Can't Swim
Fail You Again


4.0
excellent

Review

by 2X17 USER (6 Reviews)
March 10th, 2017 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rest assured, Can’t Swim won’t be failing anyone with their full length debut

The most noteworthy quality of Can’t Swim when stacked against other artists in the pop punk scene is how dark their sound and lyric sheet are. On their debut outing, the Death Deserves A Name EP, they constructed a dismal narrative following the aftermath of the mental breakdown and disappearance of the nameless protagonist’s significant other in an apartment. Topped off with a relatively uncommon emphasis on heavier, low-tuned bass lines, guitar work obscured by fuzz, and a metallic film over rough vocals. It was easily a far cry from the wide range of whiny voiced twenty-somethings bleeding out over middle school level vulnerabilities and real legit girl problems, yo. While far from excellence, being bogged down by a relatively weak songwriting hand and a few technical issues, it was an admirable effort from an act with more potential than the countless number of contemporaries taking refuge on the back pages of Bandcamp’s ‘best sellers’ tab.

The New Jersey quartet’s full length debut on the rapidly growing Pure Noise Records fine-tunes many of the hiccups that crippled their debut and slightly expands on them for a well rounded and focused full-length effort. Fail You Again, to the comfort of some, does quite a bit to separate itself from the confines of the genre’s inherent pop sensibilities. While they aren’t far removed, as the ‘in your face’ guitar work emphasizes a slick and catchy riff per track, they aren’t as forcibly pronounced or overdone. Can’t Swim put faith in a warm, melodic-heavy atmosphere created by their thick instrumental backing to contrast the off putting lyrical prowess regarding isolation and it pays off well. If anything, Can’t Swim feel right at home with the best of the 90s than they do alongside the modern day visage of the genre. While it isn’t free from issues, ss there are notable instances where the band’s hooks fall flat from their refusal to overindulge in their guitar work. Can’t Swim hit it out of the park with their debut record, offering a well pieced collection of emotionally heavy and engagingly warm songs while avoiding the obvious pitfalls done by so many others around them.



Recent reviews by this author
Gorillaz HumanzThe Chainsmokers Memories...Do Not Open
Bebe Rexha All Your FaultWhy? Moh Lhean
Infected Mushroom Return to the Sauce

user ratings (64)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
2X17
March 10th 2017


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spin: Hey Amy, Molly’s Desk, We Won’t Sleep

Stream: http://purenoise.bandcamp.com/album/fail-you-again



Not a lot to say about this album that wouldn't be "its solid" over and over again, so have a short review.

talktothehead
March 10th 2017


2620 Comments


" While it isn’t free from issues. As there are notable instances where the band’s hooks fall flat from their refusal to overindulge in their guitar work, Can’t Swim hit it out of the park with their debut record."

I think that the period was supposed to be a coma after issues?

Either way, great review. pos

Divaman
March 10th 2017


1522 Comments


Glad to see this one reviewed.

Digging: Best Ex - Ice Cream Antisocial

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2017


55354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

will check this out

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

McTime50
March 10th 2017


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been loving this since it went up for streaming a week ago

Digging: Hail the Sun - Secret Wars

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2017


19643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ooh im pumped for this album. good stuff

StickFeit
March 10th 2017


688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like this. I like the very much.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2017


55354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is better than the EP

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2017


19643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

EP was super solid tho damn

2X17
March 10th 2017


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked the EP but I felt like it had some massive issues beyond the first and final track, this album as a whole is a lot more solid if not as thematically engaging.

McTime50
March 10th 2017


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What's Your Big Idea? and Stranger are straight jams.

Nap
March 10th 2017


7 Comments


Sounds like a pop-punk None More Black

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 10th 2017


25033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

We Won't Sleep is such a jam

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

StickFeit
March 11th 2017


688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Stranger is such a jam" I know right

SnakeDelilah
March 11th 2017


19925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oooooh now i'm excited tbh

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

Soupy
March 11th 2017


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decent review, but I don't think this band has anything to do with pop-punk tbh.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2017


19643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

more emo imo but idk this is pretty pop punk as well

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2017


55354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2017


19643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but yeah about to listen to this on a train ride home. will let ya know what I think

CuddlyCaucasian
March 11th 2017


96 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like about half of this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy