Joyce Manor
Joyce Manor


4.5
superb

Review

by chris. USER (49 Reviews)
December 17th, 2016 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Loud, unrefined, and amazingly catchy. Joyce Manor's best album and one of the best punk albums of 2011.

2011 was in many regards an outstanding year for pop-punk. The Wonder Years had come out with the amazing Suburbia album just one year after they released The Upsides. The Story So Far debuted with their loud and dry sound on Under Soil and Dirt. And then we have Joyce Manor. The small 4-piece from Torrance, California only had a few demos before coming out with their debut album on 6131 Records. And boy did they come out with a good one.

Most fans of Joyce Manor will tell you that one the great things about the band is the DIY punk sound they have. This album doesn't just sound like a band going into a studio to record an album. It sounds like a group of friends just jamming out in a garage. No song on the album really passes the two minute and thirty second mark, each one hitting hard and hitting fast as they come along. Lead singer Barry Johnson screams and shouts his way through every track as if it was the first one being played at a garage show. Energetic and blood-pumping, the album doesn't pull any brakes until the very end.

The guitars are loud and rough, but arranged in clear and catchy melodies that just hook you in. Speaking of hooks, there are a lot of good ones on this record. Every song will make you want to belt out each chorus alongside Barry Johnson. The drums are simple and fast, working beautifully in every song and bringing on a feeling of urgency. The lyricism on the record works well with the melodies and showcases some amazing humor from Joyce Manor. The entire album is extremely refreshing and just plain fun to listen to.

Joyce Manor's career is one filled with almost no low points, with just about each of their four albums received well by most. This album helped catapult Joyce Manor and is the definitive version of their sound. In my own honest opinion, Joyce Manor's S/T is their best album, one of the best albums of 2011 and an album you seriously need to jam to if you haven't already.



Recent reviews by this author
Malibu Ken Malibu KenForests Spending Eternity In A Japanese Convenience Store
Greta Van Fleet Anthem of the Peaceful ArmyKero Kero Bonito Time 'n' Place
Lil Wayne Tha Carter VJoyce Manor Million Dollars To Kill Me
user ratings (687)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
cvlts (3.5)
Messy and focused. Dissonant and catchy. Just what we needed to hear....

ian b. (4.5)
you’re getting harder to believe in....

Budpave (4)
Pop-punk with a little more Punk, but still missing some kind of unique element....


Comments:Add a Comment 
McTime50
December 16th 2016


829 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gonna try and do all of joyce manor. any suggestions, edits or fixes are greatly appreciated.

Digging: Better Oblivion Community Center - Better Oblivion Community Center

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nvm

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why all the JM reviews tho?

Tyler.
December 16th 2016


16265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Second best jm

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 17th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Never Hungover is best agreed

swallowtales
December 17th 2016


474 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

start with this imo, it's their best. i love never hungover but this is more raw and lets you see the progression through their albums by starting here

Tyler.
December 17th 2016


16265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

all of their albums are like 5 minutes long it doesnt matter lol

swallowtales
December 17th 2016


474 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eh i still think the order you listen it could make some difference, definitely not a huge amount but still i'm glad i heard them in chronological order. really isn't a big deal tho

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 17th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed start with this but skip Of All Things...

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 17th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh?

Spluger
December 17th 2016


1950 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

But I love Of All Things... :I granted it took half a year to grow on me.

McTime50
December 17th 2016


829 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Of All Things certainly a big step down from this album but it still has a little bit of charm to it IMO.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 17th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

has a couple jams but they should just stick to writing punk songs instead of acoustic stuff

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2016


56353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can't say most of the tracks on this album stand out to me

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 17th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

problem I have with this too compared to Never Hungover Again

becomesmusical
December 18th 2016


85 Comments


Solid write-up. Better than other recent Joyce Manor reviews, at least.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2016


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahahah

Snake.
May 16th 2018


21391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@_HoboJohnson: "that Joyce Manor line “it made think being human’s not such a bad thing to be” is so fucking great. making something that makes others not feel so alone in the world is such a mind blowing concept. This person wrote one line and now I thought about it all day."





oh nice can't wait to never listen to this album again i guess

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 16th 2018


24331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hobo johnson is crazy

Spluger
May 18th 2018


1950 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Stop it. Don’t ruin this for me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy