Giant
Song


5.0
classic

Review

by GhostOfSarcasticBtrd USER (8 Reviews)
March 17th, 2017 | 64 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An enormous release met with a whisper.

Marketing matters. GIANT apparently disagreed, dropping one of post-metal's finest pieces of work without so much as attempting to clue listeners in on its existence. As such, this incarnation of the band (later continuing as Braveyoung) came and went without building any remote following to speak of and a true standout was lost to the dark corners of the internet, buried like a chest of gems under the great sea. But what can one expect after happening upon their flagship album?

Fortunately, the effort expended in uncovering this five song, 50-odd minute behemoth proves endlessly rewarding. Kicking things off with "Stories", GIANT demonstrate an organic, raw, emotive sound reminiscent of the towering achievements from post-metal legends Isis or the similarly fantastic Rosetta. The tones are thick, crunchy, and sludgy, lending an impressive sense of scale and openness to the affair. The riffs are simplistic yet consistently engaging, perhaps best evidenced by the positively thunderous and crushing guitar section that roars in a third the way through the remarkable "Calvin." Vocals are predominantly sparse, possibly even more so than the genre's already instrumentally driven standard would suggest, but competently performed, visceral, and earnest wherever they do surface. That said, if you have any interest in learning the lyrical content a reference booklet is necessary, as they remain nearly indecipherable.

Pacing could well make or break the deal for many listeners, as each of the songs' long run times allow GIANT to be extraordinarily deliberate in painting their soundscapes. Those with shorter attention spans who demand immediate gratification and high velocity should consequently avoid this one, or at the least check their expectations at the door accordingly. Nevertheless, the slow and methodological approach provides an immense canvas on which these adept musicians can fully express and develop their talents, with a resultant lush, layered, and immersive experience that offers plentiful variety and diverse moods, often within the scope of a single track.

Despite being well too heavy for the general population, at its core this is a record that favors prettier and more contemplative passages over nonstop aggression, with a decided preference for beauty over brawn. The instruments shoulder the weight of these moments, and they deliver in spades, generating a sense of solace that truly uplifts and shelters. Too frequently bands find themselves detached and isolated from their audience, but these bits captivate and ensure a connectedness that elevates the whole above that of most its contemporaries.

Dig in, discovery has rarely been this indulging.



Recent reviews by this author
Florrie IntroductionBetzefer The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land
Hasan Hasan Goes CrazyDanny Brown Atrocity Exhibition
Spitfire Cult FictionClever Girl No Drum And Bass in the Jazz Room
user ratings (25)
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 17th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album stream will be track-by-track, but you can build a playlist from these so it's not that much harder.



Stories - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4oNxHAAYnI

Calvin - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JloiJJyFubc

The Red Opus - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkakmL0_lSE

Life for the Vultures - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icAFs1nFHaY

The Shallow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvpmE-XBED8

FullOfSounds
March 17th 2017


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review Bird. Will have to check this since the review sold it pretty well

Storm In A Teacup
March 17th 2017


26819 Comments


That first paragraph is my worst nightmare when I think of all the music I'll never hear and then I go on a binge trying to hear everything.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 17th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks FoS, if you dig post-metal this is basically guaranteed to get high marks from you.



And yeah Storm, these guys went to new lengths to NOT be heard. Like, incompetence to some previously unseen level.

FullOfSounds
March 17th 2017


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yup I kinda fell off the genre but I'm trying to get back into the swing of things and this'll help, thanks for the accessible stream.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 17th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No problem.



Felt compelled given those are like the only streams in known existence. Fucking idiots named their album "Song" when their band name was "Giant"... retards.

FullOfSounds
March 17th 2017


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

tried to be as descriptive as possible in my google search and still came up with nada useful results

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 17th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah when I told Zippa about it I remember it took him days to find a dl link somewhere.

grannypantys
March 18th 2017


2047 Comments


I could listen the The Shallow on a loop forever.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 19th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Every song here is great, but considering it's only got five you don't really get any throwaways.

EphemeralEternity
March 19th 2017


3238 Comments


I'll have to check this out
This is Well written but I pefer your reviews without words if I'm honesty

TheSpaceMan
March 19th 2017


12238 Comments


Was this Review Well Written? Yes

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 19th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You should try to get down with post-metal. The vocals might be infrequent enough to allow you to enjoy it.

FullOfSounds
March 19th 2017


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"This is Well written but I pefer your reviews without words if I'm honesty"

fucking love you dude

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 19th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Don't encourage him.

TheSpaceMan
March 19th 2017


12238 Comments


if you were talking to me, I've tried some post metal and it was good but nothing i fell for. idk i can give this a shot though

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 19th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was yeah, and my assumption is that you won't like the heaviness of the vocals so Stories might be a bad place to start as it's the most vocal dominant of the batch. Other songs almost seem like instrumentals till the vox kick in around 7 minutes in or similar.

ZippaThaRippa
March 19th 2017


10528 Comments


This band's downfall was their shitty name/album name
one-two punch combo of failure

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
March 19th 2017


6264 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

But like... they could have officially uploaded their music SOMEWHERE on their own. They did nothing. It's like the Paul Rudd scene in Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Gotta do more than that.



Musically fantastic tho.

ZippaThaRippa
March 19th 2017


10528 Comments


Yeah man this band clearly had no fucking idea how to market themselves



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy