Tegan and Sara
Love You to Death


3.5
great

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
January 18th, 2017 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Heartthrob: Side B

Tegan and Sara can do no wrong; even at their most uninspired they manage to put out delightful music. Love You To Death is most certainly the Canadian duo at their worst - it’s unapologetically a continuation of the synthpop sound adopted on Heartthrob, but more importantly it’s the first Tegan and Sara album in over a decade that doesn’t progress their sound. Tegan and Sara’s indie pop/folk origins developed over time into a more eclectic, artful sound that was mastered on The Con and Sainthood, but largely abandoned with Heartthrob. The duo’s decision to flirt with synthpop on Heartthrob did not happen overnight, as radio friendly hooks were abundant on all of Tegan and Sara’s albums, as were trace elements of electronic arrangements on later records. Love You To Death proves that the foray into synthpop wasn’t merely a fling, as its squeaky clean production, dense, bubbly arrangements, and layered hooks keep the sound embraced in Heartthrob completely intact.

Standouts like “Boyfriend” and “Stop Desire” are impossible not to dance and sing along to, but with only ten tracks, and all but one of them being electronic, Love You To Death is undoubtedly lacking in the variety department. Harming the dynamics of the record, the melancholy tinge found throughout Heartthrob is almost completely absent on Love You To Death, causing lyrics about heartbreak and past relationships to feel slightly out of place on a strictly bouncy, glossy pop record. The way Tegan and Sara’s career had been going, it was easy to expect a larger progression of sound than what their latest record ultimately has to offer. Lack of dynamics be damned though as it’s hard not to love a record as fun and catchy as Love You To Death, but going forward T&S desperately need to experiment a bit more, as they aren’t likely to get away with making the same record a third time.



Recent reviews by this author
Bring Me The Horizon AmoAlkaline Trio Is This Thing Cursed?
Mark Kozelek Mark KozelekDr. Octagon Moosebumps
Blessthefall Hard FeelingsMoose Blood I Don't Think I Can Do This Anymore
user ratings (94)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2017


56343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This needed a review so here we go



I understand the 3.4 average for this because it's so samey to Heartthrob, but it's insane that Heartthrob also has a 3.4 average



Anyway, check out Stop Desire, it's great



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLUDxVezNes

Digging: Snail Mail - Lush

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2017


56343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Double post oops. Man the site is broke af today

Rigma
January 18th 2017


852 Comments


yeah it's running at snail's pace today. anyway, good review.

SweeneyTodd
January 18th 2017


1957 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm unable to enjoy this album beyond track 1, the vocals are so meh, and the instrumentation is so contrived and cliched, it's just so throw away, "bargain bin CD that your mum plays on repeat when she's had too much wine" it almost pains me that this has a 3.4 average. It doesn't grate my ears, so it doesn't deserve anything below a 2



The site has been fucked for me for weeks, but that's largely because my internet connection is shite, might as well be run by a hamster in a wheel at this point. Good review though

Digging: Xiu Xiu - Girl with Basket of Fruit

Snake.
January 18th 2017


21372 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i feel like the whole internet is running at snail on sleeping pills

SweeneyTodd
January 18th 2017


1957 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've had to buy one of those signal boosters to put in my room, it works when it wants to, but browsing sputnik seems to kill it entirely

brandontaylor
January 18th 2017


766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heartthrob is underrated, and agree that this essentially sounds like a b sides album, but 'u-turn' and 'stop desire' are still highlights of their discography

TVC15
January 18th 2017


9870 Comments


EVERYTHING IS AWESOME

Digging: HEALTH - VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2017


56343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hate U-Turn for some reason

Tunaboy45
January 19th 2017


16699 Comments


Was listening to this a few days ago and wondering why it didn't have a review. For what it's worth, it's a solid pop album.

Divaman
January 19th 2017


3296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tried to post this the other day, but it didn't make it through the server problems. I basically agree with you about this album, but I don't think it's a bad thing that Tegan and Sara didn't really advance their sound this album -- especially since they're making pretty good music. I agree that I'd expect to see them change it up a little for the next album, but I can happily live with them mining the same basic territory for a pair of albums.

Digging: Joe Jackson - Fool

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2017


56343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, that's mainly what my point was, it's hard to complain about this album because it's good, it was just a lot easier to elaborate on what's wrong with the record

Pangea
January 20th 2017


2773 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Heartthrob: Side B"



pretty much yeah. great review

Digging: Sharon Van Etten - Remind Me Tomorrow

WhatKeepsMeHere
February 27th 2017


48 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't get how this only 66 ratings currently. Great review, dude! It pretty much nails everything right and wrong with this record. It lacks variety for sure, but this is a great synth-pop record.

tommygun
March 28th 2017


26843 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

this has like two good songs and the rest is piss poor leftovers from the very good heartthrob record



stagnant shite

DivergentThinking
June 19th 2017


6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'VE TRIED,

BUT YOU'RE FUEL TO MY FIRE

Digging: Adrianne Lenker - abysskiss

MUNGOLOID
July 26th 2017


4496 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mad disappointed in this. Remember Heartthrob being fun overall, but they don't sound like they're even trying on this. At worst, it sounds like some mindless 90's pop.

DivergentThinking
September 17th 2017


6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mindless 90s pop is good sometimes

SandwichBubble
September 17th 2017


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Smile.dk would be ashamed in you

Digging: Little Claw - Moss Has Fangs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy