Aversions Crown
Xenocide


4.0
excellent

Review

by Winsomniac USER (23 Reviews)
January 22nd, 2017 | 344 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In a genre defined by an arms race of extremity, Aversions Crown have gone nuclear.

If someone walked up to me in 2011 and told me Aversions Crown would release an exciting and noteworthy album, I’d have asked them to stop trying to make aliencore happen, and that it would be more likely for the entire band to be abducted and replaced by extraterrestrial metal gods.

Imagine my astonishment when Xenocide dropped. The tin foil hat went on immediately.

To be fair, Aversions Crown have been steadily making serious improvements throughout their career. What started out as a blatant and cheesy attempt to replicate The Faceless’ approach to tech-death down to their lyrical themes has grown to become a formidable band in their own right over the last few releases. Where Servitude showcased a band almost entirely carried by their (admittedly damned impressive) musicianship, Xenocide picks up where Tyrant left off, and shows a band truly coming into their own; comfortable enough with their own identity to modulate, but with evident and unreserved respect to their roots.

All in all, Xenocide is relentlessly unapologetic. The album as a whole is clearly evident of a band that simply couldn’t summon a single bother for their detractors. As is invariably the case with deathcore/tech-death, the flagrant worship of heavy, fast, and loud permeates every moment. The trademark technicality that first brought them attention remains, but tempered now by a sense of taste. Deliberately crafted melodies overlay frenetic polyrhythms, punctuated all the while by an impressive vocal performance.

And it’s not even entirely about aliens. While they feel a little pretentious at times, the vocals showcase lyricism and composition skills that are just different enough from the genre average to keep interest. Add in every instrument performed with an apparent disdain for subtlety, and you have a veritable onslaught in album form.

Rather than make concessions for mainstream sensibilities as other bands have done, Aversions Crown have chosen to dig in their heels. As a result, it finds them holding quite strictly to the mainstays of their genre. You might not anticipate every note, but from the first song, the listener has a fairly accurate expectation laid out for them, for better or worse. Rather than try to break outside the box, Aversions Crown instead elects to fill it to bursting.

With aliens.



Recent reviews by this author
Windrunner MAICitizen As You Please
END (NJ) From the Unforgiving Arms of GodTigers Jaw spin
Jon Benjamin Well I Should Have... (Learned How To Play Piano)Tycho Epoch
user ratings (194)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Biggtriksta (4)
One of the most technical Deathcore albums you'll get your hands on....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
January 22nd 2017


8560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could be completely talking out my ass here; need sleep.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2017


2955 Comments


decent album yea, review is pretty hectic (if that could be considered an appropriate descriptor).

kinda find a lot of songs here bleed into each other, other than that, not really much to complain about here

cloakanddagger
January 22nd 2017


320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Decent review, I agree with a lot of what you've said here. Album is the strongest the band has put out but the lyrics came off to me as a little silly sometimes. Then again, its alien themed deathcore, so what am I to expect?

asaf
January 22nd 2017


947 Comments


are there still three eight string guitar players in this band?

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2017


8866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice write-up my man, can't wait to jam this shit

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

AdolfChrist
January 22nd 2017


20321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"its deathcore*, so what am I to expect?"

Digging: Somali Yacht Club - The Sea

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2017


8866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wouldn't call this strictly abiding by deathcore's tenants exclusively though, this is def different from straightforward stuff ala The Cleansing

logicisirrelevant
January 22nd 2017


70 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i hear if you look in the dictionary for "excellent angry alien death core" you'll find this

logicisirrelevant
January 22nd 2017


70 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But seriously, this is REALLY good

dbizzles
January 22nd 2017


12981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haven't heard this, but your review is great.

Digging: Demigod - Slumber of Sullen Eyes

Winsomniac
January 22nd 2017


8560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback, give it a listen when you get a chance!

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2017


8866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's def in the queue for me

AdolfChrist
January 22nd 2017


20321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tyrant was actually pretty alright, ill give this a listen.

Ebola
January 22nd 2017


3501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good review, but in the future you should go a bit more in-depth about specific tracks, moments, and instrumental standouts. Some of the melodic guitar work on here is orgasmic. Between a 4 and 4.5 for me.

Oh, and that summary is 11/10. Love it

Winsomniac
January 22nd 2017


8560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I usually do. I just wrote this up in like half an hour between watching dota matches, haha. I'm thinking about adding a paragraph or two.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2017


8866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do people still think aliencore is a thing

Winsomniac
January 22nd 2017


8560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I definitely improvised that part for the review. It might be, but I wouldn't know..

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2017


8866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

T h e t r u t h i s o u t t h e r e

Ebola
January 22nd 2017


3501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

If a better deathcore album exists, I certainly haven't heard it.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2017


8866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shadow of the Colossus - Endgame



Nothing will ever top that



But I'm sure this is gonna be sexy too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy