Crying
Beyond The Fleeting Gales


4.5
superb

Review

by No000Comment USER (9 Reviews)
February 28th, 2017 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Listener beware: this album is amazing.

Until I heard this record, I was struggling to find any new artists I had never heard of, who also have a unique sound and style. In comes Crying, a band from Purchase, NY. I had never heard any of their music until their LP Beyond the Fleeting Gales. From my understanding, they had much more of a chiptune/rock sound on their previous releases. I applaud the stylistic shift they have made on their latest record, as they have really refined their sound into something that is so refreshing. The best aspect of this album is how wide of an appeal it has. People can enjoy it for being a fun and upbeat record, and can appreciate how different it sounds from most contemporary “upbeat” pop songs they hear on the radio.


On BTFG, Crying have mixed aspects of low-fi production, synth-pop, and progressive and pop rock. There are more influences found, but for the most part these are the main styles you can generally hear. Some songs have a bit more of a rock edge to them, such as “Premonitory Dream,” “Revive,” and “Patriot,” with their distorted guitar riffs and punchy choruses. They also have moments where the synths take more of a front seat and have a poppier sound, like in “Wool in the Wash” and “Children of the Wind.” In the rest of the songs, they incorporate aspects of both different sounds in without a real dominating style. The group does a fantastic job of meshing the two styles so smoothly, and the low-fi production gives it such a unique garage-esque sound. I genuinely have a hard time finding any real aspects of their sound that didn’t sit well with me throughout the album. From the ethereal and atmospheric “Well and Spring” to the progressive, fun and upbeat “Origin,” The mixing and instrumentation is so well executed that everything shines through and adds so much texture to these tracks. The only thing that could remotely be a complaint, is that sometimes, such as in the chorus and birdge of “There was a Door,” the different synths and guitars got somewhat muddled because of how much is going on at once, but I don’t think it is really annoying or holds any of the songs back at all.


The only place that holds the album back at all really is the songwriting in a few of the later songs, “Children of the Wind” and “The Curve” specifically. The former is one of my favorite songs on the album, but I can see how a listener might find it boring and repetitive, as it is does have a ballad-typical structure and not as much going on as the rest of the album’s tracks. “The Curve,” on the other hand, has a funny little 80’s rock riff opening, and is trying to be a “big finish” closing song, but apart from the riff, it really just sounds like more of what we heard earlier on the album, and doesn’t bring much to the table to make it a cool closer. Not that either of these songs are bad, they just hold it back as a whole from being a 5.


If you haven’t given this a listen, I highly recommend you do, no matter what kind of music you enjoy.



Recent reviews by this author
Joey Badass ALL-AMERIKKKAN BADA$$Teenage Wrist Dazed
The Struts Everybody WantsFive For Fighting Battle for Everything
Sugar Ray 14:59Trapt DNA
user ratings (99)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
No000Comment
February 28th 2017


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Surprised no one had reviewed this record. It is probably my favorite of 2016.

AsleepInTheBack
February 28th 2017


5122 Comments


Not a bad review. The summery feels a little generic though. Also, there are a few little errors throughout:

"Until I heard this record, I was struggling to find any new artists I had never heard of, who also have a unique sound and style." - tense shift which reads a but clunky

"The mixing" - the 'The' shouldn't be capitalised

Generally it reads a little bloated, like you could have got your message across more succinctly:
e.g. lots of the first para is fluff; the essence of your point is 'they are versatile, somewhat unique, evolving their sound, and widely appealing / accessible', which you could probably get across in a couple of sentences. The bulk of the second and third sentences are redundant and don't say much.
e.g.2 "There are more influences found, but for the most part these are the main styles you can generally hear." - could be removed, replaced by adding ", amongst other less prominent styles" to the sentence before it.
e.g.3 "I genuinely have a hard time finding any real aspects of their sound that didn’t sit well with me throughout the album." "The former is one of my favorite songs on the album" - also don't add much, and could be argued to be too casual and gushing

Also, you could have switched up a few words, "cool" not being the best word choice.

I'm being quite picky; there is lots of potential here and the core of your review is very strong, could really just have done with a bit of trimming and neatening. Hope this doesn't come across as harsh and that you take it with a pinch of salt

elliootsmeuth
February 28th 2017


3362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My mom accidentally got this on vinyl for me. Don't know how.

zaruyache
February 28th 2017


17919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

she has good taste

Shattered_Future
February 28th 2017


1556 Comments


The drummer's a real douche.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2017


19702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey props for reviewing this album def needed one. I'm more of a fan of their EPs though

jtswope
February 28th 2017


5656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Premonitory Dream goes hard. This whole album is so infectious.

TVC15
February 28th 2017


8815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hell yeah this finally has a review

Digging: Yung Lean - Stranger

AdolfChrist
March 22nd 2017


13031 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this'll be a good summer album. was not expecting a band called Crying to sound like this at all, i thought they were going to be an emo band.

Digging: Palehorse/Palerider - Burial Songs

instantradical
March 24th 2017


286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This didn't make much of an impression at first, but the more I listen, the more I like it.



The Curve is actually probably my favorite song on the album, it's got some of the strongest melodies on the record.

FullOfSounds
March 27th 2017


15578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is awesome, exactly what i need after having an equally awesome night

AdolfChrist
March 27th 2017


13031 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Theyve got a pretty original sound, i cant think of anything else that sounds like this.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
March 27th 2017


19702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gonna relisten rn

TVC15
March 27th 2017


8815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Awesome album

jtswope
March 29th 2017


5656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

AGREED

elliootsmeuth
April 5th 2017


3362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally got around to listening to this and its real fun listen. Actually pretty glad my mom got it for me on accident lol.

SnakeDelilah
April 5th 2017


19929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what is your mom doing on the official run for cover records online store?

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

SnakeDelilah
April 5th 2017


19929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

look like a bunch of vulcan cult followers tbh

elliootsmeuth
April 5th 2017


3362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I sent her links from discogs to order stuff from christmas and one of the links must've gotten typed in wrong. Or maybe the guy who shipped it switched up the records.

SnakeDelilah
April 5th 2017


19929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do they not have star trek in sweden? lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy