Nujabes
Metaphorical Music


5.0
classic

Review

by JigglyPDiddy USER (7 Reviews)
November 5th, 2016 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "So beautiful and so damn rare."

Metaphorical Music is what I’d like to call the perfect upper. From start to finish the record is an unwinding euphoria trip. There’s just something awe-inducing about Nujabes’s approach to making beats. The traditionalistic boom bap infused with colorful, wavering, watery jazz is what makes me always come back for more. It’s a simple format, yet so damn effective. His sound is mellow, it’s melancholic, and it’s all too beautiful. The way the piano melody effortlessly flows through tracks with a simple yet enthralling boom bap beat hanging in the background in songs like “Blessing It” and “Kumomi”. The way the fast-paced and manic drumming passages on “Horn in the Middle” break into that iconic trumpet refrain. The way said trumpet refrain is followed by a small piano refrain. It’s all too engaging and hypnotic. The guitar loop on “Lady Brown” and the low key synth pattern on “Highs 2 Lows”. There’s just something innately down to Earth about these tracks. They feel as natural and blissful as a wave caressing your feet, or a summer breeze gracing your cheeks.

Then you have tracks like “Letter from Yokosuka”, with its melting saxophone melody hanging in the background, while a sleepy piano lead infiltrates your ears in the foreground. The vocal samples on “Think Different” feel like they’re infused to the track’s beautiful piano glissando and, again, the background sax just adds that jazzy flavor to the mix. The rap features on this thing only add to the overall immersion. People like Substantial and Pase Rock from the amazing Five Deez and Cise Starr. MCs whose flows just melt into the atmosphere of the album. It feels like they’re trying to sweep you off your feet with their sensual, yet soft-spoken verses. They add to the sexiness of the record as a whole.

The album is effortlessly gorgeous, breath-taking and relaxing. Yet by the way I’m describing it the record sounds like a snooze-fest to people who aren’t at all familiar with jazz-infused hip hop or chill-vibes in hip hop. This couldn’t be farther from the truth. Again, the record is an upper. It uplifts you in such a cerebral manner. Plus, there are some tracks that are more hard-hitting than others. You got more energetic tracks like the aforementioned “Horn in the Middle” and more mellow tracks like “The Final View”. This is the kind of record you listen to when you’re in the worst of moods or the lowest of lows and want to break out of said downers. This is the kind of record you make love to your partner to during a cold, rainy night. I could stay here and talk about this record or any of Nujabes’s music and how amazing it all is for hours, but I’m not. Go listen for yourself.

Honey brown with the long black hair
Teasing me with a kiss and a stare
Slight touch - and you're taking me there
So fine and it just ain't fair
So beautiful and so damn rare



Recent reviews by this author
Fever Ray Fever RayDeftones Gore
Swans To Be KindBjork Homogenic
Deftones Saturday Night WristIggy Pop The Idiot
user ratings (775)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Matt Wolfe EMERITUS (4.5)
An incredibly refreshing sound, Metaphorical Music brilliantly fuses hip-hop with smooth jazz, creat...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2016


14120 Comments


aw-inducing

think you meant awe

Digging: Nick Drake - Pink Moon

JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Mort: Noted! Will edit in a sec.

*edit: fixed!

FullOfSounds
November 5th 2016


15771 Comments


Pos

RadicalEd
November 5th 2016


9414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pos. Album is amazing.

JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks, man. Nujabes needs moar love.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2016


14120 Comments


the review is good and i get what you are trying to do with the whole single paragraph thing but to me its too long for that, id say divide it into two if you can

"The way the piano melody effortlessly flows through tracks with a simple yet enthralling boom bap beat hanging in the background in songs like “Blessing It” and “Kumomi”. The way the fast-paced and manic drumming passages on “Horn in the Middle” break into that iconic trumpet refrain. The way said trumpet refrain is followed by a small piano refrain. It’s all too engaging and hypnotic. The guitar loop on “Lady Brown” and the low key synth pattern on “Highs 2 Lows”. There’s just something innately down to Earth about these tracks. They feel as natural and blissful as a wave caressing your feet, or a summer breeze gracing your cheeks."

i like short reptitive statements but they start to lose their effect for me towards the end of this. also this might be a good place for the end of the first paragraph if you were to divide it up



JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Mort: sounds like a plan. Thanks for the feedback, bb~ *edit: divided it into 3

RadicalEd
November 5th 2016


9414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Check Uyama Hirotos stuff btw if you haven't already.

JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@RadicalEd: I have not. I'll check it out asap. :-)

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2016


14120 Comments


and yeah posd, i really like how this is a personal review of an album you clearly are pretty attached too that manages to get across what it sounds like. A lot of personal reviews can get a bit blindsided with personal shit and you get a bit lost as to what the record actually sounds like but this doesnt do that.



JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks, man. I just had to make this into a thing. I've been meaning to do a write up on this album for months now, but time is pretty limited for me. Plus, more peeps need to listen to this!

FullOfSounds
November 5th 2016


15771 Comments


This dude's been on my list for awhile. Time to get on him already!

danielcardoso
November 5th 2016


11770 Comments


same here

JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yes Yes Yes. Nujabes is what this world needs.

FullOfSounds
November 5th 2016


15771 Comments


Does he do the art too?

Zig
November 5th 2016


1346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review. Awesome album!

Digging: Neptune Towers - Caravans To Empire Algol

JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@FullOfSounds: I'm not sure if Nujabes did his own, to be honest. I think I saw the actual graphic artist behind his album art once, but I don't recall the name.



@Ziguvan: Thanks, man! Glad to see Nujabes fans on the site.

JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Found him: http://fjd.jp/

FadedSun
November 5th 2016


1896 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you like the Latitude (remix), then you should check out the album that it's on: "Kool Motor" by Five Deez.

JigglyPDiddy
November 5th 2016


3344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yup! I love Koolmotor.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy