Trvth
Grief and Justice


4.0
excellent

Review

by kingdedethefifth USER (80 Reviews)
December 2nd, 2016 | 53 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A harrowing journey through the forests of grief.

Grief and Justice is a somber album, that of hollow empty skies and infinite blank spaces, painting a daunting, depressing, yet slightly hopeful picture. Individually, not much is incredibly standout. Mellow acoustics set the scene along with pattering rain and a gorgeous spoken word segment from the track "In Despair". Yet nothing stands out individually, because what this album lacks in instrumental diversity it makes up for in atmosphere.

The album presents itself as very traditional black metal. Loads of tremolo riffing, repetitive albeit still charged energetic drumming, and raspy shouts which contain some truly gloomy poetry-

"They gather preserves from the bushes
Consuming the root of diseased trees
Exiled from their heritage
Ostracized like thiefs"

This is a verse from the track "Deject". It's shows that this is definetly an emotionally cathartic black metal record. It could become truly spectacular if not for a certain flaw-the repetition. The album may be based around constructing an atmosphere but it still grows a bit cumbersome 7 or 8 tracks in, when you have heard the album in it's entirety already and it simply feels like the album needs something to keep your attention. It almost drifts into background music, although the final track "Where I Must Go' ends on an epic buildup of tremolo riffs giving the album it's perfect closer.

In spite of this I think what gives the record it;s unique atmosphere and appeal is the bass work. For bass to be even present in black metal is rare to come by, let alone be a highlight of the record. There are so many points where it gives the riffs the extra push, and dare I say, groove, they need. Great examples include the tracks "Torn", "Deject" and "Where I Must Go", of which the first has some of the greatest hooks off the album.

If you can set aside the time and you aren't bored easily, this record is extremely commendable for the immensely shadowy and somber atmosphere it works to build, without somehow veering into the points of non-revokable depression. It is a harrowing journey through the forests of grief, yet still their is light in the end.



Recent reviews by this author
Eldamar A Dark Forgotten PastDanimal Cannon Lunaria
Ellende TodbringerDeath in June But, What Ends When the Symbols Shatter?
Comeback Kid Turn It AroundDalek Endangered Philosophies
user ratings (14)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Sevengill (3.5)
Can you handle the Trvth?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


3809 Comments


Okay I mean props for reviewing this because it's good to get the word out there for solid user projects and the like, but this is a pretty terrible review and comes across as super ignorant and just badly written

FullOfSounds
December 1st 2016


15613 Comments


Oof this needs work.

"It's somber yet not slit your wrists depressing"
Bad comparison, made me cringe a bit. Maybe that's just me.

"which contain some true poetry"
Like what?

" Some of the best tracks off this record are predictable (such as fears and deject)."
Explain how it's predictable

You dig a nice job describing how it was too long with not enough variety.

"It was audible bass"
You need to delve further into the bass. How does it help tracks? How does it stand so well more than anything else. And saying it's one of the most unique things in black metal is quite the claim that isn't even remotely backed up.

No real conclusion to this either.

Digging: Hannah Diamond - Pink and Blue

FullOfSounds
December 1st 2016


15613 Comments


Either way, nice giving some more exposure to Trvth.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


10927 Comments


This is a great album. The review...not so much. For a start the words in the summary are not contradictory whatsoever, and audible bass is really not as unique as BM stereotypes would have you believe. I think you should spend a bit more time with the review and beef up your descriptions, and give it a proof read because sentences like this - "Take few negative connotations from this-this album is great" - are very easy to spot and fix.

Digging: Rabor - ????????

kingdedethefifth
December 1st 2016


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I did the last part to poke fun at how black metal literally never has bass. It was kind of a different review for me. I saw how light humor seemed to work well in some reviews so I decided to try it. I tried doing Trvth some justice but maybe it came across as a bit immature.

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


3809 Comments


I did the last part to poke fun at how black metal literally never has bass.

Yeah but that's not true and never has been

kingdedethefifth
December 1st 2016


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True poetry though was a line that came to my head (for the life of me I can't remember it. Something about destroying the day on which he was gone?)

CaptainDooRight
December 1st 2016


2233 Comments


Thanks for the review king!

You brought out some good points! For a little history on the direction of this: I pusposefully kept the guitar playing and music in general simple as I wanted to create a melancholic experience and I wanted to create exactly what I wanted to hear at that moment.

With that being said, I also purposefully showed a lot technical restraint as the compositions don't reflect my technical ability as a guitar player. Rather it reflects my restraint to focus on basic composition for a particular purpose as mentioned.

I have already begun writing for my next album which technically the opposite of this inspired by Ulcerate and Deathspell Omega but ultimately still presented in a black metal fashion. It will push my creative and technical ability to their limits but I'm damn excited with the way it's turning out. To compose in a technical well whilst keeping it palatable, atmospheric, and engaging is probably the hardest thing anyone can do.

FullOfSounds
December 1st 2016


15613 Comments


"I saw how light humor seemed to work well in some reviews so I decided to try it. I tried doing Trvth some justice but maybe it came across as a bit immature."
It really just comes off as lame tbh.

I found a couple more things but it's all just you not elaborating or delving deeper into things you say. Look through the review again and ask yourself if the reader can understand what you're talking about.

kingdedethefifth
December 1st 2016


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've found audible bass in black metal rare, from 90 percent of what I've heard at least. I'll try editing a bit more later because I guess some lines were cringy. My humor is pretty lame still resorting to wrist cutting jokes :p

CaptainDooRight
December 1st 2016


2233 Comments


Regarding the review: you can still make some edits such as describing the feel of the album in relation to the lyrics and perhaps expanding on some of the points you mentioned but regardless I'm still fully appreciative to even have a review

FullOfSounds
December 1st 2016


15613 Comments


"My humor is pretty lame still resorting to wrist cutting jokes :p"
Yeah...

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2016


2212 Comments


I have already begun writing for my next album which technically the opposite of this inspired by Ulcerate and Deathspell Omega but ultimately still presented in a black metal fashion


oh bby


FullOfSounds
December 1st 2016


15613 Comments


jac is diamonds rn

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


10927 Comments


Props for choosing to review this album in the first place, and as Cap said it's still redeemable if you edit it and take in some of the feedback in this thread.

kingdedethefifth
December 1st 2016


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I will try editing in the next few hours, my phone really sucks with editing anything and my PC is in use at the moment.

CaptainDooRight
December 1st 2016


2233 Comments


Oh and I forgot to mention that Sevengill has offered to do the drums for me so hopefully everything will be an upgrade in terms of what I mentioned above. Sevengill also recently got a lesson from Jaime Saint Merat so I thought that was pretty damn cool.

FullOfSounds
December 1st 2016


15613 Comments


Yeah mobile Sputnik is frustrating

kingdedethefifth
December 1st 2016


4591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The ulcerate drummer? He seems pretty beast I'm excited for what you guys might put out

Sevengill
December 1st 2016


7498 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

let's not overstate what I learned from Jamie. it was like Babe Ruth showing someone how to hit a baseball.

Digging: Elysian Blaze - Blood Geometry



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy