We the Wild
From The Cities We Fled


3.5
great

Review

by TalonsOfFire STAFF
October 29th, 2016 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Modest beginnings of We The Wild make way for a debut album of fury, dazzling instrumental technicality, and just the right amount of melody throughout.

We The Wild is a young group from Portland, Oregon, but their musicianship reveals seasoned players with a ferocious attitude. From The Cities We Fled is their passionate expression of everything from personal confessions to assertions about the state of modern music. Genre-bending techniques impressively never sound gimmicky or forced, with compositions that defy explanation; the title track for example resembles the most insane moments of Mastodon filtered through a post-hardcore aesthetic. Blistering guitar riffs are a near constant and border on being relentless, lending to the strengths of “Exodus and Decay” and “2001.”

The jazzy drumming and mind-bending guitar playing from We The Wild rarely gets overwhelming, with a healthy dose of melody in each song. Emotive expressions add further dimensions to their sound, with softer, melodic moments within “Still Asunder” and “Terrible, Terrible” showing an impressive understanding of dynamics. The ending trio of tracks forming a musical suite begins with “King of Wounds,” a heartfelt and confessional ballad of sorts. Despite the frenzied sound throughout, a sense of careful yet straightforward method of control is placed over how it functions. Tracks like “King of Wounds,” “Still Asunder,” and “Roxy the Cops are Here!” are each as catchy as they are frenzied.

Despite being infantile as a group, We The Wild show command over their influences while being wholly original, and impossible to ignore. The passion is ever-present, and From The Cities We Fled is a bold statement from a band with a bright future ahead.



Recent reviews by this author
Ulver Sic Transit Gloria MundiBeck Colors
The Contortionist ClairvoyantThe National Sleep Well Beast
Steven Wilson To the BoneDavid Sylvian Gone to Earth

user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SheWatchedTheSky
October 29th 2016


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We The Wild is dope af!

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2016


16765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://wethewild.bandcamp.com/



This band is crazy talented. People who are more into post-hardcore than I am should check this out, deserves more attention.

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes

24gadjet
October 31st 2016


265 Comments


This sounds better than a 3.5, gonna check it immediately though because the search for good post hardcore is never ending

AaroN911
November 1st 2016


1820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is good stuff... 3 songs in and i'm really digging

AaroN911
November 1st 2016


1820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can see this growing, and I don't even have a liking much to this genre. Definitely a solid album

stuck_in_decades
November 2nd 2016


722 Comments


Wow this finally got a review.

grandfather
November 3rd 2016


124 Comments


This is good as hell. Glad as fuck I randomly checked the review.

AaroN911
November 3rd 2016


1820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same, and I bought it via Bandcamp!

grandfather
November 3rd 2016


124 Comments


Going to do the same, and probably the CD sooner or later too. Really hope they get some decent attention

FullOfSounds
November 3rd 2016


15573 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Giving this a listen tomorrow.



"The jazzy drumming and mind-bending guitar playing"

oh man this is gonna rule

AaroN911
November 4th 2016


1820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't say it's as intense as that, but still really great drumming and guitar work

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2016


15787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this vocalist is in 30 bands I swear but I can tell I'm going to like this

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2016


16765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah you'd prob dig this Calc

FullOfSounds
November 4th 2016


15573 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is decent

Ecnalzen
November 14th 2016


7156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is super fun.

AaroN911
April 5th 2017


1820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this still needs more love



Ecnalzen
August 18th 2017


7156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So, I guess this band already broke up and started a couple new bands instead or something. That didn't seem to take long.

stuck_in_decades
August 22nd 2017


722 Comments


To be fair, these guys took a long time to take off and they still haven't really, though they probably got the most attention with this album out of all of their releases. They have several EPs and another LP I think, the first EP being released back in 2012.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2017


16765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's not a very long time to be in a band comparatively.

Ecnalzen
August 22nd 2017


7156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought this was their only album. When I looked them up on their bandcamp and official website, this is the only release they have for sale.



Also, their site specifically states "Debut Album Out Now" and is referring to this one. From what I could tell, they released their debut album, were quiet for a while, and then announced their break up.



Sometimes it is harder to find out info about more obscure bands like this, though. There is also a pop duo from the UK with the same name that kept popping up.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy