Ott
Skylon


4.0
excellent

Review

by Evok USER (32 Reviews)
March 28th, 2017 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: soaring through the stratosphere.

Ott is pretty much a household name in the world of psychedelic electronic music at this point, and for good reason. Since the early 2000's he has methodically crafted a small but essential catalogue of inspired and soul-lifting excursions dabbling in the likes of psychill, dub and downtempo. Through his seamless and unique blend of styles, there's always been an unmistakable personality behind his music; one of ecstatic whimsy and zen-like wisdom that walks a sagely line between youthful wonder and meditative introspection. Five years after his debut full-length, Blumenkraft, Ott went ahead and finally gave the world of festival trotting granola-hippies another taste of his brilliance. Named after a prototype hydrogen-powered spacecraft, Skylon is certainly an apt name for this 70-minute flight into the upper stratosphere. "From Trunch To Stormness" really sets the lucid vibe from the get-go. As the listener buckles in for a journey above unbelievable landscapes blotted with fluffy clouds and wide blue skies, the familiar butterflies of a psychedelic come-up sneak through the dreamy waves of dubby bass. This is the reggae of the interdimensional elves. This is psybient music at its absolute finest. This is bliss!

Indeed, Skylon's biggest strength lies in its atmosphere. That said, atmosphere without substance is like air without oxygen, and what makes Ott's 2008 opus so grand is the near flawless melding of picturesque lucidity and tactile production lush with analogue textures and deep, shapely tones. Ott is a profoundly talented producer, and his knack for sculpting colourful soundscapes with driving basslines and interlocking layers of organic synths, intriguing samples and metallic effects is both discerningly finessed and wholly mindblowing. Well-versed in both ambient levitations and trance inducing movements of physical release, Ott's work here boasts the deliberate and spiritual involvement of a shaman channeling the purity of sound itself to guide a healing ceremony. Moving through climactic peaks, lush vistas and vast openings of sustained wonder, Skylon - like any good healer - simply holds a space for you to heal your own soul, and does it well. Almost utilitarian in its psychedelic nature, you really get what you look for within the sounds presented here. Nothing is forced but a lot is implied, and thanks to its benevolent mystique, whatever you offer this album it will offer you threefold in return.

There's plenty of global inspiration throughout the runtime here with a spectrum instruments and vocal samples spicing up the consistently dub-influenced flavours without detracting from the album's emotive focus. "Rogue Bagel" and "Signals From Bob" both underscore a notably far-Eastern palette with celebratory splendour and introspective grace, respectively. Solidifying the atmospheric side of things, tracks like "The Queen Of All Everything" and "382 Seaside" aptly tie into the exotic constitutions of the album with consistently luminous vistas. Each track adds another colour to the spectrum of hallucinatory texture showcased here, and all work symbiotically to encompass a transcendent vision. That said, there exists a tiny world within every song, and each cut has more than enough nuances and subtle dynamics to unfold in a new fashion on every listen. When "A Shower Of Sparks" draws the final minutes of this release with a chromatic delirium that swiftly bursts into a crescendo of spiritual ascension, the five year wait for another Ott album really begins to make sense. There's a beautifully captivating finesse present; one that offers the listener a majestic ride to places once only imagined in the time between waking hours and sleep. Awe-inspiring and perfectly built as an accompaniment to life's most blissful moments, Skylon is an album for the dreamers and the meditators. It's an album for the wild imaginations and it's an album for the psychonauts. It's an album for the stargazers and the cloud watchers. Most of all though, Skylon is an album for everyone, made with love and wonder from Ott, to you.



Recent reviews by this author
Chee Fear MongerShamanic Technology and Dusko Artifacts
Kasra Ski MaskNoer the Boy Ganzfeld
Fixate What Goes AroundAtYyA Volition
user ratings (69)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpaceMan
March 27th 2017


11877 Comments


oh nice still gotta peep

Evok
March 27th 2017


7671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of my absolute favorites!

CalculatingInfinity
March 28th 2017


8824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't see how this is a classic and Mir is a 3.5 but it's nice that this got a review finally.

Evok
March 28th 2017


7671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mir is a solid 4 for me these days man! But i still think this album takes the cake as Otts best work. The vibes on it are simply unparalleled :]

CalculatingInfinity
March 28th 2017


8824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh I must have misread your rating in the Mir thread. I wish I liked this as much as Mir, or any of his other material.

Evok
March 28th 2017


7671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Im a little surprised you don't tbh. Its not as outgoing as a lot of his work but its so airy and lucid it blows my mind. Its like a sunny summer day in a field of flowers turned into an album!

CalculatingInfinity
March 29th 2017


8824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love the dubby sea-life vibes in Mir much more than that unfortunately. Just hearing the start of 'A Nice Little Place' just feels like scuba diving into a unknown world and seeing the ecosystems thrive in front of you.

Evok
March 29th 2017


7671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just hearing the start of 'A Nice Little Place' just feels like scuba diving into a unknown world and seeing the ecosystems thrive in front of you.



Aw yeah! Ya know, idk why it took me to so long to warm up to that album, it really does feel like an adventure from start to finish. Fairchildren is the only Ott album I haven't check out mostly cuz the lame album art is a turn off. Is it any good?

CalculatingInfinity
March 29th 2017


8824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I had Mir 4'ed for ages then suddenly it hit me one day to how good it was and it's blissful. Fairchildren is inconsistent but when it's on, it's awesome. Worth checking.

Evok
March 29th 2017


7671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your 3/5 on this makes me sad but you got good taste so i still like ya lol. Whatre your thoughts on Blumenkraft? Ive always really loved that one too

CalculatingInfinity
March 29th 2017


8824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha nice to know :P



If I remember correctly I enjoyed it as much as this or a bit more, but it's been quite a while so I'd have to listen to again. Btw I think Q3 or Q4 this year Ott is gonna make a Vinyl pressing of this album so keep that in mind.



Evok
March 29th 2017


7671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Id be excited but i dont collect vinyl lol

CalculatingInfinity
March 29th 2017


8824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fair enough, just though I'd tell you.

Flugmorph
March 29th 2017


20788 Comments


dude your review game is strong af, more power to you!

Digging: La Dispute - Panorama

Evok
March 29th 2017


7671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just ordered the cd of this tho! Seriously one of my favorite album arts ever too



Thanks Flugh:]

y87arrow
May 26th 2018


248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to it right now for the first time. Only knew "Blumenkraft" so far. One of my favourite artists in psybient & dub.

I have albums of 13 psybient artists but it's still sometimes hard to believe that this kind of music exists and it seems like I can't discover enough of those.

Next will be Kaminanda - Gateways Of Consciousness.

Digging: In Strict Confidence - Love Kills!

CalculatingInfinity
May 26th 2018


8824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Get on Mir ASAP.

y87arrow
May 26th 2018


248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

At some point maybe.

Next albums will be the Kaminanda album and Tripswitch - Circuit Breaker.

I always try to not listen to too many different albums because it can get too much for me.



I rather concentrate on few new-heard albums for a few days or a week to let them unfold completely and to enjoy the atmosphere in them as long as possible.

y87arrow
June 2nd 2018


248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After multiple listens I can say I'm glad I checked Skylon out. I love what every single song does to my imagination.

I will have fun with this album for a long time.



There are times where I can't get enough of psybient / psychill and it is perfect against stress or when I feel extremely aggressive as it will calm me down and help me visiting other worlds and creatures in my mind.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy