Venenum
Trance of Death


4.5
superb

Review

by kingdedethefifth USER (79 Reviews)
March 28th, 2017 | 193 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Exiting the periphery of human psyche.

There is no definitive impression of what defines terror. Sure, it can be said that it's an overwhelming state of sheer panic, but what triggers such reactions isn't quite as black and white. Perhaps terror is the increasing awareness of your own imperfections and dissecting each and every flaw until all you see is a mistake. Perhaps its something more traditional, like retching after watching a movie with putrid festering gore and being so utterly petrified of what cannot be unseen. Or perhaps it's being caught in a swirling benighted maelstrom, entering a world where the only sound is the tortured howling of desecrated human beings that remind you you are exiting the comforting periphery of your psyche. Losing your grasp on reality is terrifying, and undoubtedly the most bewildering form of terror.

That's what "Trance of Death" sounds like. Between schizophrenic, muddy riffs and unsettling barks and rasps, Venenum create the aural equivalent of being in a mortified stasis. The atmosphere is shrouded in the weird and abhorrent. This is immediately present off the intro track "Entrance" and even more so off of "Merging Nebular Drapes". There's moments where, through pummeling drum beats and howling tremolo guitar, the album is decidedly unabashed in its sheer death/black metal force. However, there are also moments where the vocals and drums drop from the picture, leaving hollow rings of sound in their decimation. The best example of the first statement being these chaotic weaves of snares and tremolos off of "The Nature of the Ground", while the second statement would best be represented by the unhallowed, dread-inducing epic (14 minutes) "There Are Other Worlds".

"Trance of Death" is equal parts messy guitar distortion, cathartic blasting drum fills, and moments of silence pregnant with wretched terror. Comparing it to any other band feels blasphemous, however they do bring to mind the likes of Ulcerate, Howls of Ebb, Deathspell Omega, what have you. Like the aforementioned bands, Venenum embodies dissonance and disorder, transcending the tag of Blackened Death metal. In fact, this record transcends music in the traditional sense. "Trance of Death" is just that, captivating you with its hypnotic power.



Recent reviews by this author
Danimal Cannon LunariaEllende Todbringer
Death in June But, What Ends When the Symbols Shatter?Comeback Kid Turn It Around
Dalek Endangered PhilosophiesEluveitie Evocation II: Pantheon
user ratings (88)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Confessed2005
March 28th 2017


3888 Comments


Good review, even if it may perhaps be a little too short. This sounds interesting - I like 'terrifying' music so I might check this.

Digging: Converge - The Dusk in Us

Spacesh1p
March 28th 2017


7101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet been meaning to check this.

Digging: Deadbeat - Drawn and Quartered

Deschutes
March 28th 2017


489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beast of an album, I can see this being in my top 3 DM releases of 2017 easily. That ghostly guitar solo in Cold Threat gives me the chills.

Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

Evokaphile
March 28th 2017


5892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds right up my alley!

Digging: Slowdive - Slowdive

necropig
March 28th 2017


3020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

Digging: Chaos Moon - Eschaton Mémoire

necropig
March 28th 2017


3020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Toilet gave this a good write up

ShadowRemains
March 28th 2017


24832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh shit they put out a full length



their 2011 EP was money in the bank, need this asap

Evokaphile
March 28th 2017


5892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah pretty damn excited to hear this

necropig
March 28th 2017


3020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They give a digital booklet with the BC release. I like bands who do that. Listening going to bed here

Evokaphile
March 28th 2017


5892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nothin like grease-mode dm before bed lol

kingdedethefifth
March 28th 2017


4250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This isn't exactly lullaby music but you do you my friend lol

Evokaphile
March 28th 2017


5892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Eyes closed and horizontal is the best way to absorb any album really. External stimuli sullies the experience.

kingdedethefifth
March 28th 2017


4250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'd have a difficult time with anything chaotic or aggressive, although something softer like Agalloch would be understandable.

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2017


3345 Comments


Those recommended albums are completely backwards

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2017


3345 Comments


This is like Watain/Dissection meets 70s prog/pysche and a good dose of death 'n' roll. This is not even remotely similar to Ulcerate or Deathspell.

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2017


3345 Comments


Your review is alright, better than your last few because you actually try to convey a proper feeling, but feels rushed towards to the end. Needs some fleshing out.

kingdedethefifth
March 28th 2017


4250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can see prog/psyche, idk about death and roll because I don't listen to death and roll, and as for Dissection I don't hear it all. Also yeah I noticed it was short but whenever I write more the content just comes out forced and repetitive, so I try keeping it pretty concise.

kingdedethefifth
March 28th 2017


4250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Also I see moderate similarities to Deathspell Omega and Howls of Ebb almost definitely. Cryptic, unpredictable, fucking badass.

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2017


3345 Comments


It's got some straight up melodic black metal worship here, much like Watain and Dissection, and it's very much rooted in prog death n roll like recent Tribulation, Morbus Chron, Horrendous, Cadaveric Fumes, etc.

I mean one of the songs here is just a 7 minute psych rock track.

kingdedethefifth
March 28th 2017


4250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'll relisten and see if I can see the meloblack similarities because I really never picked up on it. I've never listened to any of the aforementioned bands so I couldn't say if you're right or wrong there.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy