Mechina
As Embers Turn To Dust


4.0
excellent

Review

by HouseOfSilver USER (2 Reviews)
January 4th, 2017 | 129 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: New Year, Same Mechina.

If there was a single word that could be used to describe Mechina, it would be consistency. The rate at which the band churns out new albums has been consistent over the past six years, with each new release dropping on the first day of every new year. Additionally, the quality of the band's music is consistent; they have yet to release an album, or even a song, that is not worth one's time. Furthermore, every album has a similar sound; crunching guitars, pounding drums, a grand orchestra that provides an atmosphere for each track, some mechanical noises and electronics sprinkled here and there, and both harsh and clean vocals that have improved with each subsequent release.

More or less, the above statements can be applied to As Embers Turn To Dust. However, there are some things about this album that make it a unique part of Mechina's discography.

Mechina's albums follow a long, conceptual story entitled "As Embers Turn To Dust," with each album telling a different chapter of the story, with similar lyrics and a continuous flow. Whether it is in the form of the links between each song, the wonderful piano interludes, or even the overall atmosphere of each song, the flow of As Embers Turn To Dust is the smoothest and most seamless out of any of the band's releases. From start to finish, there is a strong connection and feeling of unity. This is largely due to the orchestration and electronics in each track, which rival the near-perfect score of the band's 2013 release, Empyrean. Though, unlike that album, the orchestra is evenly balanced in the mix with the guitars, drums. Both the guitars and drums are standard for the band here; precise, machinegun-like riffs intertwined with similarly machinegun-like drums. They don't do much to stand out throughout the album, though.

The other highlight of the album, in addition to the orchestra, is the clean vocals. While there's not much new with their delivery, per se, both Dave's and Mel's vocal ranges have improved vastly over the past few years. "Godspeed, Vanguards" and "The Synesthesia Signal" contain some of the best clean vocals to be heard from the band. Both vocalists sound impassioned throughout the album. There are also Dave's growls that can be heard on a few of the tracks, but they are often overshadowed by the cleans.

Mechina continue their journey of consistency through outer space whilst following a formula that has been honed over the past six years. The guitar and drums here are mainly by the numbers for the band, while the orchestra and clean vocals shine brighter than ever. If you weren't a fan of Mechina prior to this album, then there's not much here that would change your mind. But, if you are a fan of the band, then you already know As Embers Turn To Dust is worth listening to.


user ratings (53)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
HouseOfSilver
January 3rd 2017


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So, this is my first review here, clearly. Feel free to give me any feedback, whether it's good or bad! Either is appreciated.



And if you can't tell, I'm a Mechina fanboy. I really tried to not sound overly biased in the review... but I probably did anyhow.

Deathconscious
January 3rd 2017


26210 Comments


goddamn, slow the fuck down Mechina.

Deathconscious
January 3rd 2017


26210 Comments


decent review. i think ill pass this time though. already have four Mechina albums and though they are each slightly different, adding another Mechina album to my collection sounds redundant.

HouseOfSilver
January 3rd 2017


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's totally understandable, especially if you're looking for them to do something new. They've got a formula that they're probably not going to deviate from anytime soon.





heck
January 4th 2017


5931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been wanting to check out these guys for a while, what would you say their all-around best album is?

Digging: Wristmeetrazor - Replica of a Strange Love

HouseOfSilver
January 4th 2017


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would definitely recommend starting with Empyrean. It was the first album I heard from them, and I've been hooked ever since.

Deathconscious
January 4th 2017


26210 Comments


yeah, Empyrean is probably the best place to start at, though Acheron is my favorite.

Deathconscious
January 4th 2017


26210 Comments


stay the fuck away from their debut though.

ramon.
January 4th 2017


3797 Comments


"yeah, Empyrean is probably the best place to start at, though Acheron is my favorite." [2]

kinda hoping the band burn out some time soon though because seeing mechina artwork on bandcamp is always depressing

BallsToTheWall
January 4th 2017


50371 Comments


Sweet!

DungeonBoy
January 4th 2017


8248 Comments


"If there was a single word that could be used to describe Mechina, it would be consistency."

Really all I needed to read to know exactly what this album was going to sound like. Good review man, probably won't check this out.

Deathconscious
January 4th 2017


26210 Comments


Empyrean, Xenon, Acheron, and Progenitor are all you really need imo.

Darkwatch025
January 4th 2017


365 Comments


Wow! This band keeps getting better. Progenitor and As Ashes Turn to Dust are easily my two favorite releases from Mechina. To my ears, these two albums are a huge step up from their past albums, even though I really like Empyrean as well. Progenitor was one of my top five favorite albums 2016, and now it looks like As Ashes Turn to Dust may also be at the end of 2017!

RustCohle
January 4th 2017


369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For me this is their best effort so far.

GhandhiLion
January 21st 2017


12556 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

makes me vomit.

Digging: William Parker - Migration of Silence Into and Out of the Tone World (Volumes 1?10)

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2017


24533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow this is glorious cyberpunk shit.



Edit: DAMN! Really enjoyed this!

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

JakeStallion
January 24th 2017


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is ridiculous. Some of the melodies on here are insane. Kinda reminds me of anime music in some places (not a bad thing. I like anime music). I love this. Nice review by the way!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2017


24533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Revisiting it and man "Creation Level Event" is fucking epic.

Tundra
July 19th 2018


6076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been kinda forcing myself to listen to this the last couple days (which may come off as an insult but it's really not), this album along with all of Mechina's projects are so incredibly dense, for album's like this, i like to play it in the background while i'm doing other things etc. so i can grasp this entire colossal project, what i can say now is The Synesthesia Signal is the standout song for me, it's fucking great honestly, i'm looking forward to digesting this album even more in the future

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2018


24533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Synesthesia Signal is an absolute banger. I was just listening to it. I wish they did more stuff like it. Sounds like Fear Factory with female voice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy