Hyperion (SWE)
Seraphical Euphony


4.5
superb

Review

by Zach USER (98 Reviews)
January 5th, 2017 | 56 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A triptych of chaos and beauty.

Wind is battering upon a harrowing forest, one where the moon shines but a glimpse of its crescent upon the earth, and the same light that enchants the night is only barely visible through the quake of the aspens. The wind is bone chilling, and yet the night is so mesmerizing you stay there enamored with its beauty, yet still taking in the bitter pain.

Yes, this is Seraphical Euphony by Hyperion. This album is beastly. It is beautiful. There are winding passages of beautifully crafted acoustic guitar and light synths/keyboards in the background, with amazing riffs storming the forefront. The riffs are as beastly and powerful as a chimera yet they retain the catchiness of the best of viking metal. This is only backed up by some the vicious snarls and cackles of the vocalist, and the sparse use of some very tranquil clean vocals simply diversifies the mix even more. Two perfect examples are "Moral Evasion" and "Blood of the Ancients", the latter of which being the absolute magnum opus of the album, starting with such, to quote the band, "seraphical" acoustic, and ending with a guitar shred that is the essence of divinity . This album is relentless and ferocious, yet it is still gorgeous, all the while retaining a sense of mild simplicity. No, not dumbed down, just nothing venturing to far into prog territory. It flaunts its talent without venturing far to close to the sun. This is pure melody intertwined with blackened death metal, pure as that may come.

This album is immense, and it is epic. Everything weaves together. Pounding drums of the most primal energy, sweet somber acoustics, crushing vocals, and badass riffs, all of whch hit you like a wall toiling on through the depths of hell. This is the perfect dissonant cacophony, only made more impressive by this being the bands first album. They are so well knit, yet still they retain such chaotic energy (such as off of Primal Cosmic Ascendancy, which contains some of the most frantic drum work off this album). From here there is little else to be said-this band is here to paint a Triptych of chaos and beauty.



Recent reviews by this author
Mgla Age of ExcuseKing Dude Burning Daylight
Allegaeon ApoptosisPanopticon The Crescendo of Dusk
Can Bardd Nature Stays SilentNokturnal Funeral Lye x Love Cuts
user ratings (143)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
January 5th 2017


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just realized some big errors, will fix them soon.

bloc
January 5th 2017


57942 Comments


The average rating for this on Sputnik always surprised me. Never thought it was anything beyond average

Digging: Orange Juice - You Can't Hide Your Love Forever

Dedes
January 5th 2017


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why would that be exactly? I think it rocks pretty hard to be honest.

TheMrAlexK
January 5th 2017


11126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aye this finally got a review

Sevengill
January 5th 2017


9305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review's very good overall, but you might want to swap out some of the words that get repeated ("beautiful," "beastly," "snarls"). Also, what is it about those two songs that makes them stand out? Just some food for thought. You touch on the best qualities of the album though, and I very much agree with how you frame its strengths. This is my favorite debut of the year.

Digging: Sur Austru - Meteahna Timpurilor

Dedes
January 5th 2017


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah my thesaurus brain is running on repeat more than it should xD ill probably have or all corrected tomorrow because for now I only have mobile and sputnik on mobile is terrible

zaruyache
January 5th 2017


21409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I tried this one time and it was k but only k. Reminded me of Caranch Angren a little bit and I hate that band so that's probably why I don't love this.

Digging: Death Toll 80k - Step Down

KILL
January 5th 2017


81232 Comments


faux

christhjian
January 5th 2017


684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good melodic bm I think. Not the most original but whatever

Egarran
January 5th 2017


13346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Dat ambitious nordic symphonic bm. Less is more, ha I don't think so, untermensch.



Reminds me of when Dimmu were good.

Dedes
January 5th 2017


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've heard pretty solid things about Carach Angren actually but I don't actually know too much about them.

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
January 5th 2017


2432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Good review man.



Moral Evasion is fuckin sick

Dedes
January 5th 2017


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn thanks, this is actually shaping up to be a popular review I never get that lol. Also Zaruyache I listened to "funerary dirge of a violonist" by Carach Angren and I'm going to be honest it was basically a glorified although slightly more interesting song from "Labyrinth" by Fleshgod Apocalypse. It was decent but definetly not great.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2017


11741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thank god this finally had a review and thread, will read ASAP

Digging: Blue Oyster Cult - Spectres

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2017


11741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Enjoyable and well written review king. Only thing I'd suggest is maybe a little less analogies/metaphors and some more solid descriptions of the music, but otherwise it's a good write-up, pos'd.

Dedes
January 6th 2017


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I know the analogies can be overbearing, but I honestly just find myself enjoying it that way, I'm naturally just a poetry freak. I'll try toning it down next time I review something however.

Sevengill
January 6th 2017


9305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

let's be real, the album is called Seraphic Euphony. you can't go overboard with literary devices when the title is already an abuse of esoteric language.

Dedes
January 6th 2017


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's really true. The title is slightly pretensioud but they certainly fulfill such a grand expectation inducing name

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2017


11741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

lol good point

AsleepInTheBack
January 6th 2017


6007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sounds like a neat lil album, may check



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy