Benighted
Necrobreed


4.0
excellent

Review

by Zach USER (90 Reviews)
February 19th, 2017 | 60 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Organized chaos.

There's something so satisfying in the maniacal. People are fascinated with slaughter films, they are fascinated with taxidermy, hell some people are even interested in having collections of skulls and animal bones. It's really hard to say what drives such a morbid curiosity, which leads me to Benighted. For those who don't know, Benighted is a brutal death metal/grindcore band from Saint-Etienne, France. Benighted has always been renowned for a frenzied style of absolutely punishing death metal, only further amplified by some rather uncomfortable samples and some very psychotic lyrical themes. In fact, this is the story of "Necrobreed"-a schizophrenic stitches dead animals to their abdomen in a ritual to "give birth" and build his own morbid family (actual words from vocalist Julien Truchan). Julien is ardent in his attempts at manifesting the most devious fucked up stuff the human mind will allow, and here he certainly does not falter. Is any of this because he works at a mental institution and his daily life revolves around this" Most likely.

Everything Benighted does off this album is absolutely ridiculous in the best way possible. From the tormented shriek opening "Reptilian" to the gang shouts off of "Psychosilencer", the album builds piece by piece upon it's own ugly, deviant form. It's well known that Julien has an expansive range of vocal styles, and Necrobreed really only adds to his impressive repertoire of inhuman sounds. From the most ferocious gutturals to the most blood curdling shrieks, it leads one to wonder whether there is any form of extreme vocals Julien cannot pull off with such constant power. Further coupling this are the disturbing samples. This is what somewhat polarized me. I understand they're building the concept, but I personally get really put off when I hear the sounds of a dog being slaughtered off of "Forgive Me Father". On the flip side, this pushes the envelope further into the realms of horror and madness, and considering the story, is this really that inappropriate" Off this album, Benighted has no qualms about petrifying the listener at points. This album is a descent into madness right to its core.

Even without knowledge of the story this album is still extreme enjoyable. The guitar work is incredibly proficient, never mindless flaunting but always resplendent with some pulverizing riffs. Take the track "Leatherface" for example. It's chaotic, it's thick and heavy, and really just what you want out of a truly brutal record. This is enhanced by some truly ridiculous drum patterns and fills, which change almost constantly while avoiding any level of unnecessary drum bashing. The patterns compliment the music instead of completely stealing the show. This is truly impressive considering how easy it is for their to be a power struggle between instruments off an album of this nature. This album may be tumultuous but it's far from being a disappointing mess. This is organized chaos.

If there were a qualm about this album aside from the dog sample, it would be the pornogrind gurgles off of "Leatherface". It's only in this moment where it feels like Benighted crosses musical boundaries in the wrong way. Otherwise this album is excellent if you define excellent as an album that induces the need to destroy all in sight. Is it for critics of overly bombastic brutality for the sake of being heavy" Of course not. For those looking for the best pig squeals on the face of the earth" Of course.



Recent reviews by this author
Cryptopsy The Book of Suffering - Tome IISargeist Unbound
Black Tongue Born HangedBlack Tongue Nadir
Whitney Light Upon the LakeYugen Blakrok Return of the Astro​-​Goth
user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
February 19th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Hope this was a well done review. Please make suggestions if you have any. Wasn't too sure if language use comes across as unprofessional if used scarcely.

Confessed2005
February 19th 2017


4518 Comments


Good review. Never heard anything by these guys but tempted to check them out after reading this.

Dedes
February 19th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah dude, definitely go for it whenever you can. They aren't everyones thing because they are pretty ridiculous sound wise and concept wise.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2017


11619 Comments


Good review man. Album is pretty cool, though I join you in being pretty uncomfortable with that dog sample. Sours the experience for sure. Only thing I'd suggest with the review is do a proof read next time before you post, there's a lot of really tiny mistakes here and there that can be fixed so easily:

"they are fascination with taxidermy" - *fascinated/have a fascination
"a schizophrenic stitches" - schizophrenic *that*/*who* stitches...

"Wasn't too sure if language use comes across as unprofessional if used scarcely" - it does, mostly because of how you used it with the two words so close together. Also if you edit the review you can remove the asterisks and that helps it some across more seriously too. The way the site 'fixes' it makes it read like a child saying a naughty word.

"and is daily life" *his
"Benighted as now qualms" - *has *no
"This album is may be" * remove 'is'
"Otherwise this album this album excellent" - *otherwise this album is excellent

Digging: Dekagram - May Flights Of Devils Guide

Dedes
February 19th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Lord I really missed a lot of small mistakes, I actually read through and missed all of that.

Dedes
February 19th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Lol I suck at proofreading

BigPleb
February 19th 2017


55862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad to see this is a step up from Carnivore.

Digging: Azusa - Heavy Yoke

Dedes
February 19th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, Carnivore was certainly a decent album but pretty disappointing considering how much of a roll Benighted had going.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2017


11619 Comments


The artwork has 3 and a half times more nipple on the cover than Carnivore that's gotta be a sign of quality

zaruyache
February 19th 2017


19961 Comments


"dog sample"

thanks, never ever gonna check this album.

Digging: Black Funeral - Empire of Blood

Dedes
February 19th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Honestly just skip the track. It's really a damn good album, it's just that track alone that takes things a bit too far.

BigPleb
February 19th 2017


55862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Forgive Me Father is a badass track tho aha.0

Dedes
February 19th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Lol yeah the track in itself is amazing but I was just saying if the dog getting killed really bothers you that much just skip it, hell it's only like 5 seconds long.

BigPleb
February 19th 2017


55862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That Arnie sample on Leatherface is awesome haha.



This is already better than Carnivore after 4 tracks, rips so hard.

YuriZakhaev
February 20th 2017


442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like how each section of the review gets shorter and shorter; comforts me for some reason.



Also, this album fucking rips on an entirely new level for Benighted tbh. The groovy sections make me spaz the hell out.

Hawks
February 20th 2017


63931 Comments


Been meaning to get into this band. Def gonna jam this.

Digging: Funeral - In Fields of Pestilent Grief

Ebola
February 20th 2017


3429 Comments


Album is very good, though the pig squeals and samples can get kind of obnoxious after a while. Solid 3.5-4

EliteTaste
February 20th 2017


1067 Comments


bad band tbh

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2017


2635 Comments


oh hi man, didn't think i'd see you here on another metal post

Dedes
February 20th 2017


6022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's a well known fact that sach doesn't actually like music more so then acknowledge its existence lol. Also yeah Ebola I feel you on the pig squeals but imo this is the only band who does a good job with them.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy