as uncomfortable (or annoying) as she can possibly make it. Contact signals a change in Chardiet’s sound – leaving the rough-edged chaos of Abandon and the body horror nightmare Bestial Burden for the approach of non-stop drone, gripping vocals (or whatever you really want to call Chardiet’s yelps and howls) and a more expanded soundscape thanks to the increased usage of electronics and a heavy focus on production. Contact relies on these new aspects and that’s just about it – there’s a concept hidden within the industrial destruction Chardiet enables you to hear, but the “looking at humanity in an objective way” idea that Chardiet employs here falls flat. The message is lightweight, and despite Chardiet’s skilled lyricism, it’s how she sells her concept that allows for it to fail in its purpose.

Contact has the makings of a typical Pharmakon album – droning passages and visceral noise, Chardiet potentially shredding her vocal cords once and for all, a vague message that you’re hardly able to decipher thanks to several elements of her music masking over the important details – all neatly organized in an overwhelming thirty minute record that aims high but misses the mark. I've spent several weeks indulging myself in Margaret Chardiet's new album Contact and all I know is I want whatever the hell she's on.



Recent reviews by this author
Xiu Xiu Girl with Basket of FruitPaddy McAloon I Trawl The Megahertz
Keith Fullerton Whitman GeneratorTim Hecker Konoyo
Animal Collective Tangerine ReefBoris Akuma no Uta
user ratings (48)
Chart.
2.9
good
related reviews

Abandon

Bestial Burden
recommended by reviewer
Pharmakon Bestial Burden

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

seriously



"Transmission" - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcAwIU-sBXI

"No Natural Order" - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQfNUbg3TSs

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 2nd 2017


42595 Comments


possibly her grossest album cover yet

Digging: Cvd - Elsewhere Nowhere

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I resisted bringing it up, but then I remembered all of her covers are pretty nasty (though I liked the effort Sacred Bones put into the packaging)

altertide0
April 2nd 2017


3026 Comments


she cheeses me out

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'd imagine seeing her live would probably make that worse.



Kind of a shame she only fucks around in Europe and New York.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


15520 Comments


By your descriptions I will probably love this. That cover though...

Digging: Otoboke Beaver - Itekoma Hits

Gyromania
April 2nd 2017


26843 Comments


Her live performance would probably be a top 10 cringe moment, but I've enjoyed her body of work. Would I dig this if I loved bestial burden?

IcelandRevel
April 2nd 2017


943 Comments


The album cover inexplicably grosses me out. I don't react at all to her other covers. I think it might be because all the fingers look so damn oily.
It bums me out this was so negative, because from the little stuff I've heard so far, I was pretty intrigued by this. Is this just the same kind of thing as Abandon but more detailed?

By the way, I've seen some videos of her live. She gets very personal with the audience, nearly screaming in their faces. There are also a lot of males in the audience, it seems. I imagine she's trying to intimidate them.

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's a hard bargain with what you're gonna get from her



If you dug the screaming on Bestial, this will be your thing Gyro



This and most of her stuff reads better on paper, honestly

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 2nd 2017


42595 Comments


"sound better on paper honestly"



Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The same thing as Abandon though, I wouldn't say so but I'd say it follows more in its direction in its sound while its production is similar to Bestial Burden



kinda bummed this and her track on the [as] compilation weren't that good

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

duly noted

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 2nd 2017


42595 Comments



"sound better on paper honestly"


Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 2nd 2017


42595 Comments


this sounds better on paper, honestly

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

full of sounds

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 2nd 2017


42595 Comments


sounds better on paper honestly

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 2nd 2017


42595 Comments


most of her stuff read better on paper honestly


Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 2nd 2017


42595 Comments


this album read better on paper honestly


Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2017


18589 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

me too





meeeeeeeeeeeeee toooooooo

Gyromania
April 2nd 2017


26843 Comments


The cover is meh. I actually really liked her last album art, thought it was creative and creepy-cool, nice balance of colors too. This just seems gross for the sake of it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy