Plini
Other Things


4.5
superb

Review

by smaugman USER (18 Reviews)
March 6th, 2017 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bedroom musician Plini puts out a mere 13 minute long EP, but it stands stout and delivers a strong and interesting performance.

Plini, an instrumental so-called "bedroom musician", released his first piece of music in 2012. "Moonflower" is the name of his first single. While being a good song itself, it's not really "Plini" in the sense of being instantly recogniseable, breezy "metal" that he's cherished for. Other Things, released in 2013, set the new standard of Plini, and laid the foundation of what Plini was to become in the future. What made his new music more interesting than "Moonflower" is the fact that it was a lot more diverse and experimental. I know it might be unfair to compare a two and a half minute song to a 13 minute EP, but I still feel that "Moonflower" followed the vein of other djenty musicians, while Other Things stood out as something unique in the stale world of progressive music.

If we look at the repertoire of Plini, he has put out only about 90 minutes of material in close to five years. While that may not seem like a lot, and it isn't that much either, but Plini has always prioritised quality over quantity, and that's why every single song he's thrown out there has been enjoyable.

"Other Things", 13 minutes and three songs, proves that bedrooms may be the perfect place to write creative and laid-back music. The EP is kind of split in two, where the first half (Heart and Other Things) focus more on his soothing, catchy side of songwriting. They change the pace and style of his music dramatically, and are very relaxing to listen to. "Heart" is a quite short, but very effective song. It blends soulful solos with fantastic riffs and acts as a perfect opener establishing that oh-so great airy music he plays. "Other Things" works in the same vein as "Heart" (no pun intended), but is more jazz-oriented, even featuring piano, giving it a distinctive smooth feel to it.

"Selenium Forest" on the other hand differs quite a lot from the first half of the EP. In a way it sounds like a rejuvenated and experimental Dream Theater song, just without the excess weight. Even though the intro is similar the two other songs, having that atmospheric touch to it, the majority of it shows Plini's metal side. The mystical nature of the track, combined wonderfully with a subtle keyboard undertone, creates a superb listening experience.

This EP is totally awesome, and you can get it for like 4 bucks on Plini's Bandcamp site. But yeah, the music, production and the general execution of the album makes me respect Plini a whole lot as a musician. His ability to be technically accomplished on the guitar, but not abuse his guitar and start wanking around like many prog acts is a huge plus in my book. Atmosphere/catchyness>technical wanking basically. Plini rules.



Recent reviews by this author
ABC The Lexicon of LoveErasure The Innocents
Plini / Sithu Aye IRusted Root Cruel Sun
Japan Gentlemen Take PolaroidsProcol Harum A Salty Dog
user ratings (233)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can't believe this shit didn't have a review after almost 4 years

AsleepInTheBack
March 6th 2017


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bit of unnecessary repetition in the review, but otherwise very well written, pos. Jamming now, you are bang on about the 'breezy' air of the music, reminds me a lot of some mathy emo acts like Clever Girl in aesthetic but built using different musical techniques. Digging it

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

any suggestions where i should cut a little bit? i feel i repeat myself a bit in 2nd and 3rd paragraph because there's not extremely much to fill

AsleepInTheBack
March 6th 2017


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you are right, a lot of para 3 reads like a more detailed version of the end of para 2, so the two could probably we reworked and merged. Because it really is only 13 minutes of music, dont be afraid to keep it short and sweet. Something like the following could neaten it, where the [] would involve extracting the essence of para 3 in a shortened form.



"The EP is essentially split in two. The first half (Heart and Other Things) focuses more on his soothing, catchy side of songwriting; [put the details of what this entails here]. By way of contrast, the second part consists of the magnificent "Selenium Forest", presenting a more rejuvinated and experimental Dream Theater approach; [put the details of what this entails here]"

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea, right. edited now

Madbutcher3
March 6th 2017


2321 Comments


either his best or 2nd best after sweet nothings. got less of the boring lifeless prog metal and more of the poppy fusion stuff

AsleepInTheBack
March 6th 2017


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice man, reads better now. Small spot: fixed.

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Plini hasn't made much of that lifeless prog metal

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2017


1438 Comments


Album art looks nice, the idea of laid back metal always appeals to me.

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the last track is the only stuff that's kinda metal on here really

HarryBoBerry
March 6th 2017


609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't realize this didn't have a review, thanks for the submission. And well done. I love this and Sweet Nothings, they still stand as his best work to me.

SteakByrnes
March 6th 2017


14763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Plini rules [2]



The End of Everything is the best of his 3 part series imo, but this was pretty sweet as well

Digging: Kurt Travis - There's a Place I Want to Take You

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

all three are very consistent, as is his entire catalog

SteakByrnes
March 6th 2017


14763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True, he's been very consistent

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

too bad he releases so little music :/

Madbutcher3
March 6th 2017


2321 Comments


nah i think the newer stuff is weaker and deviates from the template employed here: catchy prog-pop with fusion leads around the place. new album has more of a metal edge which doesn't really work in my eyes, kinda because by having the metallic rhythm guitar it loses the kinda meandering, relaxed feel of this/sweet nothings. not to say the metal stuff never has its place in his work because it sometimes is pretty effective like in the title track of the new album but elsewhere it feels staler than the rest of his sound to my ears

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really? i disagree hard

SteakByrnes
March 6th 2017


14763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think the addition of more metal elements is what made The End of Everything so good. The pop stuff is great, but when he really gets going with the distorted backbone it sounds so menacing and beautiful at the same time.

smaugman
March 6th 2017


4978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i don't think metal is strongly present on handmade cities, it's rather well done

Madbutcher3
March 6th 2017


2321 Comments


fair enough, my favorite track from that album was Every Piece Matters which is probably the least metallic track on there

if i had to put it on any one factor it's that the metal aspect kills the kinda intimate feeling of this ep especially. also i generally like metal to be more riff oriented which is somewhat antithetical to the general feel of this artist



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy