Sweet Trip
You Will Never Know Why


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpaceMan USER (37 Reviews)
February 12th, 2017 | 60 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: V : D : C Patch Notes v2.1.0

In effort to avoid releasing part two of a cult classic, Sweet Trip manage an appropriate progression - - or more accurately, deconstruction - - of their unique sound. You Will Never Know Why makes a stride forward with the act of stepping backwards. Baggage is shed by retracing steps, material lost with sentiment retained. Whether or not the true meat of what they had offered previously was to your tastes will determine your appreciation of this album. While a great deal of those who've heard Velocity : Design : Comfort absolutely adore it, its safe to assume a few may have fallen for the album's tricks, or perhaps some were cautious enough to realize they only enjoyed the icing and not the cake. It's these groups that will have complaints going into the band's third album. Too cryptic" In an unrequested update, Sweet Trip patch the glitches abundant on their penultimate version with You Will Never Know Why, loosing some of their old strengths in favor of sincerity.

Being familiar with their their sophomore album may leave you wondering where the novelty went. Nearly removed are the glitchinesss and IDM exploits you'd be accustomed to on V : D : C, and their absence is filled by decompressing what they once suffocated. Perhaps the aim was to offer the world the root of their sound; to shed all gimmick in order to expose their naked form. If we assume Sweet Trip the benefit of self-awareness, its a ballsy move to cut ties with what puppeteered a dream pop band into a contortionist act. But there's sincerity in that move, and its translated effectively. You Will Never Know Why is an astonishingly leveled pop album. Shyness is replaced by extreme confidence, with the instrumentals as forefront as possible. The addition of a permanent drummer and a focus on the bass guitar (which opens the album) provides an emphasis on rhythm that was no where near as prominent previously. This plays into the band's strength of harpooning vocal sections straight through powerful chord progressions. The fluid electronic elements that were spared the fate of their brethren exist only to seal the cracks and grease up the album, and successfully avoid stealing the show. Coupled with organized and familiar song structuring, there's absolutely no moment of inaccessibility. The result is a comforting package of music that ultimately sacrifices the ambition and uniqueness of its predecessor for its own simplicity, and that's a fantastic compromise. Music doesn't have an obligation to be inventive; there is, however, a burden of competition. Not to worry, You Will Never Know Why stands as a stoic example of this established sound.



Recent reviews by this author
Halou WiserThe Horrors V
Pinkshinyultrablast Miserable MiraclesState of Grace Pacific Motion
Blackfilm BlackfilmTricky ununiform
user ratings (96)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpaceMan
February 11th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sup

Cygnatti
February 11th 2017


32635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off



UndineParty
February 11th 2017


707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

better than v:d:c tbh



omg a review! how exciting

TheSpaceMan
February 11th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i agree(d), got tired of dropping the ear worms in that thread



edit: times have changed

Cygnatti
February 11th 2017


32635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

their (very sadly) last single is my ringtone jingle tbh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0aaaSNXxZFA

TheSpaceMan
February 11th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

): it was a sweet trip, but great single. is the 2:20+ bit the ringtone?

Cygnatti
February 11th 2017


32635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

is the 2:20+ bit the ringtone?
yea yea :]

TheSpaceMan
February 11th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy shit thanks sach, thats perf. i'm seeing all of that. i did feel like i completely relied on assuming the reader has their toes wet with V : D : C, which is a safe bet but not an appropriate audience for a review



i am also so weak at it's vs its. i know which is which, i just don't mentally check if i'm using the right one

TheSpaceMan
February 11th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hands down most helpful criticism i've received on this site. will keep it up top going forward, maybe even revise this one a bit

Tyler.
February 11th 2017


15429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice

Tyler.
February 11th 2017


15429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a new album would be so mint

TVC15
February 11th 2017


9817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

THIS FINALLY HAS A REVIEW!!!

Digging: Therapy? - Infernal Love

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2017


23941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yayyyy finally a review and a space review (:

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2017


23941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is better than VDC imo

also the neg was underserved, pos

MistaCrave
February 12th 2017


2487 Comments


Never actually heard this album, but I know that this review is a big deal because people have made lists about this needing a review for pretty much as long as I've been on here

Will def have to check this out soon

TheSpaceMan
February 12th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks con, the neg came immediatly after I posted it lol

Cygnatti
March 13th 2017


32635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Is it just me or is the opener a really really good buildup song? It always hypes me up, not intensely, but in a genuine and comforting way.

TheSpaceMan
March 14th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it works its way to a very happy place



i picture fluffy clouds

TheSpaceMan
April 8th 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

know how to succeed

The problem is time


hal1ax
April 8th 2017


11703 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

those 2 negs are lame af

this a good review posss



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy