Whores.
Gold


4.5
superb

Review

by BlackLlama USER (48 Reviews)
November 7th, 2016 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gold is an album your neighbors are going to enjoy; even if they live three houses away.

Some bands are meant to be enjoyed on a good paid of headphones, with the volume tuned to appropriately acceptable listening levels; Whores. is not that band. The Atlanta based trio somehow manages to make three instruments sound like three thousand. The sheer sonic assault of this record needs to be enjoyed loudly. Gold is a 10 track, 35 minute auditory beating that you deserve.

After two acclaimed EP’s the noise rock trio appropriately named Whores. delivers with their first full length album. Casey Maxwell’s bass tone immediately sets the mood, ten seconds later Donnie Adkinson kicks in with the drums and we are introduced to the visceral, tortured delivery of Christian Lembach (guitars and vocals). “Dead Inside; we’re all already dead inside” wails Lembech; followed by the heaviest beating since that time your mother caught you stealing from her purse. Noise rock with post hardcore influence the band adds the right amount of grove to keep the wall of sound from becoming monotonous. The grooves here are subversive but utterly infectious.

Ryan Boesch (Helmet, Melvins, etc.) who produced their well-received EP Clean returns to keep Whores. sounding as loud and angry as ever. Those would be the two most apt words to describe the band and their sound. If you are new to the genre as a whole this is a mind blowing album. Those that have been into the fuzzier side of things for years may bemoan the lack and any real experimentation here. From a pure enjoyment factor that should not get in the way. Sometimes it is better to perfect than deviate; that is exactly what they have done on Gold.



Recent reviews by this author
Ghost (SWE) Ceremony and DevotionOverkill The Grinding Wheel
The Devil Wears Prada Transit BluesBayside Vacancy
Nails You Will Never Be One of UsJim Breuer and the Loud & Rowdy Songs from the Garage
user ratings (81)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Clean

Ruiner
recommended by reviewer
Boris Noise
Fugazi Repeater
Unsane Wreck

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlackLlama
November 7th 2016


2177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Short and sweet, kind like this LP. This has been on repeat the past week. Will probably settle @ 4.1 or so.

kascetcadettt
November 7th 2016


1602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very straightforward record, can't say i was disappointed, but holy shit is this the same band that made ruiner

kascetcadettt
November 7th 2016


1602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

have a pos just cuz i thought a review for this would be nice

greg84
Emeritus
November 7th 2016


7606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a solid record

Digging: Lo-Pan - Subtle

BlackLlama
November 7th 2016


2177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"but holy shit is this the same band that made ruiner"



Technically no lol. Only Lembech is left from the lineup that made Ruiner.

DarkSideOfLucca
November 7th 2016


14659 Comments


fun name

Spluger
November 7th 2016


1965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I Have a Prepared Statement is A+

kascetcadettt
November 7th 2016


1602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wait really wtf i didn't know that the original guys left, THAT FIGURES

MH18
November 8th 2016


449 Comments


''but holy shit is this the same band that made ruiner''

Do you mean that in a positive or negative way? Cuz I liked Ruiner :0
Good review, have a pos.

Spluger
November 9th 2016


1965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A lot of the songs are faster than anything you've heard on Ruiner.

kascetcadettt
November 10th 2016


1602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

in a negative of course, ruiner is a modern classic yo

MH18
November 11th 2016


449 Comments


I see, your 4 rating's still good tho. Still need to check this

Spluger
November 14th 2016


1965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man it took a little while to click but I See You Are Also Wearing a Black T-Shirt is fucking great. I've been jamming this so much lately, had to bump to a 4.

kascetcadettt
November 15th 2016


1602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I See You Are Also Wearing A Black T-Shirt and Mental Illness As Mating Ritual are two of my favorite faster songs on this. The last 2 songs are p sick too.

Spluger
November 25th 2016


1965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I think the 2nd and 3rd track are probably the weakest. Nothing really wrong with them in particular they just don't stand out to me.



edit:redundancy

BlackLlama
November 25th 2016


2177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'I Have a Prepared Statement' goes hard as shit. Great way to close out the LP.

RogueNine
November 27th 2016


3911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cul-de-sac is a fancy name

For a dead end street, it's insane





Haha, that's probably my favorite lyric of 2016.

AsleepInTheBack
December 24th 2016


5965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fun record this

AsleepInTheBack
January 23rd 2017


5965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn this is so much better than I remember. Dont think I ever blasted this though my speakers, think I had headphones on.

Spluger
January 23rd 2017


1965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yeah, have you check their first two EPs? Ruiner is their best imo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy