Wovenwar
Honor Is Dead


3.0
good

Review

by Paul Quinones USER (5 Reviews)
October 28th, 2016 | 42 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Honor is Dead, but metalcore lives by the skin of its teeth.

The debut of Wovenwar struck me as nothing more than a valiant attempt by the members of the probably-finished AILD to continue making music. It's all they had been doing for the past decade, what else did they even know" Valiant as it might've been, the group's self-titled debut with Oh, Sleeper's Shane Blay was a severely short-lived pleasure. We finally got to see what the metalcore bigwigs would sound like with an emphasis on melody, but to me it fell short of replay value. Enter Honor is Dead. When I first heard that they were going in for another record I didn't think twice about it, but I got bored enough to give it the time a few weeks ago and I was pleasantly surprised.

What is Wovenwar's identity" The previous record may indicate that the group's goal was to be the grudging antithesis of their past but now that identity has been found under the leadership of Blay, who fronts the foray with a refreshing passion in his wail. Hard hitting tracks like "Censorship" and "130" are unafraid to sound painfully close to AILD songs, but with Blay at the forefront the tracks feel much more alive. "Compass" seems like more of an interlude than a standalone track and could've been entirely omitted seeing as "Silhouette" does sound like one. The band's propensity for catchy choruses is felt in "Honor is Dead", "World on Fire", and "Bloodletter" as a satisfying for the mostly-dead former release.

While adhering to modern metalcore clichés in a way that will earn back some of the AILD fans when the ones who did convert go to their bros and say "they sound like old AILD again!", Wovenwar proves in bright moments of the album that they aren't going to go back to their old ways whether you like it or not. Unfortunately for them, the metalcore clichés of 2005 can only go so far before they become stale. "But you referred to the singer as 'refreshing!'" Yes, Shane Blay's singing is definitely refreshing to a band playing the same style that they essentially had done with a more skewed split of growled/clean vocals with Lambesis at the forefront, but it doesn't make bad metalcore clichés any less bad. It's hard to look at HID as anything more than a 20-something's refuge in a genre that long ago gave away the throne it so briefly sat on in the metal world.

The bros telling their bros "bro, the AILD sound is back", I think, are wrong. Wovenwar has proven that they are not As I Lay Dying and the Gothenburg-influenced style of metalcore they spent so long playing and fans will have to wait for Mantits Lambesis to make his return in 4(") years for Quadruple Brutal if they want to hear anything like that ever again. In the meantime, Shane Blay and co. have for us a melodic brand of modern metalcore that'll satisfy most entry-level metal fans.

See tracks: Silhouette, Stones Thrown, Cascade


user ratings (75)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Toondude10
October 28th 2016


12133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

album is the definition of average

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Told myself I wasn't gonna write any metalcore reviews anymore, but here I am. I'll review music that you guys like eventually.



Was teetering between 3 and 3.5 and decided that this is probably a 3.2 rather than 3.3

Digging: Erdve - Vaitojimas

SteakByrnes
October 28th 2016


6638 Comments


Good review man, probably won't check this because I didn't really like their debut

Digging: August Burns Red - Messengers Remixed

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

If it was the lack of scrams, they scram more

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Awkward that they wont let me delete my double post, so im editing it to this

Toondude10
October 28th 2016


12133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the lack of screams was what made them interesting in the first place, I was hoping they would stay that way

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I don't think having more screams made this album more or less good, I just think Shane Blay is a fun singer to listen to whether singing or screaming.

SteakByrnes
October 28th 2016


6638 Comments


It wasn't the lack of screams to be honest, I just didn't really find it that interesting. It just sounded like a hard rock band wanted to take AILD's style and water it down. Which is sad because it is 4/5 AILD

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I think they just desperately wanted something as far away from Lambesis as possible. They got it but it wasn't too spectacular.

SteakByrnes
October 28th 2016


6638 Comments


I 100% agree with that. It's a shame that it wasn't anything spectacular, because AILD was one of my favorites

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I liked some of their stuff but overall I guess I was never too impressed and I'm still not extremely enthused.

William21
October 28th 2016


184 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I dunno, I just feel like Shane Blay doesn't mesh with these guys well. I like this better than the first one, but that's mostly just because they actually screamed more.

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I think it's quite the contrary but I respect your opinion.

Toondude10
October 28th 2016


12133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think Shane melds very well. It's just that the harsher vocal style that he uses here isn't particularly original

pjquinones747
October 28th 2016


2015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I wanna hear him try some rough singing between growls and the super clean singing. He does a little bit here I think but it seems unrefined.

ExhaleTheLight
October 28th 2016


363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Glad Josh's vocals weren't buried into the mix this time around. He definitely has the better voice.

dfevil085
October 29th 2016


1030 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I thought melodies were something these guys did really well. Should I check this or nah?

Good review btw.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2016


2033 Comments


Everytime news for this band surfaces I just wish for more Oh, Sleeper.

Toondude10
October 29th 2016


12133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

check the debut if you haven't yet. if you did already, I wouldn't bother with this

ConcubinaryCode
October 29th 2016


4170 Comments


Shane should go make another Oh sleeper album instead of working on stuff like this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy