Enmarta
The Hermit


3.5
great

Review

by BallsToTheWall USER (232 Reviews)
December 6th, 2016 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I WANT AN OMELETTE!

Enmarta's The Hermit is a perfect record to play when getting lost in the immersive landscape of Skyrim while succumbing to the magical properties of pot brownies. I'm not crazy about the dark ambient genre but Italian muscian Sergio Fulvio Tommasini really brought the pain with this release. Taking influence from usually insipid sub-genres like dark ambient, drone and field recordings, Enmarta spices up instrumental, synthesizer based music beautifully with lush string arrangements, textured nature based sound effects and compelling compositions that I also believe would go great with playing Halo 1/2 with or without unicorn power hour brownies.

The Hermit takes you on a seven track journey that begins with the classic "human got abducted after a long night of cow-tipping and waffle eating and wanders around aimlessly in a creepy space ship" styled intro Apokatástasis I and ends with the pulsating Temple of Abandon which seduces you with its alien synths and thunderstorm backdrop and then leaves you naked and hungry in the rubble of a long defunct sanctuary. In between these two complimentary pieces, the other five tracks more or less play out in a manner fitting of a breakfast starved man searching for a way back to his simple life back on earth. Sergio makes dark ambient interesting because he's able to add human warmth and life to the otherwise cold, apathetic, paranormal backdrop that is created by the dense wall of synth. The primary reason for this is his stellar use of the viola which adds a strikingly melancholic edge to the music but also because of the familiar sounding samples of rain. This record has my imagination going off in a few different directions. The haunting, celestial layer of this record dictates that the protagonist will quickly enter the void and his existence will be forgotten instantly. The viola creates an aura to me that the protagonist will die slowly and tragically in his quest for one last Waffle House run. The nature samples and the closing track dictate that the protagonist will find his way off the ship and back onto land with the glimmer of hope of Waffle House shining bright.

The Hermit has given dark ambient music new life with this surprisingly emotional and engaging release. I'm looking forward to hearing what Sergio puts out next. This is a dynamic record that I highly recommend to anyone who studies in the field of weed, breakfast and atmospheric music.



Recent reviews by this author
Warbrother 666 Eternal Hell WarlordThe Plague Naraka
Dead Melodies The Foundations of RuinsLight This City Terminal Bloom
Druid Lord Grotesque OfferingsWitches Moon The Grim Botanical
user ratings (12)
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
December 6th 2016


49745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not one comment dickheads? At the very least throw down a neg and run.

Digging: Eremit - Carrier of Weight

BallsToTheWall
December 6th 2016


49745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks bud. However, this albym is zazz so give it a try.





https://cryochamber.bandcamp.com/album/the-hermit

Sevengill
December 6th 2016


9272 Comments


"Sergio Fulvio Tommasini really brought the pain with this release. Taking influence from usually insipid sub-genres like dark ambient, drone and field recordings"
pos'd

BallsToTheWall
December 6th 2016


49745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If I can recommend a great snack for you all it would be El Monterey's egg, sausage, cheese and potato burrito. 55 seconds in the microwave and it's ready to be downed.

Sniff
December 6th 2016


5708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not gonna lie, summary made me want to check the review. Have a pos.

L4titudes
December 6th 2016


3653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey you played a track in dt the other night. Good stuff. Checked their first, which was great. This one is next.

zaruyache
December 6th 2016


21309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"synthesizer based music beautifully with lush string arrangements, textured nature based sound effects and compelling compositions"



this sounds good.

Pho3nix
December 6th 2016


690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I quite like the cello in this, thanks for the review.

Masochist
December 6th 2016


8888 Comments


Review doesn't quite match rating. Is it 3.5 because you don't like the genre? Other than that, pretty solid.

Also, what up Balls?

BallsToTheWall
December 6th 2016


49745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not much George. I honestly like this more than a 3.5 but I've always had trouble matching ratings with my reviews. Thanks boys and I liked that cello sequence too Phoenix.

FullOfSounds
December 6th 2016


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Imma check

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2016


16765 Comments


Great, now I'm hungry

JS19
December 6th 2016


7345 Comments


Definitely feel this is one of the more middle of the road Cryo Chamber releases this year

Sniff
December 6th 2016


5708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^rec other releases plz

BallsToTheWall
December 6th 2016


49745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've only heard a few other Cryo releases this year but this is my personal favorite.



@Sniff



https://cryochamber.bandcamp.com/album/love-like-blood



https://cryochamber.bandcamp.com/album/the-humming-tapes

Enmarta
December 6th 2016


1 Comments


Thanks for the review. What you wrote reflects exactly its essence.

deezer666
December 6th 2016


4975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great to see this have a review. Cryo Chamber barely put a foot wrong and this is one of their best this year.

Digging: Merzbow, Haino, Pandi - Become The Discovered, Not The Discoverer

CaliggyJack
December 6th 2016


2832 Comments


Best opening line ever.

FullOfSounds
December 7th 2016


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is beautiful

BallsToTheWall
December 7th 2016


49745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad this is getting some love and rad the musician himself popped up.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy