Meus
September


4.0
excellent

Review

by DungeonBoy USER (11 Reviews)
December 7th, 2016 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A well-crafted addition to the realm of Neo-folk

Meus’ second outing by Sputnik’s very own ButteryBiscuitBass is a continuation of his instrumental neo-folk/acoustic sound found on his debut EP, Downpour. While the overall style is consistent with his previous release, the songwriting and technicality found on September is greatly improved. Consisting of only a beautiful sounding steel string acoustic guitar, and sparse yet effectively used synth elements, Meus covers an array of emotions and dynamic shifts throughout this 24 minute retreat into tranquillity.

The rustling sound of wind and ambience slowly swells into the intro track of September. Composed by fellow Sputniker, Michael Snoxall, "Against the Dying of the Light" sets the stage for this 7 track EP with a calming breeze, building into the opening notes of the mournful "Delial". Weaving throughout delicately plucked melodies and the subtle builds of an accompanying synth, feelings of a wistful longing are evoked as the lonely guitars guide the listener down a path into the unknown. Soon enough, the sparkling harmonies of "The Witching Hour" bring September to life. A definite album highlight, the melodies dance through excellent song writing into a joyous celebration of music. Throughout the second half of the album the technical picking of the title track, the serenity of "The Demon Star", and the solemnity of "Moon Forest" pull you into their own individual, but brief, worlds and contain enough variety to hold on tight to your attention. Wrapping up the album with September’s most ambitious track, "Icarus" follows the tale of its namesake with an uplifting progression into an almost discordant downfall before ending in a peaceful fade.

As intended, September contains a voyage of emotions that are well intertwined through its balanced structures and melodies. Never do any parts or tracks overstay their welcome, and the dynamic shifts created with only an acoustic guitar are certainly a noteworthy feat.



Recent reviews by this author
Dzo-nga Thunder In the MountainsKatatonia Sanctitude
Allelic ReverberationsUlvesang The Hunt
Meus Miserere Mei DeusNhor Wildflowers: Summer
user ratings (11)
3.6
great
related reviews

Downpour

Miserere Mei Deus


Comments:Add a Comment 
DungeonBoy
December 7th 2016


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://meus.bandcamp.com/album/september

bnelso55
December 7th 2016


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Spot-on review for an excellent EP. Have a pos. I liked his previous work, but this is a real step up! The Witching Hour is probably an early favorite, but the other tracks are growing on me. Good work, Buttery!

DungeonBoy
December 7th 2016


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, I really wanted to do a quick write up and get this out there since it's definitely worth a listen.



The Witching Hour was the most immediate track for me, but I've really been digging Moon Forest lately.

bnelso55
December 7th 2016


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Agreed. Yeah, that's a good one, too. He accomplishes a lot with a little in that track.

ButteryBiscuitBass
December 7th 2016


11454 Comments


Well jeez, thanks for the review man. I'm so very honoured that you are enjoying this as much as I enjoyed creating it. I'm absolutely stoked for what you've got in store musically.

@bnelso - thank you very much, I'm pleased that you're digging this.

JJKeys
December 9th 2016


1136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent EP, love the effectiveness of such minimal instrumentation used here

ButteryBiscuitBass
December 9th 2016


11454 Comments


Thanks mate!

CaptainDooRight
December 9th 2016


4359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rules hard!

CaptainDooRight
December 9th 2016


4359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dam this just isn't kinda a 4, it's a solid 4 whilst creepin' on'a 4.5

DungeonBoy
December 9th 2016


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah man! It's good stuff. Lot's of really interesting parts and beautiful melodies.

bnelso55
December 9th 2016


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"...it's a solid 4 whilst creepin' on'a 4.5"

For sure



CaptainDooRight
December 9th 2016


4359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos on the review btw

DungeonBoy
December 9th 2016


8184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks dude!

ButteryBiscuitBass
December 10th 2016


11454 Comments


Glad you're digging it Cap

CaptainDooRight
December 10th 2016


4359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

way hard, this actually may make my top 10 for this year



I need to work on my list

ButteryBiscuitBass
December 10th 2016


11454 Comments


Awesome to hear man!

CaptainDooRight
December 29th 2016


4359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bump

ButteryBiscuitBass
December 30th 2016


11454 Comments


Still jamming this Cap?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy