AFI
Burials


3.0
good

Review

by Simon STAFF
November 29th, 2016 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Burials is torn between ambition and laziness.

If Burials first two tracks are anything to go by, listeners should be treated to a slightly different AFI; an AFI that have turned the wheel on their punk rock flair, and sent their sound down a rather exciting road. Yes, both "The Sinking Night" and "I Hope You Suffer" contain a very distinct tone and feel to them -- and while I'll be open in saying I'm not the biggest AFI fan, these two tracks take on a different metamorphosis to what I heard in their energetic punk days (ala The Art of Drowning); or their more commercial pop punk days (ala Decememberunderground). Yes, it was a pleasant surprise to discover a band moving into such a bleak and atmospheric direction. What's more, their new sound is something I feel works strangely well for these guys -- considering what type of band they are; the brooding guitars matched only by Davey's wails and pained melodies create a very exciting melancholy. They cross a line that draws in an underlining Goth vibe to its tracks, and is something I couldn't wait to hear on the rest of the album.

Unfortunately, what I wanted and what I got left me with almost bitter disappointment, not because the album is bad, on the contrary, Burials does a great job in delivering more of the same, but that's half the problem. It's almost contradictory of me to say that the songs on Burials generally levelled my emotions at being entertained and underlyingly irritated by how safe the album is. Bar the first two songs on here and the album closer "The Face Beneath The Waves", there is little of the same here. "The Embrace" touches on the idea to an extent, but even here the song lacks the same intensity as its openers and closer. The LP is largely upbeat in tone, and fires out energetic songs that range between pop punk and punk influence, with some weird little electronic bits added to songs like "Wild". The meat and potatoe of this record is basically the band sitting in their comfort zone, and delivering a selection of well constructed punk songs, that will certainly please fans of this type of music.

I seem to be overwhelmingly focused on "The Sinking Night", "I Hope You Suffer" and "The Face Beneath The Waves", and that's because I am. There is a daring, dark side to AFI that is aching to come out on Burials, and furthermore, I'm aching for it to fully blossom. But with that in mind, Burials failed in delivering a sound that should have dominated the album -- which is a bloody shame, because those particular tracks are crafted in such a new and exciting way, it pains me to see it left in such a malnourished way. It's like the band wanted to shake up its sound, but got cold feet halfway through the production of the album; leaving Burials's emotions scattered all over the place. If you like AFI, you'll have no trouble in enjoying this album in its entirety, but if you're a casual listener of the band that was drawn into a sound they teased with its singles, you'll be left a little burned.

Good.



Recent reviews by this author
Hans Zimmer Man of SteelSlipknot We Are Not Your Kind
Shellac Excellent Italian GreyhoundSlaves (UK) The Velvet Ditch EP
Torche Admission3TEETH Metawar
user ratings (461)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Athom EMERITUS (3.6)
AFI sound exactly the same and are better for it....

Dillon T. (5)
The darkest and most intricate album ever produced by the polarizing AFI...

Brad Acord (4)
AFI maintains the polished sound of Crash Love, while recapturing some of the emotion and energy fro...

WicKed110 (4.5)
Amazing new album by AFI with a completely new direction....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2016


15511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Put this on today, and I still think exactly the same things I did when I first jammed it. Such a wasted opportunity.

Digging: Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind

TheCharmingMan
November 29th 2016


538 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"The Art of Drawing"

I'm pretty sure you meant The Art of Drowning. Other than that though cool review. First one for this album I agree with.

danielcardoso
November 29th 2016


11770 Comments


"The Art of Drawing" lmao.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2016


15511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fuck saaaaakkkeee. lol that's my spellchecker screwing me over. Cheers guys.

FadedSun
November 29th 2016


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, gonna have to take off some points for "The Art of Drawing".

xAshtrayux
November 29th 2016


238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I grew to genuinely like this album, though I agree that those 3 dark tracks are the best.

Everything else is fun though. Like the crazy drum (?) part in Wild.

The beginning of The Conductor sounds like a boss fight track in some gothic fantasy RPG.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2016


15511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You're busting my balls FadedSun haha.



@xAshtrayux



Completely agree with what you're saying, but that's my criticism: the clash of fun tracks and moody tracks makes the LP incohesive and clunky.

EvoHavok
November 29th 2016


7692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. I do like the clash, but the darker tracks are the best indeed.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2016


15511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers man. Still need to check out the new singles.

EvoHavok
November 29th 2016


7692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're both cool and make me hopeful for the new album.

FadedSun
November 29th 2016


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, yeah I'm fucking with you. It's a good review and I essentially agree. The albums sets itself up for something great, but veers away from it for the majority of the album. Still, I like all the songs on here and I'm big AFI fan, so my score is bloated.



I read that the Sinking Night was originally a much longer track, but they cut it down to be an intro track instead. Wish I could hear the original version.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2016


15511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Didn't know that, and now you've said it I always though it could have carried on.



Just heard the new tracks; both are decent, but I prefer White Offerings to Snow Cats. I was hoping for more of the dark shit, but it's not the case. Shame.

Cormano
November 29th 2016


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

17 crimes is still dope af

Ocean of Noise
November 29th 2016


10665 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is pretty sweet

Digging: Circa Survive - Juturna

Feather
November 30th 2016


5257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album didn't age well for me, on the other hand crash love (especially with the b sides) aged very well... I can't believe I wrote a 4 review for this when it came out, must have been the hype

Good review although I disagree. I hope you suffer is painfully boring to me, dark but not in the beautiful way that sts was. 17 crimes, the conductor and a deep slow panic are the only songs I've ever revisited. You are right that those songs are just treading in their comfort zone, but I like the polished pop punk sound on them.

The Blood album will hopefully be better than this, the first two singles were promising.

EvoHavok
November 30th 2016


7692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New song: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p04j51nj

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2016


15511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, can't say I'll be blown away by the new LP if we're going off what they've released so far. That is the best song so far though. What you think of it, Evo?

EvoHavok
December 1st 2016


7692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's nice and hearing it in better quality later can only help.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy