Burial
Young Death/Nightmarket


2.5
average

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
December 2nd, 2016 | 54 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Formlessness

Whenever a piece of music isn’t very good or doesn’t live up to expectations, I often see the word “experimental” thrown around. While perusing the discussion of acclaimed UK producer Burial’s newest release, I noticed “experimental” was being hastily strewn around in large enough quantities that it caught my eye. The notion that Young Death/Nightmarket is experimental perturbed me, as it contains all of the trappings of a Burial record. The pitch shifted vocal samples, the record scratches, the metropolitan ambiance, and the sparse electronic instrumentation are all here, so what gives" What’s so different about this Burial release that some are heralding it as experimental" Is it actually the atypical divergent in Burial discography sonically, or is it just a clever guise - a cheap way of defending a substandard record when one actually has nothing nice to say about it"


If anything is out of place it’s certainly not the use of samples. The distorted voices, analog tones, and other Burial trademarks all showed up to the party. But like a sad alcoholic at a party, these sounds seem like they’re there just because they’re expected to be there, popping in and out with no real sense of cohesion or arrangement. What really sets Young Death/Nightmarket apart in Burial’s discography is that it is largely formless. The b-side "Nightmarket" is especially guilty, as it sounds like three or four different song ideas mashed together and stretched out to reach its seven minute run-time. Most appalling are the synth tones, which are cheesy, feel out of place on a Burial record, and sound like they were ripped straight out of a knockoff Mass Effect soundtrack. "Nightmarket" also has no percussion track, which amplifies the effect of everything feeling like a random mishmash of tones and ideas. Burial’s use of mangled, disfigured, and jittery percussion is often unsurprisingly the backbone of his music, and without it, "Nightmarket" ends up sounding like cheap synth tones lost in space. "Young Death" at least has a kick drum, even if it’s buried in the mix and washed over by uninspired vaguely “dancey” music. The uncharacteristically sloppy arrangements never allow "Young Death" or "Nightmarket" to find its footing long enough to sustain the sort of atmosphere Burial is known so well for producing, which is a shame as there are a couple of bright ideas buried in the chaos.


After intense analysis and deliberation I again must ask myself “Is Young Death/Nightmarket experimental"” I suppose, if you count taking a sledgehammer to the structure of your music and replacing it with a lame synth track as experimentation. The better question to ask would be “Does it matter whether Young Death/Nightmarket is experimental or not"” And to that I would have to give a resounding “no.” Young Death/Nightmarket is not experimental, it’s not an artist exploring new inspirations and emotions - it’s a hot mess, and more importantly, it’s not very good.



Recent reviews by this author
Alkaline Trio Is This Thing Cursed?Mark Kozelek Mark Kozelek
Dr. Octagon MoosebumpsBlessthefall Hard Feelings
Moose Blood I Don't Think I Can Do This AnymorePianos Become the Teeth Wait For Love
user ratings (99)
Chart.
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2016


56209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Haven't reviewed an electronic album in fucking ages

Digging: Lil Peep - Come Over When You're Sober Pt. 2

SteakByrnes
December 1st 2016


13529 Comments


Wonderful review, mind pos

Digging: Joji - Ballads 1

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2016


56209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks my man

FullOfSounds
December 1st 2016


15764 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Really great review

YakNips
December 1st 2016


19372 Comments


"not very good" is never a constructive judgement, we can tell from your rating and reading the review that you believe it to be "not good." otherwise informative and great review

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2016


56209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

""not very good" is never a constructive judgement, we can tell from your rating and reading the review that you believe it to be "not good." otherwise informative and great review"



That's kind of what I was going for, because I'm deconstructing how lame of a positive thing "experimental" is to say about a record, and also I already said a bunch of in depth stuff, I wanted to punctuate it all with a blunt simple statement for emphasis and such. Like Clearly I said way more than "it's not very good" in the rest of the review, I just liked that as the closer because of yeah all the reasons I just said

Drsmith4
December 1st 2016


1735 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Excellent review. "Nightmarket" is a brilliant shambles, and Burial would do well to have chopped in half, chosen a half, and given it the "Rough Sleeper" treatment. Holding out for the inevitable LP of shorter "Lambeth"-like songs.

oltnabrick
December 2nd 2016


36192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is good idgaf

Digging: Tomb Mold - Cerulean Salvation

climactic
December 2nd 2016


22353 Comments


is ok

hal1ax
December 2nd 2016


11750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gag me

oltnabrick
December 2nd 2016


36192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i agree. like its not his absolute best but its goood

Suli
December 2nd 2016


76 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Good review, really sounds like this record was slapped together in a rush. Hoping there are greater things on the way soon.

Aids
December 2nd 2016


24456 Comments


"Haven't reviewed an electronic album in fucking ages"

why not??!?!

swallowtales
December 2nd 2016


474 Comments


I really hope this isn't as bad as everyone seems to think it is :S

ShitsofRain
December 2nd 2016


8097 Comments


i could imagine that they only wanted him to release some stuff because it's hyperdub's 100th release and they needed a "big" name to celebrate it. maybe therefore it sounds not very good to most.

Aids
December 2nd 2016


24456 Comments


2.5/5 on sputnik music dot com

best to avoid

bloc
December 2nd 2016


53033 Comments


Best EP album art he's put out so far though

Digging: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Organisation

dcalderon
December 2nd 2016


435 Comments


I would call this experimental because Bevan is actually getting rid of the most important thing of his productions, percussion. But yeah, it's not very good; first time I find a Burial release underwhelming.

dcalderon
December 2nd 2016


435 Comments


"i could imagine that they only wanted him to release some stuff because it's hyperdub's 100th release and they needed a "big" name to celebrate it. maybe therefore it sounds not very good to most."

Boy, I hope this is true.

Essence
December 2nd 2016


6238 Comments


i don't think that sad alcoholic analogy works

like in this framework, you're saying sad alcoholics are only invited to parties because other attendees feel that they should be there because parties have sad alcoholics?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy