Kississippi
We Have No Future, We're All Doomed


3.5
great

Review

by BlushfulHippocrene CONTRIBUTOR (24 Reviews)
November 15th, 2016 | 35 replies


Release Date: 11/20/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An Ode to the Unknown and Misremembered

Kississippi feels familiar, almost nostalgic. We Have No Future, We Are All Doomed sounds like something I've heard before, but what that something is feels foreign. Almost like a dream, its warm tones wash over me, and almost like a forgotten memory, moments appear and disappear in fragments: forgotten sentiment, blurred retrospection. Just like these thoughts, the Philadelphia band's second EP, (their first released through Soft Speak Records) feels fragmented. Yet in its short, eighteen minutes, We're All Doomed streamlines these splinters, channelling them into what is ultimately magical and dreamlike in its presentation. Paradoxical, I know. But that's the magic. Bear with me.

From its reverb-soaked vocal passages, to its mesmeric guitar melodies, intertwining in the laziest, simplest of manners, We're All Doomed indeed feels dreamlike. In the vein of other bands who perform this sort of sad, danceable pop, thoughtfully exhibiting and eliciting vague, introspective ramblings of the past, Kississippi, too, do justice to all the teen dreams, the teenage feelings. Each of the songs, from Unkempt Leather to closer Greyhound, build quite similarly. Guitarist Colin Kupson loops a simple guitar passage, often light and bouncy, which repeats itself throughout the track with little to no variation. Singer Zoe Reynolds floats into the mix, at times complimenting her slight, though seamless drawl with an equally unenthusiastic backing vocal. Unambitious, restrained. Fucking beautiful.

Make no mistake, I'd fall asleep to them, but Kississippi are far from soporific. Along with the familiar repetitions of uninventive and recycled melodies, the band bring along an intentional charm. In the songwriting, simplism works in the band's favour, building a melancholic and introspective backdrop that is as transportable as it is pretty, as it is nice. There's a lack of urgency in We're All Doomed that's just so very welcoming.

In 'This Song Used to Be About You', Zoe sings

"What makes you so sure that I am
not as lucky as you are""

Whether this line references her luck during or after her relationship with whom this song refers to is questionable, and from either perspective offers somewhat of a bold statement. Regardless, the despondent, though nonetheless numb tone contrasts well with Zoe's peppier melodies. Indeed, these dancier elements are what make Kississippi so much more interesting than the foundation upon which their songs are built: fluid bass lines build subtle grooves into which the guitars are submerged by equally watery snares and high hats. 'Dogma' even resorts to the use of programmed drums which compliment Zoe’s subtle distorted vocals rather well.

No doubt, We’re All Doomed has its quirks, enough of them to keep the listener captivated throughout its short runtime. Above all else, however, is the duo’s knack for blurring that fine line between fun and despondent emo music, whether intentionally or otherwise. Kississippi discover and exploit that golden mean between hindsight and repetition of the past, in a narrow exploration of pretty sounds drowned in a nostalgic haze. It’s difficult to look into the past; the influence of the present never escapes us, though we claim to know it so well. For some, or at least for me, the past feels dreamlike, fragmented. I could cry to it, but I could also dance about it. We Have No Future, We’re All Doomed, so let the anxieties fade.



Recent reviews by this author
Nicole Dollanganger Heart Shaped Bedamerican poetry club we are beautiful, even when...
Collections Of Colonies Of Bees HAWAIIPrincess Nokia A Girl Cried Red
Vancouver Sleep Clinic Therapy Phase 01Haley Heynderickx I Need to Start a Garden
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2016


2659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can stream and download the EP here: http://softspeakrecords.bandcamp.com/album/we-have-no-future-were-all-doomed

I like this band a lot, of course. Criticism welcome, I haven't written in quite some time. Also, thanks to Conmaniac for putting this on one of his lists.

Digging: Lil Zubin - Heavy Down Pour

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2016


24252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh shitttttt nice man this totally needed a review!

ShadowRemains
November 14th 2016


24992 Comments


album cover had me thinking sludge

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2016


24252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also wonderful review. you're an extremely talented writer man. the only thing I would take out is the "Bear with me." but that's just personal preference and kinda nitpicky haha. way to do this album justice though, you described why I love this album really well.

also I hung out with these guys on a college campus and it was really weird but they we cool. the next day though they got their van broken into and all their personal stuff was stolen. luckily they were playing a gig so none of their gear was stolen. still sucks a lot though

Futures
November 14th 2016


9983 Comments


Kississippi

Artuma
November 14th 2016


29924 Comments


would i like this connor?

also, fantastic review

Futures
November 14th 2016


9983 Comments


do you like shitty emo revival?

Artuma
November 14th 2016


29924 Comments


occasionally

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2016


24252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you might tbh it's not so much emo as it is moody indie rock so I don't see why not

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2016


24252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is about as emo revival as Hop Along

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2016


2659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the feedback. I realised the review was taking a bit of a more conversational edge as I was writing it, but I kept it in to see how it was received. Going to sleep on it and might edit it out tomorrow, I agree it might come off as a little awkward. :]

Yeah, I've seen emo used as a genre tag, and I would consider it to be, obviously, but this is more indie pop, perhaps with some emo and dream pop influences.

sonictheplumber
November 15th 2016


9837 Comments


Kiss >

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2016


24252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah

AsleepInTheBack
November 15th 2016


5876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sublime review man, gonna have to check this. Tho reads like a 4 to me

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2016


24252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

true yea I was gonna say that too but 3.5 is an appropriate rating still

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2016


2659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers Ben, appreciate that. Yeah, I can see that, to be honest I could rate it between a 3 and 4 depending how I feel. A lot of the things I mention in the first half are legitimate criticisms - I feel like it's a bit repetitive and some of the songs sound too similar - but I admit I do dismiss those a little too much in the second half.

AsleepInTheBack
November 16th 2016


5876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah thats fair man. Gave this a spin and thought it was alright, though I wasn't giving it my full attention admittedly

AsleepInTheBack
November 16th 2016


5876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

actually grew on me a lot after a couple of spins, the lyrics are wonderfully intimate and thought provoking in places

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2016


2659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad to hear that, Asleep. I listened to it quite a lot when I first heard it. It is kind of short and not all that substantial, but it's rather endearing.

kylemccluskey
December 1st 2016


175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That last paragraph left me awestruck, well done. I'm gonna have to check this out.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy