Aeternam
Ruins of Empires


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale USER (3 Reviews)
February 18th, 2017 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A diverse and engaging album, one of metal’s best in the young year 2017

Aeternam is a band hailing from Quebec, Canada, formed in 2007. Ruins Of Empires is their third album. The band plays death metal in a more melodic style, with influences and a lyrical focus on Middle Eastern and Mesopotamian themes. While this brand of metal is not unique, Aeternam’s take is far from generic. The band’s ability to expand and transform the formula has resulted here in one of the best metal albums of the year thus far.

In terms of genre, melodic death metal is certainly the primary building block on which this album is constructed. However, diverse influences abound and produce a much more exciting result. Aeternam incorporates substantial symphonic elements, as well as Middle Eastern folk and a number of progressive song structures. The results lead to an epic feel, which when coupled with the heavy riffs which reliably populate most of these songs, give the album a cohesive sound which approaches brilliance.

Each one of the album’s nine songs bring merit to Ruins Of Empires. Several stand out, however. Opening track “Damascus Gate” represents the album at its most catchy and melodic. “The Keeper Of Shangri-La” meanwhile emphasizes the folky undertones of the band and album. Album midpoint “Fallen Is The Simulacrum Of Bel” may be the best song of all, encapsulating the fusion of diverse influences which make Ruins Of Empires great. Finally, closing track “Zadyin Arga” ends the album on a worthy high note, as a progressive track which includes one of the album’s more substantial uses of clean vocals.

In the end, Aeternam is a band that has primarily flown under the radar throughout its career, but with this strong release they deserve wider recognition. Ruins Of Empires is a consistent and satisfying journey, and a must listen for anyone with any interest in the more melodic strains of death metal. Inquisitive music fans of all stripes may likely find something to appreciate from it as well.


user ratings (48)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
February 18th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably not my finest or most in-depth review, but this album rules and I figured it needed one.

Asmodeuss1990
February 18th 2017


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Pos'd. I'd say this was a pretty decent review though and this album deserved at least one. Aeternam is a pretty great band but as you've said, hardly anyone knows them.

Sunnyvale
February 18th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, appreciate it.

Hawks
February 19th 2017


51983 Comments


This sounds really cool.

Digging: Gamma Ray - Land of the Free

Sunnyvale
February 19th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is, in my humble opinion. Check it out!

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2017


1815 Comments


love this record

TheNotrap
February 19th 2017


8633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is very good, as expected.



Digging: Sorcerer - The Crowning of the Fire King

Dewinged
February 19th 2017


6477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This looks like smth I will dig. Good review Sunny, pos'd.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Tower

Sunnyvale
February 19th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, @Dewinged. Glad this album's getting some recognition.

south_of_heaven 11
February 19th 2017


5494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this.



The Keeper of Shangri-La ftw

Digging: RAM - Rod

Sunnyvale
February 19th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

m/



That one is a jam.

kingdedethefifth
February 19th 2017


4263 Comments


Good review man, although in my honest opinion it felt like it could've been expanded a bit more, however the review is good enough for the album to have my interest, so pos.

Sunnyvale
February 19th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, check it out! And yes, certainly this wasn't my most expansive review, but hopefully I did the album justice.

Dunpeal
February 19th 2017


4164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad it got a review. deserves it. sweet album

Sunnyvale
February 19th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What are favorite tracks at this point? Curious what everyone thinks. Zadyin Arga might be my favorite at the moment.

Evokaphile
February 19th 2017


5933 Comments


Was intrigued until I saw the melodeath tag. Still might check it out tho. Good review

Digging: Slowdive - Slowdive

Sunnyvale
February 19th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, @Evokaphile. I would consider it melodic death metal, but probably still worth checking out even if that's not your thing. It's a got a sound that's much more than just melodeath, and it's well done.

Evokaphile
February 19th 2017


5933 Comments


hmm word. As long as its not like idk.. DT or ATG worship I can probably dig it.

kingdedethefifth
February 19th 2017


4263 Comments


There's some pretty amazing melodic death bands out there almost definitely, namely bands like Be'Lakor and Omnium Gatherum. For something a bit more symphonic there's Mors Principium Est who I recently got into. I get for a number of people it's just not their cup of tea however.


Sunnyvale
February 19th 2017


706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I wouldn't say this is overly close to either of those, especially At The Gates. But yes, I second that Be'lakor rules.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy