Amorphis
An Evening with Friends at Huvila


3.8
excellent

Review

by manosg STAFF
March 19th, 2017 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A very enchanting evening with Amorphis.

There is something about early Amorphis that transports me back to my childhood and my mid-teen years when I was discovering their music through Tuonela. On the same package with their 1999 release, was the My Kantele EP which made me fall in love even more with the band but for some reason, I never managed to connect significantly with their post-Tuonela material. This makes An Evening with Friends at Huvila a challenging live album as all of its tracks, with the exception of “My Kantele”, come from Am Universum onwards.

Amorphis’ latest live release is in essence the first of two 1-hour sets performed at Huvila-teltta on August 27, 2016 for an arts festival. The second set consisted of Under the Red Cloud on its entirety, while the first one comprised of songs from Am Universum, Far from the Sun, Silent Waters, Skyforger and Cirlce.

Opening track “Enigma” sets the mood perfectly as we are treated with beautiful acoustic melodies which dominate almost the first half of the set. An emotional acoustic rendition of “Far from the Sun” follows, which is surprising due to its sheer presence on the setlist as it hasn’t been performed live by the band since 2005. This part of the album has an atmosphere that resembles more to that of a gathering of friends around a campfire, which essentially makes the music more personal. Amorphis are no longer a melodeath act but rather a band of bards. The use of instruments like the saxophone, the piano and the jouhikko (Finnish lyra) provide a sense of mystique and elegance which works perfectly on this acoustic setting.

After “My Kantele”, the band proceeds to the metal part of their performance by using “Silver Bride” as a link between the two parts of their set. “Sampo” and “Alone” work brilliantly together and are extended and enhanced by additional instrumental parts. However, since this is an evening with friends, they close their performance with a magical collaboration with Anneke van Giersbergen which is arguably the highlight of the LP as her voice is combined perfectly with Tomi’s and she gives a fresh breath of air to “Her Alone”.

The production is very fitting as each instrument can be heard clearly but it still feels like a live album. In addition, listening Tomi perform some mid-era Amorphis adds value to what is a very strong release which will probably satisfy even those who prefer the band’s first era.



Recent reviews by this author
Sorcerer The Crowning of the Fire KingPagan Altar The Room of Shadows
Paradise Lost MedusaIced Earth Incorruptible
Danzig Black Laden CrownDeep Purple inFinite

user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2017


10586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Been seriously binging on this one for the past 2-3 weeks so here's a quick write up to bring it to your attention.



Full concert on 360°: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9OHjIeo1uY&t=438s

"Her Alone" w/Anneke: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sufeGxjCuEg

Digging: Travelin Jack - Commencing Countdown

deslad
March 19th 2017


599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really great review manos, mind pos. Such a great live album this one, I really enjoyed the track with Anneke too.

Digging: Cat Stevens - Tea for the Tillerman

EvoHavok
March 19th 2017


7238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, nice, you reviewed this! Loved seeing mid-era songs sung by Tomi Joutsen and, of course, the duet with Anneke. Also, having a third of the album consist of Silent Waters is another big plus, considering it's my favourite Amorphis.

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2017


8452 Comments


why do all of their album covers look exactly the same

Digging: Fever Ray - Plunge

Flugmorph
March 19th 2017


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut? a new amorphis release i wasnt aware of? WUUUUUUUUUUUUUT?!?

Digging: Converge - The Dusk in Us

ZippaThaRippa
March 19th 2017


10289 Comments


The saxophonist really needed to shut the FUCK up on Sampo

Hawks
March 19th 2017


51911 Comments


Gotta jam this asap.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2017


10586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Glad you're enjoying this one des and Evo! More people should check it.

EvoHavok
March 20th 2017


7238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Arcade This is part of the Under the Red Cloud tour edition, but it can also be bought as a standalone on iTunes. Otherwise, I don't get your claim at all; they actually have some nice and distinctive artwork.

DungeonBoy
March 20th 2017


3221 Comments


Nice review man. I love old and new Amorphis, and will definitely check this out.

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2017


10586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks dude. I appreciate you checking my reviews!

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
March 21st 2017


5446 Comments


This really reminds me that I should listen to Amorphis at some point - a lot of catching up to do! Lovely review for a live, which are always tricky bastards to write about.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2017


10586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks Arch, yeah these bad boys are sometimes a bit tricky as you have to nitpick and distinguish extended versions of tracks, improvisations, etc.



But yeah, definitely check them, they really are worth your time. If you're into melodeath, Tales From the Thousand Lakes is a classic.

Flugmorph
March 21st 2017


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

their newer era > older stuff tho

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2017


10586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Depends Flug dude. To me their '90s material has a certain magic (and mayhem) that their newer stuff lacks. That doesn't mean that I don't enjoy greatly their latter albums but Tales and Elegy is where it's at for me.

DungeonBoy
March 21st 2017


3221 Comments


Heh, yeah my favorite is Elegy and then probably Red Cloud. Very different records.

Dewinged
March 21st 2017


6408 Comments


Same here, Elegy is just insane.

Nice write-up manosg, I'll have to check that 360º video after work.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2017


10586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Cheers Dewi. Remember to keep your expectations a bit low regarding the 360º video because it is little blurry.

Flugmorph
March 23rd 2017


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man this is totally magical. reminds me why i loved the band in the first place

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2017


10875 Comments


"why do all of their album covers look exactly the same"

I think it's legit the same art from Under... with the colours reversed

Great review Manosg, might have to spin this after all, haven't given these guys much of a chance actually.

Digging: Russkaja - Energia!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy