2814
新しい日の誕生


5.0
classic

Review

by Snide USER (30 Reviews)
March 2nd, 2017 | 172 replies


Release Date: 01/21/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 私たちは夜です

Get in the car, we have a lot to discuss. Would you like a cigarette" I didn’t think you would, the trials of life have yet to jade you to that point of self-denial. As we start up the engine, I want you to close your eyes, and realize that you are a human being; your feet are firmly rooted to this earth, to the soil beneath us, to the paved concrete above the dirty, and to the floor of the vehicle you’re now trying to realize you’re attached to. I’m going to put in this cassette, and I want you to tune the world out. Focus on your core, let me be the one to inhale death.

Do you feel the lights of the city" Do you feel the waves of decadent synth pads wash over you like the cooling touch of your lover’s hand; you’ve felt love before right" I’m not talking about the whims of physical love, or emotional love; I’m talking about the craft of endurance in love. Nights where the only thing keeping your head from spurting out like a stabbed can is your lover holding your head to her chest to shut out the world. This album is moments like that; little bells chime behind the airy white noise, like the static of your unthinking mind. I want you to open your eyes for me, look around you. Do you see those neon signs, and the few people still out this late walking on the sidewalk" Those are just factors in our overall existence; this album is something that can serve as the backdrop for your own personal realizations. Subdued bongo drums, layered background vocals, and haunting wind stabs compliment the organ playing and keyboard flourishes; musical descriptions about each of the individual sounds couldn’t give proper justice to the amalgamated effect of their luster on the ears, and as a total, complete listen.

I’m glad you decided to refuse that cigarette; maybe this album will be a backdrop to happier moments for you. A broken man often distracts himself from his own existence with the very concept of fixing what can’t be fixed. That’s the problem with most people that are shattered, instead of making due with what we have, we spend the remainder of our eternity trying to fix what simply can’t be fixed. Do you remember the first time your father told you he was proud of you, or the first time your mother told you you’d grow up to be a kind and caring person" Their combined paths, their trials and tribulations led to your creation, you’re just one of the many directions in life they could have taken. That’s the thing with this album though; there is no direction, and it doesn’t require one. It just exists, ethereal and flowing through your ears like the subtle echoed piano cascading down in the mix like a waterfall of silk. It doesn’t need a point, it doesn’t need a reason, it just is.

I’m glad you took this time to come talk to me, it’s always nice to reconnect with someone from the past. Here, I want you to take the cassette for yourself. There’s a time in life where you might need it even more than I did. When that time comes, I want you to feel that same tranquility that I felt. Look through the panic, heat, and driving anguish, just focus on the noise; that’s right, just the noise, just let yourself float, and exist for a moment. Let yourself be at peace.



Recent reviews by this author
Onision OnisionDead by April Worlds Collide
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 14 in C# minor, Op. 27Soundtrack (Film) Transformers - Age of Extinction
Jeffree Star Cupcakes Taste Like ViolenceDanny Worsnop The Long Road Home
user ratings (188)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Stream - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9L4q-0Pi4E

What a beautiful album. Decided to do a concept review for it; I felt that it fit the album well, and would be a nice change of pace.

talktothehead
March 2nd 2017


2620 Comments


is this the album you were set to review by fripp???

EphemeralEternity
March 2nd 2017


3232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bit bombastic as expected esp with it being a concept review and you probably could've developed the narrative little more but overall a loverly review for a loverly album.

I think the format suits this better than a standard deconstruction of the elements too so yeah have a pos.

Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@talk: I don't think so? I've known about this album for a while, and I've wanted to review it for a while.

@Ephemeral: Thanks! I was thinking of developing it a little more, but everything that I kept writing to further it just ended up sounding a little repetitive and for something like this I didn't want it to plod on, I wanted it to seem like (as in the concept of the review) it's a pleasant existence.

TheSpaceMan
March 2nd 2017


11911 Comments


i would have accepted the smoke tbh

Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"I would have accepted the smoke tbh"

Would have depended on my mood whether I would have accepted it or not.

EphemeralEternity
March 2nd 2017


3232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah dude you would look v sophisticated lighting one up whilst cruising the streets of tokyo at night , in fact i prolly would've bought a pack myself.

Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I thought about just ditching the US and attempting to apply for Japanese citizenship for many years, to start a new life.

Unfortunately, I don't think it would exactly be the best fit for me as much as I love the place.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2017


14238 Comments


dumb review

Digging: Protomartyr - Relatives In Descent

Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Damn Mort, I don't think you've enjoyed a single one of my reviews lol.

Why do you feel it's dumb?

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2017


14238 Comments


Its just very you snide. trying to be really deep and meaningful through overt imagery rather than just getting the point across simply and solidly. a lot of this just comes off as contrived and pretentious to me

talktothehead
March 2nd 2017


2620 Comments


Damn harsh

Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

See that's the concept though Mort; there is no point, this album has no point, it just exists, it's a beautiful, wonderful existence. Something simple wouldn't do the album justice, a brass tacks breakdown of only the musical elements just feels out of place here.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2017


14238 Comments


you missed my point entirely. did i say this album has no point? i dont know what your point throughout most of this. i never said to do a brass tax (and i think you mean "tacks") breakdown. just dont try so hard to be flowery.

"Focus on your core, let me be the one to inhale death." - what?

"I’m glad you decided to refuse that cigarette; maybe this album will be a backdrop to happier moments for you. A broken man often distracts himself from his own existence with the very concept of fixing what can’t be fixed. That’s the problem with most people that are shattered, instead of making due with what we have, we spend the remainder of our eternity trying to fix what simply can’t be fixed. Do you remember the first time your father told you he was proud of you, or the first time your mother told you you’d grow up to be a kind and caring person?"

pseudo deep philosophical trash


Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"you missed my point entirely. did i say this album has no point? i dont know what your point throughout most of this. i never said to do a brass tax (and i think you mean "tacks") breakdown. just dont try so hard to be flowery."

I did mean to put "tacks", thanks for catching that. My review wasn't meant to have a point either, that's what I'm trying to convey to you here. It's like the album, it just exists. It's purpose is to help create "flowery" imagery without the usual progression usually utilized in a review. I do see the point you're trying to say though, I just think we have stylistic differences in that regard.

"what?"

The point behind that line was the narrator was transferring the burdens to himself, so that the listener could focus in and forget his own existence. It was a metaphor, of which the cigarette was the catalyst for.

"pseudo deep philosophical trash"

I thought it was a nice little concept in that part but to each his own I guess.

tempest--
March 2nd 2017


20632 Comments


I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate

EphemeralEternity
March 2nd 2017


3232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Mort

you could argue that but isn't that the essence of a concept review like this? Removing the turgid language/constrained rhetorical dialogue would cut this down to about a paragraph and totally defeat the purpose.

I think it focuses on the music as much as any concept review should although the concept itself is a bit tenuous.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2017


14238 Comments


"it's purpose is to help create "flowery" imagery without the usual progression usually utilized in a review"

so what youre saying is it does have a point? this is what im trying to get at. you could have created the flowery imagery a lot better in my opinion.

"The point behind that line was the narrator was transferring the burdens to himself, so that the listener could focus in and forget his own existence" - i dont think it conveys that very well

fair enough tho. just think you went a bit too far with the concept and it sorta fell down

Snide
March 2nd 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"so what youre saying is it does have a point? this is what im trying to get at. you could have created the flowery imagery a lot better in my opinion."

Fair enough, I can see that. I guess its point would be creating something that allows the listener / reader to not have to think, the point to remove points I suppose if that makes sense.

"I don't think it conveys that very well, fair enough tho. just think you went a bit too far with the concept and it sorta fell down."

No worries! All the critique helps me grow as a writer, this is also the first time I've tried a concept review of the "introspective" variety.

EphemeralEternity
March 2nd 2017


3232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah there is something very alluring about Asian/oriental culture but I know realistically Id find it fucking difficult to acculturate and probably be on a plane home in a few weeks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy