Mount Eerie
A Crow Looked At Me


3.5
great

Review

by Coldplaz USER (11 Reviews)
March 22nd, 2017 | 48 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist


zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzz



Recent reviews by this author
The National Sleep Well BeastSteven Wilson To the Bone
Starsailor All This LifeLeprous Malina
Anathema The OptimistEverything Everything A Fever Dream
user ratings (529)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Tristan Jones STAFF (4)
Blinders...

Jonathan Ketz (4)
...

FreddieDelaney31 (5)
All poetry is dumb...


Comments:Add a Comment 
calmrose
March 22nd 2017


4018 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review's a mess, proofread before you submit as there are a lot of grammatical mistakes and awkward sentences throughout

Digging: Majority Rule - Interview With David Frost

FullOfSounds
March 22nd 2017


15764 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your thesis is very flawed as it basically just seems as a way to counter the hype. You don't seem to know what you're talking about, really. Needs a lot of work

Dedes
March 22nd 2017


6022 Comments


This wasn't terrible but you almost seemed bored writing the review, although you say you didn't like this much so I understand why. Definitely seems odd rating this a 3.5 when it seems like you really didn't enjoy it.

VaxXi
March 22nd 2017


4369 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You need to work on your punctuation hard.



'Another one of those albums on the latest hype train is "A Crow Looked at Me", the newest album by Mount Eerie, a solo project of singer/songwriter Phil Elverum, a former frontman of The Microphones, best known for The Glow Pt. 2, one of the most unique, atmospheric and unsettling indie albums of the 00's which was nothing like the recent influx of uninspired indie folk bands we are getting now.'



This in no way should be a single sentence.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2017


9127 Comments


i do get your point that there are a lot of people over-praising this album just because of the tragedy attached.. i didn't like it personally, but there's plenty to be said for doing things in good taste..

Digging: Geto Boys - The Geto Boys

Astral Abortis
March 22nd 2017


6736 Comments


Terrible review, and the whole concept around the review is pointless.

VaxXi
March 22nd 2017


4369 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"the lyrics just couldn't be more obvious about the subject and mostly just come out as sappy and melodramatic"

'As someone who is very young and never experienced deep personal loss I obviously can't fully relate to Elverum, but even I think these lyrics sound cheesy.'

Your review seems really dismissive about the fact that this album is about the sudden loss of Phil's wife and how hard it cut through him. It's fair if you don't think there is enough punch to the lyrics or they're too basic (even though the former statement is HIGHLY debatable) but to call this album "too sappy" looks like you actually don't know WHAT the album is about beyond "its about death, i guess". Also this is more of a minor pick, but when you say "even I think these lyrics are cheesy" it seems to imply that either a lot of people think the album is cheesy (spoiler: they don't) or that your a know all authority on folk lyrics (spoiler: just like the lot of us, you're not). It rubs off as self righteous in the worst way when you already sound like you don't actually know what the album is about.



I wont neg this review, but it is veeeeeery not good in concept and grammar.

AngryLittleAlchemist
March 23rd 2017


1999 Comments


This review is actual somewhat well written but it has an almost "im so smart" and even at times a depricating tone.of the readers reading it. You spend far too much time criticizing peoples enjoyment of the album than saying why that enjoyment is overblown.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 23rd 2017


39886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is bad

Dewinged
March 23rd 2017


12887 Comments


"Honestly, I haven't heard much from Elverum and I would probably not even review this album if not for the massive amount of acclaim it has received recently on various places,"

"As someone who is very young and never experienced deep personal loss"

You killed yourself here man.

Digging: Miserable - Loverboy / Dog Days

AsleepInTheBack
March 23rd 2017


5876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree with all the above, especially your lack of understanding of really what the album is about and what it is trying to accomplish, something vastly different from the likes of Sufjan et al (other than, of course, the common subject matter of death). If you carefully read some of the other reviews on the site your misstep should become clear, or one of Phil's interviews on the record: https://thecreativeindependent.com/people/phil-elverum-on-creating-art-from-grief/



anatelier
March 23rd 2017


2416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Beyond what's been said about this review's thesis, which actually raises a perfectly valid point as far as the pedestal classic-bait death albums are put upon, this review reads way too conversationally. You give all these examples of lyrics you consider clumsy without explaining why. You don't seem to understand context at all. Why would an album like this need to contain memorable melodies, for example? I would suggest proofreading your reviews so you avoid all of the run-on sentences, basic vocabulary, and tautology.

TumsFestival
March 23rd 2017


2457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Review fails.

Coldplaz
March 23rd 2017


70 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, I really didn't put much effort into this because this review was honestly very reactionary, I saw the absurdly high album rating on RYM so I decided to write a review in an hour and then copied it here.

I have written only a few reviews before and they were total shit and I thought I did a better one this time because I actually had something to say about the album.



@calmrose

I used spellcheck and re-read the review before posting it, but didn't think it was badly written.



@FullOfSounds

I'm far from a contrarian, I just didn't find the album that interesting.



@kingdedethefifth

@AngryLittleAlchemist

it's a good album, but I just had too high expectations considering the hype. Mainly considering I liked his old works better.



@VaxXi

My main problem with the album is that as I said, there is not much to the lyrics than mourning his wife, I could understand what Phil is feeling right now and he's obviously sad, but I found the lyrics sappy because they just seem forced, especially compared to other more subtle examples.

What would people honestly think about his if they didn't know the context? It's like when Blackstar ratings skyrocketed after Bowie died.



"even I think these lyrics are cheesy"

By that I meant that even though I am not the best to judge the lyrics due to never experiencing loss, I didn't think the lyrics were very touching. I guess I worded it badly.



And funnily some guy on RYM told me my review was well done which shows RYM has much lower reviewing standards.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2017


6676 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"What would people honestly think about his if they didn't know the context?"

they'd probably hear the songs and ask why Phil is singing as though his wife died

Veldin
March 23rd 2017


3688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

with an objectivity of 0%, this review should be banished to the nether-regions. Hear, hear

VaxXi
March 24th 2017


4369 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

'Well, I really didn't put much effort into this because this review was honestly very reactionary, I saw the absurdly high album rating on RYM so I decided to write a review in an hour and then copied it here.'



wew.

BrushedRed
March 24th 2017


2909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"As someone who is very young and never experienced deep personal loss"

Ummmmm.... So why you writing about telling someone not to fall for emotions?

It's okay to listen to this and think it doesn't stand up to the ratings it has due to how it sounds aesthetically to you. I mean if this had lots of instrumentation and odd time signatures like his music in the past has (especially with Microphones), I think this would sound very odd. It would be like putting a coffin on a tilt-a-whirl.

But this isn't really a jam out album. It's just personal, honest, and emotional. It's a great eulogy to his late wife and deserves the praise it has. I feel it will resonate with others as well. I think you're looking for something here that isn't here, and that's fine. But don't bring it down or try to act like emotions of others don't exist just because you've never experienced a loss.

brainmelter
March 25th 2017


6057 Comments


negged into oblivion, srry not srry you asked for it

Digging: Pretend - Bones In The Soil, Rust In The Oil

porcupinetheater
March 25th 2017


2667 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Call it a loss and delete this undercooked piece of congealed ideas.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy