Virvum
Illuminance


4.0
excellent

Review

by dvd0bvb USER (11 Reviews)
January 24th, 2017 | 61 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist


In the brief spans between my father's disappointed sighs and sidelong looks that cut more than his words ever did, he sometimes managed to tell me something encouraging. Things like the generic but heartening “Live your dreams,” or even, one time, “You can be whatever you want to be when you grow up.” It's my belief that Berger and Gruhn, whose collective brainchild is Virvum, had a dad just like I did, who told them between one and three times in their childhoods that they might have a bright future. After all, the release of only two singles in the span of three years is something at which my father would have ashamedly shaken his head. However, it seems that Virvum held onto those faint glimmers of fatherly compassion long enough to release something that would finally garner his approval.

I imagine Berger’s and Gruhn’s fathers nodding along to the lilting neoclassical melodies that permeate Illuminance, perhaps even swinging their long, blond locks throughout the off kilter rhythm of “Elemental Shift.” The two bandmates’ eyes light up with the mystical, childhood feelings of acceptance as they see his slight smirk during “Tentacles of the Sun,” and then wait on their toes for his verdict, holding their breath as he pulls the headphones from his ears.

“That was a good song, where's the rest of it?”

No. It had taken three years to finally put forth a complete album, one that defines what it means to be a neoclassical tech death band. That couldn't be it. Dad, no. It was true though. To their father, and to everyone else, the eight tracks bleed into each other, marring what would otherwise be a pinnacle of the genre.

The fatherly pat on their shoulders they would both receive would never be enough.



Recent reviews by this author
Taphos Come Ethereal SombernessVale of Pnath II
Fallujah DreamlessWRVTH WRVTH
Arkaik Lucid DawnBeyond Creation Earthborn Evolution
user ratings (90)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
zaruyache
January 24th 2017


21658 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

oh cool this one got review hey.

Digging: Blue Noise - Everyone Goes Away Eventually

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not sure how I feel about this review in all honesty, made me laugh a bit but felt too brief.



This album is absolute fire, glad it got a write-up regardless

dvd0bvb
January 24th 2017


68 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I was thinking about adding another paragraph. I wrote it up between classes today but I thought it got my points across as it was.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Only glaring mistake is the italics error, make it [/i] at the end

grannypantys
January 25th 2017


2161 Comments


nice find, i like

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my favorites from 2016

Ebola
January 25th 2017


3718 Comments


Not really sure about the review, but I should probably check this at some point

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's very good, review doesn't give it proper justice



More technical and just better Alustrium

DatBeefPudding
January 26th 2017


1933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dont like the review, if you can even call it that

dvd0bvb
January 27th 2017


68 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OK dad

DatBeefPudding
February 7th 2017


1933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"More technical and just better Alustrium"



eh i disagree, the 2 bands have slightly different sounds and vibes, both are very good at what they do.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hear similarities and have seen comparisons that I agree with. I prefer the technicality and interesting songwriting here rather than Alustrium's more scaled-back approach which left it lacking.

DatBeefPudding
February 7th 2017


1933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair enough

DatBeefPudding
March 5th 2017


1933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck this is so good, this needs more love from sputnick

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's a tech death debut from a small band so I wouldn't expect much

zaruyache
March 7th 2017


21658 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

RYM jumped on the hypetrain and their community is nonexistent, so Sput kind of has no excuse.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh, I hardly follow that website



Bump that rating you dork

zaruyache
March 7th 2017


21658 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

NO. Least interesting of the like the 10 tech deth bands from last year that got excellent reviews.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2017


10124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sad.

zaruyache
March 7th 2017


21658 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

jam CB Murdoc u pleb



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy