James Chance and the Contortions
Buy


5.0
classic

Review

by Aaron W. STAFF
December 26th, 2016 | 82 replies


Release Date: 1979 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I've got what it takes to drive you insane.

This is no wave reaching its peak. It’s not even up for debate.

As I sit here, taking in the unhinged funk insanity of ”Contort Yourself” and ”Roving Eye”, the idea of The Contortions’ Buy being the album that defines no wave as a whole isn’t all too far-fetched. Buy, in all of its full-fledged psychosis and tight, bizzaro rhythms, truly makes no compromises. It goes to great lengths to throw a curveball at any opportune moment, but makes great use of their very evident love of James Brown, and funk in general. Buy isn’t exactly the most accessible album out there, thanks to the constant aural assault of shrill saxophones, the most abused-sounding slide guitar in existence and James Chance’s near-constant howling that compliments his disjointed vocal delivery. There truly isn’t much to say about Buy that hasn’t been said already – it’s a thirty minute mindfuck that requires little to no explanation. It takes no prisoners and dares you to indulge yourself in its manic aura, accessibility be damned. Buy into it, will you"



Recent reviews by this author
Xiu Xiu Girl with Basket of FruitPaddy McAloon I Trawl The Megahertz
Keith Fullerton Whitman GeneratorTim Hecker Konoyo
Animal Collective Tangerine ReefBoris Akuma no Uta
user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
recommended by reviewer
James Brown Sex Machine

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2016


18428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Buy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2pGwTzQmNk



criticism appreciated because i know this is quite the short one



but it needed to be done.

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Dance of the Moon and the Sun

ArsMoriendi
December 26th 2016


25008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Correct rating 😁

Digging: White Noise - An Electric Storm

ArsMoriendi
December 26th 2016


25008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I would have reviewed this if it was requested



A longer review I mean



But now nah you got it I guess

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2016


18428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

to be quite honest, this was a spur of a moment thing



b(u)y all means, go for it

ArsMoriendi
December 26th 2016


25008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nah cuz then I'd have to fight for the flag or some thin



I think I'll review that Blue Men album instead soon

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2016


18428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good enough



also the absence of emojis, i am shocked

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2016


18428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wait nvm ffs

ArsMoriendi
December 26th 2016


25008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

😆

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2016


18428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the lack of criticism tho



i must know (aside from it being a bit rushed, which again, is a result of me doing it all of a sudden)

TVC15
December 26th 2016


9872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Huh that's a very familiar looking album cover. Once I'm done with my 2016 listens and Sylvian I'll get on this. Too tired to give the review a good read too

Digging: HEALTH - VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR

VaxXi
December 26th 2016


4392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Buy into it, will you?"



groaaaaan



Ill check it out

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2016


18428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

james brown on crack



you'll likes it

TVC15
December 26th 2016


9872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Or maybr I'll listen to this once I recover from my nasty allergy reaction to my relative's cat, whichever comes first

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2016


18428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

simultaneously



to quote contort yourself



It's better than pleasure, it hurts more than pain

TVC15
December 26th 2016


9872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fine



Well fuck, I need to listen to more no wave haven't heard anything this bonkers in the genre and it's only the first 30 seconds

Cimnele
December 26th 2016


1431 Comments


always thought the material on No New York was better still

DoofusWainwright
December 26th 2016


19992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not totally my thing but it's a relentless listen yup

TheCharmingMan
December 26th 2016


514 Comments


Glad to see Chance is being appreciated and reviewed.

NeroCorleone80
December 26th 2016


34561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

DNA >

ArsMoriendi
December 26th 2016


25008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

DNA is cool from what I've heard



Only No New York band I don't like is Mars



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy