Front Line Assembly
Tactical Neural Implant


5.0
classic

Review

by Ocean of Noise USER (30 Reviews)
December 14th, 2016 | 31 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist


The first thing you notice about Tactical Neural Implant is its hooks. And it’s strange, because industrial music was, after all, founded on inaccessibility; experimentation; weirdness. It was music designed to be provocative, sometimes ugly, sometimes even revolting. In fact, Front Line Assembly’s founding member, Bill Leeb, started off his career working with Skinny Puppy: a group known for their dense, complex, inaccessible music. And it’s not that the music on Tactical Neural Implant is less intricately composed than that of, say, VIVIsectVI, but it manages to be infinitely more catchy. Here you have a set of songs that are equally dissonant and layered as they are striking and memorable; and not only that, but there’s not a bad moment from front to back.

While Tactical Neural Implant retains the aggression of Front Line Assembly’s previous album, Caustic Grip, its overall character is far more dark and moody than that of its predecessor. The production is also much more dense and layered, but not muddy; rather, the layers present themselves in a way that is both subtle and crystal-clear. There’s a great deal of complexity and intricacy to the album, and yet it demonstrates restraint when it needs to, with labyrinthine developmental sections leading seamlessly into simple, hard-hitting choruses. Most significant is how the album manages to walk the line perfectly between variety and consistency: every song has its own distinct feel and personality, and yet no song is an outlier, each one presenting the same compelling combination of powerful beats, sinister synthesizers and anthemic melodies.

With Tactical Neural Implant, Front Line Assembly solidified themselves as one of the greatest industrial acts of all time. The album perfectly demonstrates the band’s skill in crafting complex, engaging arrangements, and yet is also uncannily accessible for a work of its calibre. While an album like Skinny Puppy’s Too Dark Park or Last Rights may be at first too intimidating and dense for industrial newbies, there is no such problem present in Tactical Neural implant. I would thus give this my highest recommendation to anyone looking to get into industrial music; while it is one of the genre’s most accomplished albums, it’s also as good a starting point as any.



Recent reviews by this author
Threshold Legends of the ShiresArcade Fire Everything Now
Anathema The OptimistParadise Lost Gothic
Paradise Lost Lost ParadiseMetallica Hardwired... to Self-Destruct
user ratings (126)
Chart.
4.4
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ocean of Noise
December 14th 2016


9818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thought this classic needed a review, so here it is. Constructive comments welcome!

Digging: Orbital - The Middle of Nowhere

TVC15
December 14th 2016


8990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

WOOOOOOO THIS FINALLY HAS A REVIEW

Digging: Alkaline Trio - Alkaline Trio

Flugmorph
December 14th 2016


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

FUUUUUUUUUUUUCK IT FINALLY GOT A REVIEW I CAN DIE NOW OMFG HOW IS THIS REAL

Flugmorph
December 14th 2016


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Probably gonna 5 this again now lol

Ocean of Noise
December 14th 2016


9818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Do it.

Flugmorph
December 14th 2016


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ocean you're a god to me now. Brilliant review

Flugmorph
December 14th 2016


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I really wanted to review this myself for the longest time but somehow had no real motivation to do it when i had the time.

TheCrocodile
December 14th 2016


2926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YES PATRICK ARMSTRONG YES A REVIEW OF A FUCKING EBM CLASSI C WHICH IS SO FUCKING RARE ON HERE THANK YOU GOOD SIR



Add some Numb, G.G.F.H. or Dead When I found Her on that recommended album section. Oh yeah and nice concise review keep it up!

AnimalsAsSummit
December 14th 2016


2995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ngl this looks wonderful

Flugmorph
December 14th 2016


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Get this masterwork to the trending albums tbh

Ocean of Noise
December 14th 2016


9818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks guys! And yeah, this album/band definitely needs more love on this site



You should definitely check this out, Animals. It's essential listening.

Toondude10
December 14th 2016


11736 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

best album ever

Digging: Machine Head - The Blackening

Ocean of Noise
December 14th 2016


9818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hard to disagree with that.

TVC15
December 14th 2016


8990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ah I remember when Flug rec'd me Hardwired in that rec game Fripp used to do. 'Twas my first Front Line Assembly album too. Good times

Ocean of Noise
December 14th 2016


9818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I thought you were talking about the Metallica album at first and I was very confused

Flugmorph
December 14th 2016


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeeeeee boi inception complete

RLWFormula
December 14th 2016


287 Comments


Good to see these guys get some love around here. Killer album, forgot how much I enjoyed it.



Posd

Ocean of Noise
December 14th 2016


9818 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks man!

bloc
December 14th 2016


45323 Comments


Used to like these guys a lot

Digging: Flotsam and Jetsam - Doomsday for the Deceiver

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2016


4400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album! Props for reviewing this!

As far as I know they have a new album in the works, hopefully it'll be as good as Echogenetic

Digging: Wordclock - Heralds



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy