Iron Maiden
Powerslave


5.0
classic

Review

by Itsonlyme USER (12 Reviews)
November 12th, 2016 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: a jewel in the crown of eighties metal

When the best metal band in history release their best album, then logically we must conclude it's The Highlight of the genre in general. In my opinion Powerslave is the culmination of the metal movement at it's peak. Maiden was an established ensemble, overflowing with creative power and the will to show the world their qualities and ambitions. The song writing couldn't be better, and I disagree with people who proclaim that there are some 'fillers' to be found. 'Back in the Village' is absolutely not a filler. The song is a moving and intelligently structured story based on The Prisoner. And 'Losfer Words' is a beautiful, passionate instrumental, unfortunately the last the band would record. Every aspect seems to fall in it's right place on this album: the emotional, agressive but controlled singing style of Dickinson, the guitar harmonies never sounded better and the authentic Iron Maiden Style withstands the demands of commercial consessions ('Hello America'). Above all the production is excellent, granting excellence to every single instrument, establishing a coherent sound that defines the Maiden sound we all love so much and yearn for ever since.
The special status and outstanding qualities of Powerslave are even more evident when compared to releases by fellow giants Judas Priest (Defenders of the Faith) and Metallica (Ride the Lightning). The former is too commercially oriented, with lots of repetition and easy to digest melodies, the latter a good album, but never top (except for 'For Whom the Bell Tolls'). Powerslave is a combination of top quality and intricate songwriting. It contains 'complex' songs like 'Powerslave' and 'The Duellists', but there is so more interesting going on. 'Two Minutes to Midnight' has always been a public favourite, due to the musicianship and the cynical lyrics. Maybe one could designate the melodic, slightly repetitive 'Flash of the Blade' as the weakest song, but this is still one of the best metal singalong anthems of the period. I can only highlight the pinnacles of this true masterpiece, from the overwhelming intro of 'Aces High' to the concluding, 'second longest' song ever: 'Rime of the Ancient Mariner'. This is a monumental epic that I can listen to over and over. Although the riff is quite simple, it is also very effective in creating this huge, ominous atmosphere.

The general impression Powerslave provides, is a multi-faceted jewel of mature eighties metal which represents the band that cofounded the NWOBHM. It's replete with emotion, agression, melody, variety and intricate songwriting. A must for the beginner, an obvious album for the fans.



Recent reviews by this author
Michael Schenker Group MSGStatus Quo Live!
Blitzkrieg A Time Of ChangesVengeance (NL) Arabia
Alcatrazz No Parole from Rock 'n' RollDemon The Unexpected Guest
user ratings (4082)
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
Maco097
November 12th 2016


3264 Comments


Move this review.

Krvst
November 12th 2016


479 Comments


Is some of this review missing? it just ends...

Ebola
November 12th 2016


3878 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What's here is fine, but yeah, the review seems unfinished.

Also, tracks 5 and 6 are far too weak for this to be considered a "best of" or "highlight of the genre" imo. Do love flash of the blade, though, and the rest of the tracks are untouchable

Itsonlyme
November 12th 2016


120 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was losfer words, so maybe that's why it's seems to end abruptly.

50iL
November 12th 2016


5397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah weird ending

Rastapunk
November 12th 2016


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah you sound a little too fanboy but I can cope with that. The thing is it feels like the review isn't done at all, should have waited a bit longer and maybe write a conclusion or more points...



Can't pos at all.

teamster
November 12th 2016


5191 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Review has potential ...but that ending.

Digging: The Basement Paintings - Antipodes

romulanrancor
November 12th 2016


7468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Judas Priest (the weakly, poorly produced and super radio oriented 'Defenders of the Faith') and Metallica (mediocre album with two or three highlights: 'Ride the lightning')"

mindleviticus
November 12th 2016


10142 Comments


"Also, tracks 5 and 6 are far too weak for this to be considered a "best of" or "highlight of the genre" imo "

Get the fuck out of here


RLWFormula
November 12th 2016


287 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"It is superfluous "





Maco097
November 12th 2016


3264 Comments


It's better than Defenders of the Faith, true. But RTL? L O L

Snide
November 13th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is decent.

StrikeOfTheBeast
November 13th 2016


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

At least the rating is right.

TheMoonchild
November 13th 2016


1249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool, so uh... where's the actual review?

Gyromania
November 13th 2016


30790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol didn't read past the first sentence but I'm sure it's entertaining

ShadowRemains
November 13th 2016


25885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

maidenpmcc returns

Digging: Undeath - Lesions of a Different Kind

InsightOut
November 14th 2016


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice attempt, I will have to agree with the obvious... There's not much of an epilogue there, and there are really good reviews of this album out there I think! Not that this should refrain anyone from expressing their opinion!

maidenpmcc
November 15th 2016


1459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@ShadowRemains. Here I am. My reviews are different than this, go see for yourself.

zakalwe
November 15th 2016


31835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd

Itsonlyme
November 22nd 2016


120 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can anyone here enjoy an overstatement, a touch of irony, a little teasing? Or is everybody drowned in sourness?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy