Super Snake
Leap of Love


4.5
superb

Review

by Storm In A Teacup USER (106 Reviews)
February 28th, 2017 | 59 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Trophy Scars two point Black Sabbath

After a couple of Super Snake EPs that were made when Trophy Scars wasn't sorely missed, here comes their first full length album, which is also Jerry Jones' comeback, but he's not alone. Aside from the notable figure that surrounds this album, an important aspect is this piece of art was made entirely in a "haunted" cabin. Those familiar with Trophy Scars will recognize Jerry's trademark Tom Waits vibe through emotional and harsh performances , but this is not a solo act or a Trophy Scars rehash.

Leap Of Love is enrapturing, encapsulating you in grooves and melodies that can harken back past decades with ease, throwing your spirit to past centuries. If Tony Iommi didn't inspire guitarist Pete August then Nickelback isn't hated. The riffs and melodies harken back to the best of Black Sabbath Vol 4 and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath throughout the entire album. If you have seen the Banner in concert you may have seen Pete perform as he is their touring guitarist. Pete's energy shines bright here and while Jerry Jones positively compliments Pete, this album is unmistakably about guitar driven songs no matter what direction Leap Of Love goes in.

And Super Snake does go for the brass ring with twelve songs that total just over an hour. The energy that is brought at times feels like a party that Every Time I Die (or maybe the Damned Things) would go to, but a majority caters to a pothead's Jimi Hendrix guitar ripping bong session. The song "Spirit Cave" strongly resembles the band King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard before breaking down in guttural yelling to end the song. That's the greatest thing about Super Snake though because every song they make reminds you of something awesome while managing to still own a unique badass identity.

The most important thing about Leap Of Love is chemistry. As the album progresses it seems that Jerrys' vocals meld more and more into the instrumentation and there is a cohesion formed that all musicians crave and love. Just as it has become clear Jerry has melded with the guitar he begins to perform with more emotion than he displays on the first half of the album. All this does is add more textures that the bass and guitar take full advantage of with no duds to fuss about.

Trophy Scars fans, welcome to your new favorite album.

Stoner psychedelic rock/doom fans, guitar enthusiasts, say hello to Pete August, your newest favorite guitarist.

It's not that far of a leap for something so easy to love.



Recent reviews by this author
Hopesfall A TypesHopesfall Arbiter
Senses Fail From the Depths of DreamsZ-Ro Cocaine
Emery The Weak's EndPapa Roach Old Friends From Young Years
user ratings (57)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Seanisdead (5)
Hypnotically fun psychedelia for those who like it dangerous....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
February 28th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is a very inspiring album. hopefully this will turn some eyes on them. let me know if there's any grammar issues or something that didn't make sense and i'll be happy to clear it up! who else has heard this?



https://supersnakerock.bandcamp.com/

Crawl
February 28th 2017


2614 Comments


Thanks for reviewing this, the album is the tits.

Storm In A Teacup
February 28th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

welcome. I am curious if a lot of trophy scars fans even know about this? maybe if the review can get a feature then my summary remark would attract their attention to this album.

Storm In A Teacup
February 28th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well this doesn't seem right....I would have thought sputnik would fawn over a Trophy Scars related album



=[

Crawl
February 28th 2017


2614 Comments


Yeah, gotta say I'm surprised as well. At least 80℅ of TS fans should dig this.

wham49
February 28th 2017


4887 Comments


will check Storm, looks like it is right up my alley

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2017


16354 Comments


Since sput is 87% metal heads now you should've emphasized the black sabbath similarity lol

Digging: Crimeapple - Viridi Panem

Storm In A Teacup
February 28th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can do that.

rockandmetaljunkie
February 28th 2017


8453 Comments


album is on my check list

Storm In A Teacup
February 28th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

from your ratings I think you would like almost all the things this album brings except I can't tell from your ratings if you would like the vocals or not, but you might

rockandmetaljunkie
February 28th 2017


8453 Comments


i'm always interested in new-coming stoned dudes rehearsing Master of Reality :P

this will prob be right up my alley

Storm In A Teacup
February 28th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

it's a good time man



was "newest favorite guitarist" right or should it have been "new favorite guitarist"?

Storm In A Teacup
March 1st 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

tried to edit this some more to make it read better. hopefully I can develop a good writing sense and style soon with enough practice

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2017


16958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jammed this the other day. never heard Trophy Scars before and this didn't really clicked much with me on first listen. I will give it another shot anyway, because you know, Black Sabbath (:

Digging: The Stargazer Lilies - Occabot

twlichty
March 1st 2017


4175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review man. This album is great. I just can't help but compare it to Trophy scars.

Comatorium.
March 1st 2017


4877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Album is god damn fucking fantastic. There's a song that has a riff that sounds right out of hours era Bowie. So much to love here.

Storm In A Teacup
March 1st 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks, twlichty!



I know, coma, there's so much to devour. i'm gonna need to listen to this album at least ten more times this year.

Comatorium.
March 1st 2017


4877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

GUYS. CHECK OUT THE TROPHY SCARS FACEBOOK.

Storm In A Teacup
March 1st 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh shit?

Seanisdead
March 2nd 2017


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I love this record too! Although I only caught slight glimpses of TS in Jones' vox and I do believe Joe Laga and Jesse Mariani were equally responsible for guitars as much as Pete from what I read in interviews (see their social media). They described as a totally collaborative effort. Anyway, great review dude! I think I'm gonna drop one too - I dig it so much!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy